We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best holiday experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jumali House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dalyan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jumali House
Save
You added Jumali House to your Saves list
Maras | Opposite rock tombs, Dalyan, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 60 Hotels in Dalyan
Dunoon, United Kingdom
1 review
“Best holiday experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

This was our seventh trip to Dalyan (12th - 21st Oct 13) and Jumali House was the best villa we have rented by far. Jumali House is in a quite area of Dalyan yet three minutes walk from the main street. The gardens and pool area was excellent and the villa was well equipped. The furnishings and Turkish paintings etc were excellent

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We are a party of six people ranging in age from 50s to 80s, who began holidaying together 20 years ago. Different place each year – until 2010 that is. That’s when we came across Dalyan and Jumali House. We have not been anywhere else together since. 2013 was our 4th year and we are already booked for 2014. This villa has everything our hearts desire and more.

It’s one of the most beautiful villas in Dalyan and its location is second to none. It is literally a few minutes from the centre of town. One of our party is in his mid eighties and is frail and not in the best of health but he can do the stroll through the park to town with ease even in very hot weather. So no car required. Huge bonus – not only financially - but also if you are a person who enjoys an occasional trip to the bar.

There are plenty of bars in the charming small town of Dalyan but so far, I am happy to say, not a lager lout in sight.

Back to the Villa, it has four double/twin bedrooms – all en suite. It is very comfortable and tastefully furnished. Some people have mentioned the fact that the Villa is “upside down” as the sitting room and dining room are upstairs whilst three of the bedrooms are on the ground floor. Well, in my view that is one of the biggest pluses.

It means that the huge balcony on which we gather every morning to plan our day and every evening for cocktails, is upstairs and offers a magnificent view not only of the beautiful mature garden with its colourful array flowers, palm trees, fruit trees and plants, but also of the ancient Rock Tombs which date back to 400 years BC. Perfect layout if you ask me. Especially for me as my bedroom opens out directly on to the pool, six paces and I am in the water!

Often during the hottest part of the day we retreat for a game of cards or a session on the jigsaw puzzle to the shady garden Gazebo which sits by the crystal clear pool and is surrounded by trailing pink and white flowers. There is also an outside fridge and kitchenette, a BBQ and a Turkish Kush – a large fabulously comfortable cushioned area for relaxing in the shade. This year we particularly enjoyed the addition of a water dispenser so we had ice cold water “on tap” which saved us carrying water back from town.

The villa is extremely well maintained. The pool man makes a discrete entrance twice a day to keep the pool in tip top condition. Kaunos Villas are also on hand to attend to your every need.

Every morning one of us hops on one of the two bicycles provided and heads off to the local baker returning with our daily fresh bread.

We tend not to use the kitchen at all – it is very cheap to eat out in Dalyan so the only meal we have in the Villa is a morning meal of bread, eggs, cheese and yoghurt. Although this year for the first time we did get a couple of take away BBQ’d chickens from the butcher and they were quite delicious and cost less than £2 each.

What I enjoy most of all are the wildlife encounters – obviously we see plenty of turtles including the most gracious Caretta Caretta (Loggerhead) and the Nile Turtle. In June storks fly over the villa – I thrill every time I see them. Little owls nestle in the chimneys of the villa next door and we hear them calling in the day time and they congregate on the roof tops in the early evening. This year we went Kingfisher spotting as they arrive in September to breed in the reed beds – saw loads of them. Swifts swoop over the pool and we watch the many bats passing through our garden as they leave the rock tombs at night.

Last year a tortoise got stuck in our gate and we had to go and free it. Lizards run freely over the wall by the BBQ and of course there is often a visit from a passing local dog or cat. Then a crab crawled up our path and proceeded to dig himself a home at the base of one of the palm trees. That took me by surprise. A couple of frogs moved in for a while – we really have no idea what is going to happen next.

We tend to go out one day stay in the next – Villa is far too nice to leave every day. Most of our “outs” are on the river somewhere. The boats trip are divine. There are 6 of us so it is just as cheap for us to have a private boats rather than use a bus boat. You can negotiate a really good price with the friendly boat men. There is nothing better than lying back on a luxuriously fitted out boat while taking in the beauty all around you and enjoying the predominance of wildlife.

And in the evening we gather on the Jasmine scented balcony (there is a huge Jasmine bush in the garden and villa next door is smothered in Jasmine) with our cocktail in hand and watch the sun slowly disappear over the mountain opposite.

Can’t wait for next year’s visit. I cannot recommend this Villa more highly but please don’t take our weeks!!!

Room Tip: Really quiet secluded location yet very close to town
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We loved this house!! We stayed here for a week and totally agree with the other reviews. Watching the sun go down whilst sitting on the balcony with a cocktail was a gorgeous way to start the night, before going to one of the many restaurants in town. We also loved the BBQ and stunning hut outside. The house is beautifully decorated and was fully equipped for all our needs.

