We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Asur (Assyrian)

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dalyan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Asur (Assyrian)
Save
You added Hotel Asur (Assyrian) to your Saves list
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Maras Mah. Guruncu Mevki No:13, Dalyan 48840, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 61 Hotels in Dalyan
Fakenham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

I have just returned from my first visit to Turkey and what a fabulous place it is.
The Asur is one of the lovliest hotels I have ever stayed in . For many reasons I consider this little gem perfect . The attentive staff, the spotless rooms and general hotel area and the food .....I Cheffy your a wonder, thank you for the delicious pancakes , the lamb Adana and the BBQ ....NOT TO BE MISSED but make sure your hungry as the tables groan with plates and plates of tasty local dishes .
The rooms although small are delightful with fridge , WIFI , ( THANKS HUSAIN FOR THE SKYPE ) hair drier , towels and bedding changed every day , kettle , safe and air com all included . The Gardens are beautiful and recommened the hamocks, lovely for a snozze after poolside lunch.... Free trips to beach , endless attentive service , this place is head and shoulders above many highly priced resorts around the world and UK that I have stayed in . A very big thank you to all at the Asur team and especially the lovely Mirna , you have a very special daughter Habib and Elizabeth . Ps hope some one is still catching fish for mummy cat.... Kim ( Norfolk )

Room Tip: All the rooms looked lovely, I stayed in 307 near the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    344
    33
    7
    3
    4
See reviews for
71
246
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

I'm reluctant to write this review as I'd really like to keep the Hotel Asur as big a secret as possible and not share it ! This hotel is like no other we've every stayed in - there's no main hotel building, just a small reception and then the rooms are like tiny little bungalows in the grounds - very small and quaint but perfectly adequate and quite romantic. Each room only sleeps 2 people so there's little chance of children staying here unless the family splits over two or more rooms which is unlikely as there's a sister aparthotel 100 yards up the road with larger accommodation, which means the pool is lovely and peaceful as are the garden grounds which have hammocks slung between trees where you can relax in the shade. An adequate breakfast is served in the outside restaurant and the pool bar does decent lunches very cheaply. We never ate dinner in here at night as there's loads of places to try in town (a 10 minute walk). We've stayed here twice now, once for a fortnight and once for a week following a week spent on a Turkish gulet sailing round the south coast (that's another amazing holiday!) We will go back sometime but not next year as don't want to get fed up with it although I think that would be very hard.

Room Tip: Ask for a room beside the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burntisland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

A big THANKYOU to Habib, Mirha, Husain(Reception) & Husain T/C. Rep. Isha and Nurten (looked after our room), the dining room and bar staff and everyone at Asur for making our holiday brilliant.
Clean room with towels and bedding changed daily, free air con.,safe and fridge. Having a kettle with complimentary coffee ect. provided, a bonus. Enjoyed our breakfasts, eggs anyway you want, even french toast, well done to you chef, plenty of choice of fruit cerials, dishes I did not even get the chance to look at as I was so spoilt for choice. "Barby". night was fun and good choice of food, had a right laugh with the dancing, Well Done Sandy and Julies daughters !!! Evening meals in the hotel dining room offer a wide range of good food aswell.
We arrived home last week from a fortnight of sun, sea, and total rest. As we work the other 50 weeks of the year, it was just what we needed. No up early for sun loungers and towels provided as well. The pool was never crowded, and the luch menu is good.
Dalyan, a short walk away is full of good restaurants,bars, and shops.On shops, in "Tic Tack" we bought a fake ICE watch, fine, we asked 4 times about a Sieco Watch not being a fake and not a battery one, after being assured it was genuine, we bought it, went back the next day as it was a battery watch. But after arguing just left, there was also a young man there with a watch he bought that did not work, will definately NOT go there again. On the other hand, "Dalyan Jewellery" just down the road, is smashing. Mesut could not have done enough for us, bought a lovely bracelet and "the boss"bought me earings and what a bargain, was going to buy a bracelet here but waited till our holiday and I am glad we did. Come out the jewellers and turn left, a little way along on the right hand side is a barbers, the boss man went there 3/4 times and the owner was so nice. Shave, haircut, ears ,eyebrows, nose the lot and so cheap. The market is on a Saturday and good for bargains, but enjoy the banter and haggling. Turtle beach, Mud baths, loads of boat trips all available. We did go on the 12 Island Trip and had a realy good day.
This was our our second visit to the Asur, a few guest from 2 years ago were there aswell, big hi to you all.
Lots of guests return year after year, one couple were on their 10 visit, if you go there you will understand why, this was our second visit and will be back again next year for sure.

