We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Calypso Plus

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Calypso Plus to your Saves list
Hotel Calypso Plus
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gulpinar Mah. 750. Sok. No:71, Dalyan 48840, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 61 Hotels in Dalyan
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Just got back from a weeks holiday at this hotel. Staff are all friendly and polite. Special thanks to Thomas for looking after us. I dont think he ever stops working. Also special thanks to Haydar (spelling?) for constantly keeping us refreshed with drinks and funny stories. For those of you who know him, somebody told him he looks like Ronnie Wood & he now has a picture behind the bar and he plays air guitar often.
The hotel was great with everything there to give you a very comfortable holiday. The food from the restaurant was always good & I can recommend the fish baked in salt for an extra special meal. I found there was a good choice at breakfast & if you cannot find enough to fill you I personally think you are being a bit picky. There was a few wasps about but not a problem for us. You are in a much hotter country and there will always be more insect life than the UK. Get over it!
We will be back next year. Thanks Mert, you have a nice hotel in a beautiful setting.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fmmete, Manager at Hotel Calypso Plus, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you so much, we hope to see you in our paradise again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    44
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
32
91
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
bournemouth
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed for 10 days in September. Nice room, comfy bed, clean, good bathroom with a little room with a sofa and wardrobe. We were lucky as our room was on the outside so our balcony was away from the bar area and restaurant. A few of the rooms overlooked the pool, bar and restaurant/kitchen area which would have been noisy and night or early morning.
The pool area was great we never struggled to get a sunbed and Hida the barman was Awesome. he works so hard, he was there everyday from the crack of dawn to late at night and was very friendly and spoke to everyone. We found the bar a very socialable place and met loads of nice other guest staying there.
We had lunch at our restaurant, food was good and the setting great. However I have to say the breakfast was the only thing which let the hotel down. You had to fight with loads of wasps to get anything onto your plate and like reviews before no-one seemed to do anything to stop them getting into the food. We ended up skipping breakfast and going out into town to find somewhere, the coffee was also terrible .
The staff were very helpful. The hotel was fully booked when we were there but Mert allowed us to stay in our room a little longer so we could shower before getting our early evening flight and anything they could do to help they would.
Other than the breakfast, we couldn't really fault the hotel. If they were looking to improve, a couple of bedside lamps wouldn't go amiss as the lights were a bit dim and if the balcony door opens inwards curtains rather than roller blinds would be more suitable. To be fair these are minor issues and didn't spoil our holiday at all. We would return but ask for an outside facing room rather than pool facing.

Room Tip: Ask for outside facing not overlooking pool or restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fmmete, Manager at Hotel Calypso Plus, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thanks for your positive review. Sorry about the wasps, its hard to avoid from them sometimes when you are middle of the nature life. But we are trying to take it under the control.
We hope to see you in our hotel.
Mert Mete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Just returned from a weeks stay here. It wasn't really up to our expectations. I really think some of the reviews here are looking at this hotel through rose tinted sunglasses. We were first put into room 408. OH DEAR. It had a lovely view of the river - if you are over 5'8" tall & standing on the balcony. If you sit down you get a great view into the breakfast area. You also get all of the noise in the mornings that go with this & then the noise of the staff coming & going because I think the kitchens & are just underneath this room. On top of this the balcony door didn't shut properly - this was soon sorted though. The bathroom tap was nearly hanging off the basin [this was reported twice to the management]. We found Thomas from the restaraunt trying to fix it.It was then deemed unfixable & outside help was needed. Also,the bathroom door didnt shut porperly with a hefty push.
The air conditioning was very noisy & to top it all there was a wasps nest on the balcony which meant we couldn't use the balcony at all. Complained twice - it wasn't cured & we finally asked to be moved. We moved to room 203. This was absolutly fantastic - like staying in a totally differnet hotel. The view was lovely & it was really peacfull. The air con worked a treat & the room was always cleaned brilliantly.
The breakfast was really really poor,with loads of flies & wasps everywhere,even on the food. Wasps were even in the honey pot,but the staff didn't do anything to try to control this.
The table cloths were dirty & never changed,they always had the remenents of someone elses breakfast on them.
The pool area was very peacfull & realaxing,but again,this wasn't really that clean. The bar area along with Hida was brilliant,& the location was superb. These were we feel the best bits about the hotel.
The restaurant area was in a stunning location on the side of the river,but the lighting let it down big time, they were really bright & attraced every insect in Dalayan - soft lighting & candles would work perfect in this setting. Again,I would have to question the cleanliness here -the tables had a glass covering over the table cloth.There were always dead insects under the glass. The glass was wiped over with a cloth kept in some water on the side,not sure how often this water was changed though.
This is why I have given the overhall cleanliness 3. The rooms were spotless,but every where else was a bit of a let down.

