We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Going back next year.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tufan Apart

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Tufan Apart to your Saves list
Tufan Apart
2.5 of 5 Condominium   |   Dalyan Merkez Mah. No:20, Dalyan 48840, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Dalyan
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Going back next year.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

Just got back from 10 nights at the Tufan apartments. Stayed in room 103 which was a 1 bedded apartment. Room was good size for a family of 4 & clean. Was a bit miffed when the bins hadn't been changed after the 1st few days but then found out that rooms were cleaned every 3 days which was fine. We just then threw r empty water bottles out in the dustbin when we went out in the evening, it was no big deal. Seen some complaints about lack of utensils etc but who really wants to go on holiday & cook a full meal, there are 100's of lovely restaurants in Dayan to choose from. We cooked breakfasts & made my children pasta a few times to. Lovely big fridge but would of been great to have a small freezer at the top to. The 1st week of our holiday it was really quiet as it was coming to the end of the summer holidays. We found a lot of the time we had the pool to ourselves. It was lovely. The pool area was very clean & although the pool was deep myself & our 7 year old was able to swim with no problems. I have been coming to turkey for 18 years and the majority of the swimming pools have been deep for me(I'm 5ft 3!). Our 19 month old loved the baby pool & as it was mostly shaded by palm trees it was perfect for her. we only ordered food once & that was a Turkish breakfast which was fine. On the Wednesday we went to the BBQ & the food was lovely. 35 lira per adult for unlimited mezes & salad, chicken, homemade meatballs & rice & then watermelon. Our son was able to go swimming that night which he loved. The family were lovely & even the children & wives, who spoke only a little English, always said hello. Ali, the eldest brother, took us to the airport for a cheaper price. The apartments are in a great location, only a10-15 min stroll to center. Shop a stones throw away & 3 supermarkets within a 5-10 min stroll away. Definite going to go back near year in July. Already spoke to Ali about booking directly with him. And defiantly going to do their boat trips next year as couldn't with our little one. For the price you pay, this apartment is great!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    18
    11
    3
    5
See reviews for
23
17
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

this is a hard review to write as the owners were nice people and our room was very spacious but i feel its only fair to make a truthful report. as noted in previous reviews, the lack of a kettle or toaster is a bit too much when you have paid for self catering, admittedly there is a two ring gas hob in each apartment but we had to boil our water in the coffee jug. my first gripe was £8 per day for air conditioning....and this was for just one unit in a two bedroom apartment. last year at the adilan we paid £5 per day and that was for a unit in each room....this is far too expensive and although it made us uncomfortably hot at night, we werent going to pay it (incidentally, if you paid £8 a day for 3 weeks you could actually buy an air conditioning unit in migros for less money).
we were told that our room would be cleaned every 3 days and for the first week thats exactly what happened...but as the hotel has many turkish guests staying for 1, 2 or 3 days, those rooms are obviously having to be cleaned out more regularlyto be ready for the next short stayers and consequently, our rooms were not cleaned at all in the second week.
our balcony was a little odd too as the neighbours entered their room via patio doors around the corner which meant they walked past us sitting on our part....not the end of the world i know but having your own private balcony is something that you come to expect.
on our 3rd night my daughter woke up to find a turkish man in her room at 5am who quickly apologised and dissapeared...now i have to state that nothing was taken, my daughter was in no way harmed and it was mainly my fault as i hadnt pressed the button in the door handle to lock the door. also the following night our neighbours had someone try their door handle at 5am. now im hoping that our visitor genuinely made a mistake and entered the wrong apartment but you never know....and my point here is that there needs to be some sort of security at this hotel as this is not want you want to happen when you have spent all year working for two weeks away.
the pool area was lovely, adequate comfy sunbeds and some bean bags but my main complaint is that there was a lot of time when nobody was serving at the bar. the owners both have daytime jobs and their wives are busy looking after their young families and although they sometimes served us i dont think it would be too much to ask for them to employ one member of barstaff. waiting for 15 minutes to get a beer at the end of the first week resulted in us just going to another place and having one there. i must stress here that when ali and kya WERE at the bar, service was fine and as i said earlier, they are nice people which makes this even more difficult to write.
the walk into town from here is fine, about 10 to 15 minutes at most, and there are various options as to which way you choose. there is also a small supermaket/shop within 50 yards for essentials and is very reasonable pricewise.
only had the cheese and tomato toasties and chips from the restaurant here so cant really comment on the other food but mine was very nice although the menu is very limited.
all in all, the room was fine and dalyan was as good as ever....i just feel a little let down that after reccomending it to friends and after paying over £6000 between 11 of us, we could have got a little more for our money (i know the hoteliers dont receive anything like this amount but just one regular barman and a better selection of drinks would have seen their profits soar from our group).
i will end this review saying that its not my intention to put anyone off...most of my complaints are things that i hope can be rectified and ensure other holiday makers enjoy their stay (just remember to lock your doors...and push the sofa across if you like, that way you will hear it move if someone comes in)....the rooms are very big, the beds were comfy, the pool is nice, the owners are pleasant and the location is good.... maybe im just getting a bit picky in my old age...or maybe i just want that little bit more from a well deserved holiday