I would definitely recommend this villa. It was well worth the money and we're already planning our next trip back here!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, Utrecht, Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

It was a beautiful holiday, not in the least because of the house. We were with two families and we liked the space in and around the house. And the kosk , th wooden house in the garden,has a special place in my heart......

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We were a party of 3 couples and a 3 year old. We have to agree with the other reviews that this villa was fantastic and the views from the upstairs balcony were just magical. Watched the sun set every night from the balcony which was a real treat. The villa itself was well equipped with everything you need whilst away. The pool was kept immaculately clean with the pool guy coming every day to check. The town was just down the road a couple of minutes walk away. We went on a number of boat trips which were just stunning. We would def recommend this villa. The only downside was the problem with 3 of the toilets not always flushing so we had to use buckets of water to overcome this but in the grand scheme of things this was a minor issue.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for two weeks & have to agree with other reviewers the view was stunning from the upstairs balcony. We spent a lot of time early morning sat in the comfy chairs watching Dalyan wake up & enjoyed a fair few sundowners up there before going out to dinner
The interior of the villa is very homely & has lots of interesting decoration. The garden is very pretty & the pool is kept in pristine condition by the very lovely chap from Kaunos villas team. Sharon & her hubby from Kaunos villas were brilliant & sorted out the problem caused by the inconsiderate previous guests within 5 minutes of being informed: if the guests who left on the 6th sept are reading this, they should be ashamed of themselves & realise that hiding rubbish in a corner of the garden rather than walking 50 metres to a bin is pretty lazy to say the least....

Back to the review
We were only two couples so only used the double bedrooms but I think if the villa was used by 8 adults the twin rooms would be a tad on the small side.
I personally did not find the upside down layout inconvenient & infact we made use of the fridge & sink in the outside garden for drinks by the pool to minimise trips up & down the stairs.... We were on holiday.

It's very close to town but far enough away to be peaceful, Dalyan itself is a great holiday destination although I am thinking that the main strip is getting a little too full of bars & restaurants that are a little loud & neon lit with karaoke being the main entertainment. We rarely walked down the strip at night, preferring the river walk. We did a fair few boat trips, mostly with Ali & Phyliss ( holiday calbis boat moored outside the melody) as we find them to be a lovely laid back family who are very good hosts.
Anyway we had a wonderful holiday & will return to Dalyan in a few months.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We were a party of 2 parents with 3 daughters and 2 boyfriends all over 20. For some of us it was the second visit to Dalyan and it didn't disappoint! From the moment we saw the fabulous villa to the moment we left, we experienced the most enjoyable and pampered week possible. It was just 2 minutes to the nearest supermarket to get fresh bread and most items we needed, but otherwise we would have been happy just to sit around the fab pool, with the occasional dip to keep cool. Fav bits: lying on the lilo in the pool, a candellit barbecue under the pergola watching the lizard, the sweet owl watching us from the chimneypot, delicious meals next to the river, the lovely people of Dalyan who so generously welcomed us to their town, the funny market stallholders on Saturday ("Buy one get me free" - "cheaper than shoplifting"), the moonlit barbecue and cruise ( if you have a large party like us it's a bit cheaper to hire your own boat), the beautiful beach and turtle sanctuary (put on plenty of sunscreen) and, of course, just admiring the amazing house and pretty gardens. Bad bits: yes, the upstairs kitchen and main access through bedrooms is not the best, but the view from upstairs (expecially from the lovely balcony) of the rock tombs and gardens more than made up for this inconvenience. I can see exactly why it was arranged like this... In answer to a previous criticism about supplies at the villa I have always brought small amounts of washing up liquid, dishwasher tablets, washing powder, bin bags, etc with me to last the week. There were supplies there already in our week which we didn't actually have to use and we left things like milk, water, beer, sauces in the fridge for the next person.
Shana was amazing at checking that we had done all the formalities before leaving England and Sharon in Dalyan looked after us really well. Transfer drivers were excellent and always on time. We all shed a tear on leaving and are already planning our next holiday to the villa. Perfect!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jumali House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jumali House

Address: Maras | Opposite rock tombs, Dalyan, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Dalyan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 60 Hotels in Dalyan
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fabulous 4 bedroom villa in sought after secluded location only 3 minutes to Dalyan centre. Set in beautiful private gardens with fruit trees perfect for picking, outdoor dining areas and barbecue. Large private pool with separate children's pool, great mountain views and views of the famous rock tombs. Four bedrooms all en-suite, 3 opening directly onto the pool. Stylish interior with cream marble floors, white walls and carefully selected Turkish antiques and rugs. Close to Dalaman airport (transfers available), ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jumali House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.