We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant find along the tourist strip.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beyazgul Restaurant

Beyazgul Restaurant
Maras Mah. Balikhane Sok. Beyazgul Motel No. 50, Dalyan, Turkey
284 2304
Improve this listing
Ranked #80 of 138 restaurants in Dalyan
Cuisines: Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A pleasant find along the tourist strip.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

We had a lovely meal here recently - after becoming sick of the constant hassling from restauranteurs we were excited to find a place with a beautiful, romantic, bohemian setting and a decent menu - without the heckling. The food might have been a little pricier than we intended to pay that night but we had good service and were even moved to a waterside table with full rock tomb view when one became available.
The shisha bar looked really funky too and I would be keen to check out their adjoining hotel.
A lovely spot with great ambience and delicious food!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

75% Recommend
    47
    12
    10
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Insidiously pretentious”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

This restaurant advertises itself as no wi fi, no hassle etc suggesting a lack of pretension and hype. What should, in my opinion be added to that description is "poor food at a rip off price". The setting is spectacularly beautiful bur having visited Dalyan for many years, I am disappointed to report the breakfast at Beyaz Gul to be the worst I have experienced, as well as the most expensive.Admittedly my partner and I requested mugs of Nescafe (standard in many places) but at 24 TL per head the price was extortionate considering the poor quality of the food and the absence of boreks and yellow cheese which are offered as part of Turkish breakfasts across the resort where a normal charge would be between 8 and 12 TL. What was presented was of the poorest and cheapest quality with hard, greenish tomatoes and past their best olives , warm white cheese and cartons of jam and honey - really unpleasant! Frankly we felt that we were taken for a real ride by the waiter who, though pleasant,seemed totally unconcerned about our eating experience. I would recommend people to steer clear of this place.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A Cut Above the Rest”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

The combination of low key marketing (unusual), a lovely setting by the river, tranquil decor and good, but unobtrusive music, are great assets for Beyazgul. The food was simple and delicious from a menu that didn't try to offer everything: the shared meze was tasty, the fillet steak was succulent, and the kebabs as good as anywhere. Wine was reasonably priced, and the service was friendly and attentive. We returned three times as we didn't want the hassle of 'discovering' somewhere else decent!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carmarthen
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“When Is A Steak Not A Steak?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We hate having to rate this place as "terrible", but our meal was awful. Another reviewer seemed to think that it traded solely on its location and I have to agree with him. The location is stunning. It's right on the river and has a lovely view across to the rock tombs which are floodlit at night.
Our reception was offhand to say the least with the turkish male staff quite diffident. Fortunately there was a lovely dutch girl waitress who provided some feeling of goodwill. What can I say about the meal? Well I had sea bass grilled which was cardboardy and served ungarnished on a dish with just some small rounded portion of plainish rice plonked on it. Even this was ruined as someone had loosened the top of the salt shaker (not an accident - it had to have been unscrewed) and a lot of its contents landed on my rice. My wife had ordered fillet steak which was lengthy and flat and, in her opinion, had not the texture of steak at all and certainly was not fillet. The order hadn't been confused. We were the last diners there and there weren't many others save those on the few front tables on the river.
My wife reported that when she went to the ladies there wasn't a light in there and no means of drying your hands. There is something radically wrong with this place and view or no view I'd recommend you to steer clear.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woburn Sands, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“eat pray love”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

No hassle, just good food, good service, lovely setting lunch time or evening. Try it once you will go back again.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beyazgul Restaurant also viewed

Dalyan, Mugla Province
Dalyan, Mugla Province
 
Dalyan, Mugla Province
Dalyan, Mugla Province
 

Been to Beyazgul Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beyazgul Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.