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

started out ok as family were waiting up for us, but went down hill from there, 3rd floor (no help with cases) lights dont work at top floor, made stairs more dangerous carrying my child, very dangerous balcony, a moses basket was supplied for 1 1/2 yr old toddler(crazy!!) not very nice to us from the moment we complained about lack of bed for my child (3 in the bed), we asked for another bed due to lack of bed and balcony and they wouldnt help, no toaster/kettle, hardly any utensils/cups...showers too hot....pool too deep....tele didnt work...dont provide toilet roll, changed sheets once we were 2 weeks, also felt very uncomfortable around family, wife/staff were consantly giving us evil looks, so we didnt hang out there at all, last day phone stolen from room and that really upset us and they didnt even try to help resolve situation, just got their back up straight the way and started abusing us in turkish!!. dont supply any fans or air con only at extra cost (£3 a day for fan, £8 a day for air con) very Poorly run and very dirty, our base of the bed had all blood stains on it (YUK!!) and could see the place hasnt had a good clean in a very long time. get what u pay for i guess....we loved dalyan so much so we tried not to let it get to us and explored alot more than we would normally so i guess there was a small silver lining in there somewhere.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Tufan apartments are absolutely fantastic, the hotels and rooms are just normal, nothing special but it's not really about the rooms. The family are bloody lovely, they always want to help you they'll do anything for you they are the most helpful family I've ever met whilst being abroad! I advise everybody to go to this family resort! It's AMAZING.. There's a very good and useful shop literally just down the street, as you stand out side of the gates you can see it! It's very handy:) the town is about 10 minutes walk down the road, it's a very good town with amazing food and restaurants. If one night you decide to order pizza there is even a "pizza hut" in the town. The shops, gifts, restaurants and everything is dead cheap. Please ignor all of the reviews saying that " it's a offal place to stay" because I can honestly tell you that it isn't true, because its amazing!:):):) thank you for reading this review:)

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

I'll admit that when we first arrived at 7am after a long delay my first impression was very disappointing. The pool looks smaller than on the photos and the rooms, though clean, are very basic and self-catering on the 2 ring gas stove is out of the question and by the end of the week I craved toast (no toaster or grill).
But the family who run it are very pleasant and as there a small number of rooms, it means it's quiet.
The apartments are more of a steady 20min walk from the main square, not 5mins.
The upside of the small pool, mean't it was easy to keep a close eye on children from a sun lounger, something you can't do in a larger hotel that may have slides etc.
Dalyan is lovely and I would definitely return, but perhaps to another slightly more up-market hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

What a lovely place to vist the family can not do enough for you rooms large and clean basic but very clean Ali and his brother so proud of what they provide large pool so relaxing nice gardens definitely would go back to tufan 100% guarantee Paul and Susan room 101

Room Tip: Top floor with balcony will provide a good view rooms more modern
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Just got back from Dalyan, first time to Turkey, and delighted with Tufan as choice of apartment.
Went with 2 teenagers, and got a 2 bed apartment. Family running it are friendly and very willing to help- getting up at 4am to let us in (and offering to wake us for our departure at 2am).
The rooms were clean and very spacious, there was a choice of fans or a/c for the rooms (we went for fans), and we had a balcony.
From Tufan it is a short walk into the town centre, and there is a small corner shop one minute away from which you can pick up essentials.
In the end we didn't do much self-catering apart from breakfast and one light evening meal, because of the wealth of restaurants in town.
Ideal for families- there were a number of families with much younger kids, and the pool was perfect for them, as well as ourselves.
I enjoyed Dalyan very much, there are many activities (some day trips can be organised through the apartments), and will very likely return at some point, and will stay here again when I do. (One English family we met were there for their third time). Don't often write reviews on here but wanted to balance out the odd negative reviews, because our experience was so utterly different. Highly recommended.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tufan Apart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tufan Apart

Address: Dalyan Merkez Mah. No:20, Dalyan 48840, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Dalyan
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Dalyan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tufan Apart 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Tufan Apart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tufan Apart, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.