We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic homemade cakes” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dalyan Iz Cafe

Dalyan Iz Cafe
Ozalp Sok. No:1/A Opposite Junior Ozalp Hotel, Dalyan 48840, Turkey
+90 542 451 5451
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 138 restaurants in Dalyan
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Description: Art Gallery & Garden Cafe
Newmarket
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic homemade cakes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

This is always a must on any holiday in Dalyan Louise & Freddie are so welcoming and Louise's home made cakes are to die for. I can recommend the lemon drizzle cake with ice cream and sitting in the lovely shady garden Freddie's iced coffee is a must. Their art gallery sells lovely Turksih souvenirs - my daughters were both delighted with the earrings I took back as presents.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

95% Recommend
    147
    21
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great cake, beautiful calming setting, lovely hosts.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

Discovered Dalyan iz for the first time this year and one taste of the delicious plum crumble had me hooked and I returned almost daily to sample the wonderful homemade food. Louise is a lovely host. I don't usually search out any English anything when in Turkey, but this place is an exception. It is the perfect tea room in perfect weather, with perfect shade to protect you from the heat of the day. My only regret is I did not sampe the light lunches. Oh well will have to book another holiday to Dalyan. The gallery is a delight. And, the toilets are sparkling clean! But most of all, it is all about the cake!

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A little oasis in the middle of Dalyan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

A boiling hot day and we sat in the shade of the delightful garden of this wonderful restaurant sipping watermelon smoothies. If you are in town do go and have a delicious light lunch and try the "muffin of the day" - apricot one day and plum and cinnamon the next time -warm and totally delicious. Then finish off with a look around the interesting gallery of fascinating local art.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“A wonderful place for lunch or afternoon tea!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

Just got back from a 2 month stay in Dalyan and took the time to visit many old favourites & new restaurants too, Dalyan Iz Cafe being one of those we have been going to since it opended and are always made v welcome and served the most delicious food.
The highlight are Louise's homemade cakes (usually with ice cream eg Apricot Muffins, Victoria Sponge with Strawberries!!); their salads are gorgeous and so fresh too especially the Chilli Iz salad (my husband's favourite!).
The cafe is in a lovely, peaceful garden with lovely plants & music as well as plenty of shade.
Inside should not be forgotten either as it holds rooms of delightful arts & crafts and traditional Turkish items ideal for gifts.
We have recommended Dalyan Iz to many friends and like us, all keep going back time & time again so, need I say more??!!

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
184 helpful votes 184 helpful votes
“Wondeful.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

We have been told about this place many times over the years but this was the first time we have actually made the effort to find it - in fact, its no effort at all, you just go up the street by th post office and its the third right turn with the turkuaz estate agency on the corner.
I honestly wish we'd gone looking for it earlier as this is an absolute gem.
The garden truly is a little oasis of calm and feels cool and shaded even in the hottest midday sun, the house has been converted into an art gallery displaying arts and crafts from people local to Dalyan and you are left alone to wander at your own pace with no hassle whatsoever.
Back outside, we decided to have a spot of lunch and were very impressed with the small vegetarian menu offering open sandwiches, salads and bruschettas plus homemade cakes and muffins for those with a sweet tooth. We both chose different open sandwiches which were much bigger than expected and extremely tasty.
The drnks are all fresh too and we particularly enjoyed the homemade lemonade.
I cannot recommend this place highly enough , we will definitely be returning!

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dalyan Iz Cafe also viewed

 
Dalyan, Mugla Province
Dalyan, Mugla Province
 

Been to Dalyan Iz Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dalyan Iz Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.