As for stray dogs, yes they were a couple, but no bother, looked for some food then went on their way. Habib the owner has his own dog Pasha who is special, and he just loves all animals. For anyone to say the stray dogs were treated badly is sadly mistaken. After breakfast every morning we took bread down to the jetty to feed the fish and terapins, the staff knew this but let us take extra bread. Cruelty is not a word anyone at the Asur knows. There was a black and white stray dog who ran a mile if shown a collar, but in the end he was collared and Husain the Thomas Cook Rep. has taken him home to stay with him as a pet. This is fact.

Thomas Cook once again changed our flight times, from 2-15pm Saturday to 4-40am Sunday, not happy. Habib and staff were great, kept our room till 1-00am Sunday then looked after us till 2-00am till our taxi arrived even offered us tea/coffee, what a team !!!!

All in all we had just the best time. Roll on August 2013.

Mirha, I know you will read this, We mean every word. Thankyou.

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gnosall, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

This was our third stay at the Asur between 27/8 and 10/9. The hotel is kept very clean and the staff are always friendly. There is a great selection breakfast time with almost everything you could wish for. Lunch menu the same as last year but clearly the new chef was much better than the chef last year with the presentation of the food he prepared. If you like to just chill out this is the place to be.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Stayed at the ASUR apartments next to hotel as it offered much more space than the hotel rooms.Great location - 5 min walk into Dalyan. Apartments have own pool etc but we chose to go to the hotel pool everyday as we had breakfast etc. Food was great, good selection and relaxing!! Lovely quiet location, no kids, no loud music - quality stay and great surroundings! Staff great, yet bar staff are a little miserable at times!! Lunchtime menu ok but very limited! Rooms were kept very clean, air con was essential and general appearance was excellent! Only criticism i woudl mention is that the walk from hotel to apartments was a little depressing as their is rubbish scattered by some waste land and doesn't look very endearing as you approach! Hotel state that the land is controversial as there is a dispute as to actually owns it etc!! But rubbish could be fenced off somewhere surely?? Apart from that the location was great, food great and yes i would return again but i would state that if you like space - go for the apartments as they offer great value! Dalyan is a truly unspoilt town with traditional turkish surroundings and is a real GEM!! Please dont chnage it!! :)

Room Tip: Go for the apartments as they are bigger and better!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Our Third visit to the Asur staying between the 9th and 23rd August and still think this is the best place to stay in Dalyan.
The hotel is spotless and set in beautiful grounds with inviting hammocks strung between the trees. You can while away the day on the jetty, sitting in the swinging chairs watching boats go by or even take the free boat ride to the beach three times a week, or just relax by the pool - no need to rush for loungers as there are plenty for everyone and no need to bring beach or pool towels either - plenty of these also available.
All the Staff are friendly and welcoming with nothing being too much trouble for them, from Hüseyin the front office manager, the waiters, gardener and cleaners who always had a smile on they face, and the Bar Staff [Duran & Volken] a great addition to the Asur this year, they are two nice guys that really do have time for everyone and always make you welcome, [take up some fresh fruit and Volken will make you a lovely milkshake].
Each year we meet some lovely people [Bill & Jill, Sue & Nick, to name a few] plus friends we have met on previous visits.
Thank you Habip, your family and staff for another fantastic Holiday and see you soon
Debbie & Andy
[Thomas Cook rep Hussain is a great guy and it was nice to see him there again]

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We have just returned from our 2nd stay at the Asur. There is very little to fault with the hotel staff are friendly and polite and the rooms and the hotel itself is kept immaculate, our only slight criticisms would be that the staff at the pool bar dont always seem to keen to serve you and a bit more storage space and some extra hangers in the rooms would be useful. These are only minor issues which wont stop us returning

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Asur (Assyrian)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Asur (Assyrian)

Address: Maras Mah. Guruncu Mevki No:13, Dalyan 48840, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Dalyan
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Dalyan
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Dalyan
#8 Family Hotel in Dalyan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Asur (Assyrian) 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Also Known As:
Hotel Asur Assyrian

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Asur (Assyrian), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.