Room Tip: Avoid room 408. Try to get room 203 or any room in that block.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fmmete, Manager at Hotel Calypso Plus, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thanks for your review. We have give you upstairs lake view room because you requested like this. As soon as you didnt like the room, we have changed it in 24 hours. Sorry about the wasps, Its just hard to control them in natural life especially when there is a mountain opposite to the hotel.
We will be happy to see you again, who knows, maybe with more stars.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We've just got back from a blissful week in The Calypso Plus.....& what can we say? If you lead a busy stressful life then this is the place to be, your day will be filled by just relaxing in this beautiful peaceful, warm, clean & very personal hotel. To us it was like travelling back in time no hustle & bustle just a quiet friendly atmosphere. I must say thou the only down side of this hotel is the breakfast! this needs to be seriously improved.....I don't think the Turkish realise how much us English love our brekkie! Every afternoon my husband & I would sit on the cushioned jetty feeding the fish, him with Alice cool Eff"s & me with my cuppa & hot cherry & ice-cream dessert ....heaven!!! Big thanx to everyone especially the lovely Hyda & Thomas who work sooo hard to make us holidaymakers so welcome. Hopefully we will be back next September for 2 weeks this time!!!! Xxxxxx

Room Tip: Rooms are quiet small but adequate & very very clean. Xxxx
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fmmete, Manager at Hotel Calypso Plus, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thank you very much and we hope to see you in our paradise again.
Mert METE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We had a lovely week at the Hotel Calypso Plus and can't wait to go back. The hotel is perfectly placed to enjoy all Dalyan has to offer and is staffed by some of the most lovely and friendly people I've had the pleasure to meet.

On arrival, very late at night, we were helped to our room and shown where to go for breakfast etc. We took a trip down to the restaurant just in time (about 11pm) to have what was an okay dinner (I'll come back to this), before a few drinks at the pool bar and bed.

The only real negative, which I accept is subjective as some will enjoy and some won't, was the breakfast. The first problem here is the wasps! I understand that wasps will be wasps and that maybe there is little you can do to stop them, however no effort was made to keep wasps away from the help yourself breakfast bar and most of the dishes (albeit with their covers on - honey, yoghurt, fruit, hot dishes etc) were literally crawling with the black and yellow pests. To the point where my girlfriend didn't want to go for breakfast most mornings.

The second problem with breakfast was the choice; each morning there was a hot dish which was usually an egg based choice, also cheese rolls and then a selection of meats, cheese, bread, yoghurt, honey and fruits etc. It's just our personal opinion and many staying at the hotel seemed to like it, but it wasn't really to our taste. Discussing with others staying at different resorts it would seem that others had a better choice.

So continuing on the food theme, we were slightly put off the restaurant at the hotel following our meal on arrival. The location was perfect, on the jetty next to the river, however we both had kebab style dishes which were okay, but not great. On subsequent nights we ate at different restaurants in Dalyan which we felt offered a much better and more authentic experience.

However Thomas, the restaurant manager, convinced us to join the moonlight BBQ Boat Trip and we're so glad we did! Not only was the trip amazing, good value and good company with others staying at the hotel, however the food Thomas had cook up was maybe the best we'd had all week! Beautifully flavored dishes which just kept coming, meatballs, kebabs, fish and mezze galore. This convinced us to try the restaurant again, which we did on our last night.

