We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best holiday we have had, again !!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Asur (Assyrian)

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dalyan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Asur (Assyrian)
Save
You added Hotel Asur (Assyrian) to your Saves list
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Maras Mah. Guruncu Mevki No:13, Dalyan 48840, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 61 Hotels in Dalyan
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The best holiday we have had, again !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

2nd stay at The Asur. Met some lovely people both local and guests. Roger "Taylor" Thompson and Curly Shirley,(sorry), must get a special mention for giving us some great holiday memories, and not forgetting FRIENDS,Karen and Pia! The hotel is so relaxing. The town offers restaurants and bars for all tastes, ate at a different place for two weeks and not one bad meal so too many to list. Thomas Cook rep Hussein was excellent, very friendly and had great knowledge of Dalyan. Kounos is worth a visit, tip,wear some comfortable walking shoes. Don't want to go on and repeat what everyone else has said so well done Dalyan and everyone associated with the Asur Hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    344
    33
    7
    3
    4
See reviews for
71
246
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
2 reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Having just returned after a week at the Hotel Asur, it is safe to say it was one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. The success of the hotel comes down to the staff, and you really sense a family vibe from them, as they go the extra mile to make sure you have the best stay possible, and that is why it is so great.

If you are after a beautiful hotel, within a peaceful/quiet location, then this is for you. The views surrounding the hotel give it that extra special touch as well. (The hotel is 100% for couples, or older groups only, as the hotel would lose its enjoyment if you had kids screaming and running around). We met so many other lovely couples, it was just a friendly atmosphere with everyone being pleasant to one another.
Other positives..
-Plenty of sun loungers for everyone
-Rooms cleaned everyday
-Wifi throughout the hotel
-Free air con in rooms
-BBQ night was very good and entertaining.
-Hussein (Thomas Cook rep) was ever so helpful and friendly
-Guaranteed good weather (apart from our first day when the resort was flooded)

If you stay at this hotel, make sure you watch the sunset on the jetty, you can grab some fantastic photos, and you can rely enjoy the views looking out.

My only negative would be the stray cats. If you are not a cat lover, you potentially wont want to stay here. When we were there, there was approximately 6 cats, and they are wandering around throughout the day throughout the hotel, and even jump up at you whilst you eat (either at breakfast or lunch by the pool). I am not a cat lover, and I disliked this along with many of the other guests. Apart from this, and the cockerel going off at 4am/5am/8am, and then throughout the day, the hotel is a gem. (So purchase ear plugs, and take headphones for the day time).

All the reviews on here speak the truth, I know you never know until you try, but I am so pleased we booked this hotel with Thomas Cook. I like to visit new places all the time, but I have no doubt in my mind that one day we will be returning to this hotel.

As for Dalyan itself, it is a safe/beautiful town. With so many excursions available, I would suggest going for 10 days to really make the most of it. Make sure you do the turkish bath experience, as well as the Jeep safari tour, and visit the market on saturdays to pick up some bargains (obviously barta, half the price they say). With only a 10 min walk, there are so many restaurants to choose from. Our favourite was Lime restaurant. You get great value for your money, the food is delicious and the service is superb.

I can't speak anymore highly for this hotel resort and surrounding areas. We just wished we went for longer. The hotel could easily double their prices, and remain busy throughout the 6 months - it is that good!

I want to thank the hotel staff for such a pleasant stay, and wonderful service. Enjoy the 6 months off, as I know for a fact you will have another busy 6 months as of May next year. Definitely the number one resort of Dalyan. 10/10.

(Small tip) - instead of paying for transfers with Thomas Cook - we just got a taxi each way. Thomas cook charged £75, and it took 45 mins each way. We got a taxi, took no more than 20 mins each way, and only cost us £50 overall. That £25 saved pays for a meal for 2!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

we have never been to a place twice but we have made an exception to the rule when it comes to the asur hotel in dalyan we were there in sept 2013 and we booked again for sept 2014 and cant wait to get back there .it was the most relaxing holiday of our lives and we are 68 years young we made good freinds and our holiday was made better by friendly staff especially at breakfast time the whole set up is pleasing and you cannot help but relax and enjoy.thankyou staff cant wait to be back with you.get ramazan to take you on his boat for some fishing which includes crab fishing and then took us to a wonderful lagoon where he cooked fish meatballs from his wife and chicken and fish and cooked our crabs for a surprise a wonderful day not to be missed he made sure we saw turtles to finnish off the day hi from keith& mo.

