We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy Days” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Asur (Assyrian)

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dalyan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Asur (Assyrian)
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Maras Mah. Guruncu Mevki No:13, Dalyan 48840, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 56 hotels in Dalyan
Whitley Bay
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Happy Days”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2010

This was our third visit to the Asur. If you want a hotel in a quiet location within walking distance of the main village then this is for you. Beautiful gardens surround the superb pool where you can simply relax and chill-out unaware that there is world out there beyond the hotel. The rooms can be described as compact, adequate wardrobe space for your clothes, small shower room but these are kept in an extremely clean condition by the cleaners who come in and change the towels and bedding every other day.Breakfast is served in the pool side restaurant, with a good selection of cereal, fruit, cold meat, cheese or if you prefer the cook will provide omeletes, pancakes or eggs. All the staff are extremely polite and friendly, everyone wants you to enjoy your stay especially the manager Mr Demirbey who is always around.We love the Asur :)

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    306
    30
    7
    3
    3
See reviews for
61
222
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leicester
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2009

Second visit and still brilliant, relaxing and peaceful. Very friendly and very clean. Will definately be going back.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2009

A very good hotel representing excellent value for money. Set in well maintained, attractive gardens and within easy walking distance of the resort centre the hotel is ideal for those looking for a relaxing holiday location.
The bedrooms are not large but they are comfortable and well equipped.
The staff are excellent, helpful and friendly and provide a good quality service.
Food is of a good standard and plentiful and the staff clearly take a great pride in what is offered particularly on speciality evenings.
This was my second visit to the hotel and there will certainly be more in the future.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2009

Just a wonderful place to have a holiday. Its a delight to go back every year and to meet up with all our friends. Habib is a great host and the staff too are very welcoming. Hussain is a very competent receptionist and must be a great asset to the hotel. The hotel is an oasis....just the only way to describe it. Last but not least the wonderful ginger cat (Ginge) who resides on the jetty such a gentle cat who is blind in one eye. Be kind to him as he must be about 5 years old now and gets bullied. If you are not an animal lover there are many of us that are!!

Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2009

We booked this hotel as a very late booking and have never been so lucky. This is one of the very few places that brochures cannot do justice to. One always assumes that the brochure pictures are "staged" and everywhere cleaned prior to the pictures, well, not here. When we arrived we were shown to our room which was immaculately clean and nicely appointed. After a few hours sleep we were eager to investigate the hotel. First thing was breakfast, a good selection of cereal, cold meats,hot food was available and a chef on hand who cooked pancakes and omelettes to order, waiters were all very friendly and helpful.
Next a walk in to nearby Dalyan, a nice easy flat walk, Dalyan is a lovely town once you get used to the very friendly locals, plenty of good restaurants to choose from, various river trips available trom the jetty (same trips that your rep will sell you but a lot cheaper). a lot of shops selling locally produced good, it's fun to haggle the prices down. The best tip I got was to ask "how much" then half it and start from there, if the price goes more than you want to pay just say "no thank you" and walk away, you'll often get a tap on the shoulder from the trader and an "o.k. then".
Back to the hotel to relax by the pool fully expecting all the sunbeds to be taken but no, plenty of free sunbeds and free towels too, plenty of sunbeds all week in fact.
Now, by mid afternoon it's getting really hot so off to relax in one of the many hammocks available, strung between the palm trees for shade between the hotel and the river, to read a book, after a good laugh getting the wife to master the art of "hammocking" without ending up on the grass relaxed with a book, I defy anyone to read more than 4 pages before they fall asleep, no reflection on my reading material, just that it's so relaxing by the river and cool in the shade.
Our room was next to the pool and we were amazed that every morning the pool area had been immaculately cleaned but we never heard a thing - I really don't know how they do that!
Linen and towels are changed regularly with the maids adding their own touches such as freshly picked flowers to our room.
The weekly BBQ on the jetty is not to be missed, the best cooked meat and fish and a fantastic array of truly mouthwatering salad amazingly decorated.

