We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Gardenia Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Villa Gardenia Apartments to your Saves list
Villa Gardenia Apartments
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Gurpinar Mah. 323. Sok. No:33, Dalyan 48840, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Dalyan
Portsmouth
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic Holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Low cost great value apartments, a 10 minute walk to the centre of Dalyan. Our 4th time in Turkey, 2nd time in Dalyan. We had a 2 bedroom apartment that was very spacious. Only problem air conditioning (Extra Charge) in the twin room and not in the main double bedroom, the children were fine but we were quite hot at night. However windows/door could be opened as all had a mesh on . We also hired a safe (Small Charge).The 2 brothers spoke perfect English and were very friendly, helpful and informative. Pool area never too busy and we always got sunbeds although there were not many. Our apartment had 3 balconies, 2 shower rooms and hairdryer. Towels and sheets changed twice a week.
The maids trip was brilliant we went twice. We jumped into the lake from the boat, ate delicious food, danced, went to the mud baths and had great fun. We also went on the jeep safari and the 12 island boat trip both booked in the town. The brothers at the apartments organised a BBQ the food was delicious.
Most evenings we walked into the town and went in many different restaurants, there are so many of them! They are all reasonably priced and the staff are very friendly.
We went to the beach on the bus this year. This end is less busy than the boat end. We hired sunbeds at a reasonable price. We visited the Turtle sanctuary that was very interesting.
The weather was hot and sunny the whole 2 weeks we were there.
We would definitely stay at theses apartments again and would recommend them.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    17
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
21
28
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Just returned from two weeks at Villa Gardenia, What lovely the brothers are that run the apartment nothing was too much for them. The apartments were all you required. What I liked about them was having meshing on the windows and the door to one of the two balconies as I love my windows open but worry about mosquitoes coming in no problem these kept them out. The pool area was kept nice and clean, the pool bar did snack type meals. Dalyan it self is a lovely place to go loved going down the river to the sea it was so relaxing watching the amazing view go by. Lots of great places to eat and drink in Dalyan. We went on a moonlight boat trip organised by the lady that cleaned our rooms Her husband took us to the lake were we swam had a fantastic barbeque and lots of typical Turkish dishes Went to the Mud Baths as well a great time was had by all that went. I would recommend these lovely family run apartments to all.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

a group of us have just returned from these apartments,the two brothers were very nice and helpful our apartment was spacious and airy the pool was very clean,but the maid service was nothing to write home about,our toilet bin was not emptied on five occasionsand toilet paper,one roll! was provided on arrival we were told they dont provide it so we had to buy it from the shop,in all the years we have been going to turkey we have never had this.there are houses next door to these apartments,and they have chickens the cockeral crows nearly all the time,also there are a lot of wild cats and dogs.and the dogs barking can drive you mad especially when they start at three in a morning,and are at it for fours hours.The town is about a twenty min walk either on the road or down little dirt tracks,there are plenty of restaurants and the sunset bar does happy hour from six thirty till ten thirty,if you are looking for night life this is not the place for you we would say its low key.the boat trips are very good as is the jeep safari be prepared to get wet as they have water fights great fun. turtle beach is lovely you can reach this by dolmus either get a return ticket or walk the full lenght of the beach which takes about an hour,and get the boat back along the river this takes about forty mins,also at the beach they do a lovely kebab,dalyan is a pretty place but not lively enough at night for us.

Room Tip: dont have an attic room,the rooms are to hot
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stayed at Villa Gardenia in June 2013 (same time as Nick B) with some friends, in separate apartments. We had a wonderful time. Well looked after, nothing was too much trouble for the family. The apartment was spacious, clean and airy.

A really friendly place, we made some new friends, and thoroughly enjoyed the weather and the town. Boat trips with the "Kapitan" are highly recommended.

We can only endorse Nick B's comments.

We'll be back!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontefract, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

we stayed at villa gardenia in June 2013 , after reading the reviews we were looking forward to our stay . however on arrival after 4 flights of stairs we found ourselves in the annex . The room was spacious but had no storage space , the shower did not have a cubicle it was out of the wall pointing over the toilet. looking at the pictures of the other rooms via the web site we felt we were short changed. on a positive note the brothers were pleasant the night cruise was without doubt the highlight of our holiday , dalyan is wonderful and we intend to return. The annex needs a complete refurbishment to bring it in line with the rest of the apartments .

Room Tip: Keep out of the annex
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

If you want peace and quiet within a family atmosphere then this is the place. Rooms are spacious and comfortable and priced to please. Ten minutes walk to town and the restaurants and shops. You will be well looked after by Alpay and Hassan the two brothers who own and run the apartments. Ayna will take care of all your house keeping needs and her husband owns a boat on the river which you can charter privately for the day. This is fantastic and Aynas cooking is tremendous.
This is our fourth visit to the Gardenia apartments and we will most certainly be back.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We stayed at the Villa Gardenia in July/August 2010 for three weeks in a one bed apartment slightly away from the pool area. We found the apartment to be clean and comfortable. The kitchen/lounge area was quite spacious and included a table and chairs and two large sofa beds which hold extra sheets and pillows. There was ample crockery and cutlery, glasses etc and a kettle. There was also a range of books in the apartment that had been left by previous guests. The bedroom was also quite spacious with a double wardrobe and bedside cabinets and a small dressing table attached to the wall under the aircon. The aircon in the bedroom worked very well and was absolutely needed in temperatures of 40+ degrees. The apartment also had two balconies, one at the front and one at the back so that we could either follow or avoid the sun. The apartment was cleaned regularly and we had ample changes of sheets and towels. We had hot water whenever we required it and the shower pressure was good. We were also able to pay to keep the room on until our later departure time, I think that this was 45 lira then but it may have increased by now.
The pool and bar area are also very clean but we tended to go to the beach rather than stay around the pool. One reason for this is that at 4' 11", and not a very confident swimmer, I found the pool depth to be too much for me as there is no 'shallow' end. This appeared to be a constant in Dalyan however and people tended to buy floats to combat this.
We did not really eat at the apartments as we dont tend to know what we want to do a day in advance and if you require an evening meal or breakfast, you have to book in for it. However, saying that, we asked for breakfast on the first morning (before we knew about the booking system, which was then explained to us) and were served without complaint and the food was lovely.
As mentioned in previous reviews the owners are very polite and accommodating.
I would reccommend the evening boat trip provided by the maid. It was one of the highlights of our trip. We shared the boat with a small group of young people who were entertaining to watch, jumping into the river in the dark. The meal provided is excellent and the evening ends with a little traditional dancing on the boat.
It is only a short walk into the centre of Dalyan, about 10 minutes, but slightly longer if you walk down the main road. We took various routes and found the shortest to be through the back lanes. Go out of the front of the apartments, turn right for about 100 yards then cross over and follow the road (track) straight down. You come out at the market. It is dark this way on your return but we never felt threatened.
As we had aircon, we did not need to open the windows to sleep, so were not bothered at all by any noise (dogs etc).
Dalyan itself is lovely. The views are beautiful, the people friendly and we never had a bad meal.
It was our first experience of Turkey after years of visiting small Greek islands and we have been returning ever since although not to Dalyan. We never return to the same place twice as there is always more to see, but if we ever did, it would probably be to Dalyan and the Villa Gardenia.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Gardenia Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Gardenia Apartments

Address: Gurpinar Mah. 323. Sok. No:33, Dalyan 48840, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Dalyan
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Dalyan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Gardenia Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Villa Gardenia Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Gardenia Apartments Hotel Dalyan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Gardenia Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.