Room Tip: they are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Recently returned from a another great stay at the asur .we were last there in 2011 so please we decided to go back just as good as the first time .There were some new faces amongst the staff all very polite and efficient and some familiar faces amongst the guests Special mention to Hussein the Thomas cook rep best rep ever .The five mile walk he arranges around Dalyan is really interesting he knows everything about the area. We are just about to book for next year we are thinking of maybe trying the apartments to compare them to the hotel

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnsfield notts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Had another great trip to Dalyan and the Asur. Weather was eventful with a storm in the middle of the fortnight that brought in some cooler temperatures. Loved the gardens and the pool. Rooms cleaned daily and room and pool towels were also changed on a daily basis. Had a great trip with local boatman Ramasin and also enjoyed the jeep safari organised by the best Thomas Cook rep, Hussein. Already booked for next year!!

Room Tip: Liked row 3 as not overlooked, but if I tell you which room you'll all want it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burntisland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Once again another perfect holiday.
Met off the transfer bus by Huseyn and checked in within minutes. He took us to our room and explained nothing had changed, this delighted us.

All the same as before, great breakfasts, I even got french toast !! Both chef`s were real characters. Most of the staff are the same, the young lady who looked after our room, Nortan, is a wee gem. The barman Ishmael,( Known to us as 007 ) & ( he will know us as room 301 ) was efficient and has got a great sense of humour, the other bar staff were also very good. We had a few evenings out and finished off at the bar, something we have rarely done on previous trips.
We went to the BBQ night and had a loads of fun, ate in the hotel a few times and the meals are as good and sometimes even better that in the towns top resturaunts

Unfortunately, we were one of the couples who complained about the children. As usual, the minority spoil it for the majority. I have no problem with children and love the sound of their laughter, but on the day conserned, these older children were bored and the yelling and kicking the pool water over all the loungers, that was the last straw, we went and sat on our terrace to
get away from it, but ended up getting really annoyed as the same thing happened the week before.
I spoke to Huseyn and the matter was dealt with immediately to everyones relief as I felt at least one of them was going to get hurt. Also, because of this,a few other guest were saying they were not going back, this is unfair on Habip, Mirna and all the staff as they put in so much hard work to ensure all guest have a good holiday, children included.

There was a mother cat and her kittens in the gardens where the hammocks are and the mother cat came down to the jetty every morning to get "breakfast" for her babies from the guests who were fishing, it was nice to watch her.
Habip has a new doggy called Ben who is a wee cutey, he was named by another guest. he also still has pasha, who every one loves.

So, once again a big thankyou to Habip, Mirna, Huseyn and Huseyn ( Thomas Cook Rep.), Nortan, Ishmael and all the staff for making our holiday another good one.

Room Tip: This trip we were in 301 over looking the pool. Realy nice. Sat out on the terrace with a long cool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Just had a great 2 week stay at the Asur Villa, but as there will be just the 2 of us next year, we are more than happy to stay at the nearby Asur Apartments which we have just booked. Mirna and her family are very friendly and welcoming as are the staff. I must also mention Hussein the rep who is the best rep we have had probably as he lives locally and prides himself to doing a good job, always there to help. We did the charity walk with him during which we visited his home in the nearby country side and met his lovely family and animals. As many people have already stated, Dalyan is a wonderful, peaceful resort and the Asur Apartments and Hotel are in the perfect spot. The hotel food is just as good as outside but we never had a poor meal anywhere during our stay. It is also nice of the owners to offer guests free trips to Turtle Beach a couple of times a week. Thanks again Asur for a great hol and will see you next year, Steve, Judith, Rachael and Michael from Newcastle.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Asur (Assyrian)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Asur (Assyrian)

Address: Maras Mah. Guruncu Mevki No:13, Dalyan 48840, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Dalyan
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Dalyan
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Dalyan
#8 Family Hotel in Dalyan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Asur (Assyrian) 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Also Known As:
Hotel Asur Assyrian

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Asur (Assyrian), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.