We spoke to Thomas the day before and he prepared a special meal for us, and it was exactly that. A perfect end to our week.

As for the rest of our stay, it was just wonderful. The staff at Calypso Plus and the owners couldn't do enough to help us, solving booking problems with tour companies and generally bring great hosts. The barman (Hida) in-particular was great company and was happy to share his local knowledge to help us get the best possible holiday.

So I've knocked one point off for breakfast, everything else was perfect.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fmmete, Manager at Hotel Calypso Plus, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thanks for your review and hope to see you again in our paradise again.
Mert METE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gretna, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Booked this direct with Mert and transport to and from the airport, arrived safley to a great welcome even though the restaurant was closing it was no trouble to rustle up something to eat, after a good nights sleep in a very comfortable room with en-suite, balcony and sitting room we had breakfast that was not your normal basic Turkish it varied most mornings and always excellent choice eating inside or on the riverside. The staff were great and kept the place very clean, especially the rooms, not forgetting the gardner. I could waffle on all day about this place but its best you find out for yourselfs. The area is very scenic.

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We have just returned from two weeks at the Calpyso Plus and we had a great time. We booked the hotel and airport transfer direct with Mert after reading all the great reviews about the hotel on Tripadviser and we weren't disappointed. We had a first floor room which overlooked the pool and it was a twin bedded room with a sitting room that contained a sofa bed, wardrobe and dresser. The air conditioning only covered the bedroom so we asked for a fan for the dressing room where our daughter was sleeping and one arrived that night. The rooms were kept spotless by the maids who came in every day, and towels and bedding were changed on a regular basis. All the staff were very friendly and helpful without being too "in your face".

The hotel is in a lovely spot just ten minutes slow walk into Dalyan alongside the river and has a poolside bar and a riverside restaurant. Snacks are available throughout the day and anything that you buy, such as drinks and food, are put onto your room bill so you don't have to carry money around whilst you are on site. You could also book river trips through the hotel.

The breakfast had a good selection of cereals, bread, cheese, fruit, honey and two choices of hot food and you could either eat in the covered area where it was served or take it to one of the other seating areas nearby or down by the river.

The swimming pool is a good size and is available for swimming from 8 a.m. to 11 p.m. which was great when we arrived in the early evening as we could still go for a swim to cool off.

We hadn't been to Dalyan for 16 years and, although it had obviously changed, it has still remained a pleasant town with beautiful scenery and access to lots of trips. We went to Itzuzu Beach a few times on the public boat (10 TL each return) and this is a lovely relaxed way to travel as it takes approx 35 minutes each way but you can also travel by Dolmus which is quicker. We also went to the Sakklikent Gorge which was a great day out and very cooling in the hot temperatures. We went on a turtle watching/feeding trip with one of the local boats - we were offered a fairly high price for the private boat hire but managed to get it down to a more acceptable level - and it was great as we had a lot longer longer feeding the turtles than the other boats.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel and would definately go back again.

Room Tip: First floor rooms have more privacy but slightly smaller balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Calypso Plus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Calypso Plus

Address: Gulpinar Mah. 750. Sok. No:71, Dalyan 48840, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Dalyan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 61 Hotels in Dalyan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Calypso Plus 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Calypso Plus is located between the magnificent Iztuzu Beach and Koycegiz Lake which is famous for its health giving thermal waters. You can easily get to Iztuzu Beach and the mud bath by a boat, which you can take from our hotel’s private jetty. Have a trip around Koycegiz lake and join one of the moonlight tours. Also dine and enjoy a drink on our private riverside jetty. There is a large choice of traditional Turkish food and freshly baked village bread. Turkish pizza and exclusive tastes of mediterrean cuisine are available. You can also enjoy our full a la carte menu. 31 ensuite rooms have a wonderful sight of Ottoman architecture and are located in our beautifully landscaped gardens. Our large swimming pool with sunbeds is perfect for sunbathing with a childrens pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Calypso Plus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Calypso Plus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.