To sum up, this is a very clean, family run, friendly hotel where the staff are willing to make sure you have an enjoyable stay. The place was one of the cleanest we have ever visited, faultless really as was every other aspect of the hotel service and food. One of places we will be visiting again for sure.
Must do's whilst you're there, Turkish Bath, Mud Bath, River Trip.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N Yorks
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2009

My wife and I spent two weeks here, and we enjoyed every minute of it. The hotel satff were great. Nothing was too much trouble for them. The pool was immaculate, as were the rooms. Breakfast was a treat and dinner was the same. Prices were comparable with down town, so it was a matter of choice. All the locals were very friendly, and without the heavy arab type pestering. Plenty of ATMs in the town, with all the usual facilities. Plenty to see and do, but perhaps the heat did tend to be a bit too much for active sight seeing at times. Without doubt we would go back and would recommend it to any one. Just one word on prices; an Efes beer (local brew available in Wetherspoons!!) is supposed to be fixed price at TL5.00.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmfirth
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2009

Lyn and myself arrived at the Assur on a very hot Friday afternoon, the setting of the hotel is great being the last hotel on the river to the south of the town. The room itself though small was adequate for our stay, and the decor of the room was nice. The bathroom in particular had an extremely efficient shower - just what is needed to wash all the suntan lotion off before going out for the night. After unpacking we made our way to the poolside bar, well I know some people have complained a bit about the music from the bar though I myself never experienced this. The barman at the time generally had the volume at such a level that this would not be heard from the rooms, and in general at this time of year the bar could be shut before we got back to our rooms after a night out. For some people I would say that the noise of the crickets at night is far louder, and more persistent, my wife witnessed one guest shaking a bush outside his room because the crickets were driving him barmy. I prefer to think of the noise of crickets as a little bit of night music singing myself to sleep, viewed like that then they are not an annoyance.
Our first night we decided to eat at the hotels reataurant. Lyn and myself both had the fillet steak in mushroom sauce. This was extremely tasty, and the head waiter reccomended a very good local Turkish wine to go with this. The hotel prices for food seemed to be extemely competitive with what could be found in town. However, as I am a bit of a foody and wanted to try other places in town this was the only time we ate at the hotel in the evening. The walk into town is a pleasant 15 minute stroll.
There is no need to take beach towels as these are provided by the hotel, just make sure you get to the cupboard where these are kept early to secure the better ones. The pool area looked marvelous, though Lyn and myself did not ever once go in the pool, instead preferring the beach and the sea. The hotel provides 3 time a week (Sundays / Tuesdays / Thursdays) a free river boat trip to the beach leaving at 10:15 and returning at 13:15. This may not seem like long, but after 13:15 the big ships come in from Marmaris unpacking hoards of holiday makers and turning a lovely quiet beach into something else!
For myself a particular pleasant part of my stay was mornings at the jetty before breakfast, just relaxing and watching the world go by. From here one could see on many occasions wildlife such as Kingfishers and Marsh Harriers. The river itself had many fish to the delight of the local hotel cats who would eat the fish caught by other guests. The stars of the hotel menagerie at the time I was staying were the 6 kittens who lived in the grounds, though my own personal favourite was the big ginger tom who was always down by the jetty. Just behind the jetty were nice quiet gardens with hammocks for those wanting to escape the sun a bit and relax.
Breakfast at the hotel was excellent, there was a wide variety to chose from and in particular the omelettes and pancakes went down a treat.
Our stay at the Assur was extemely relaxing, just what we were looking for and I would highly reccomend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Asur (Assyrian)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Asur (Assyrian)

Address: Maras Mah. Guruncu Mevki No:13, Dalyan 48840, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Dalyan
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Dalyan
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Dalyan
#8 Family Hotel in Dalyan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Asur (Assyrian) 3.5*
Also Known As:
Hotel Asur Assyrian

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Asur (Assyrian), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel Asur (Assyrian) to your Saves list