We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“holiday prison September 2012” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Yavuz Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Yavuz Hotel to your Saves list
Yavuz Hotel
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Gulpinar Mh. 344 Sk. No 4, Dalyan 48840, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 60 Dalyan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Needham
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“holiday prison September 2012”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The morning after we arrived an expierenced traveling couple demanded a new hotel. A third of the rooms (in the roof - unusual for the strict building permits in Dalyan valley) are only for short people ! We requested facilities to not live out of our suit cases and did not receive enough (2 tine side tables each with a tiny draw) The boss is more of a grumpy prison warden (Who cant B-B-Q) - with an abusive approach to strict adherence to rules .
MOST RELAXING DAYS WE SPENT BY OTHER HOTELS' FREE POOL USE SNACKING AND DRINKINGAS IT WAS A NIGHTMARE BEING WITH HIM.
Sadly most of his staff were very kind...
We moved (in the end) for the last three nights to the exceedingly hospitable DOGA and there and then booked directly for this September and only yesterday (Mar2013) booked the flights (Monarch) (TOTALLING Two folk 14nights B&B £1000 around.)

Room Tip: There is no choice - see hotel Doga on face book and book directly wit them. I guarantee the best ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    18
    6
    6
    4
See reviews for
10
36
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Was here once again mid September
Although it was great to return, there was some change, and not all for the good.
First the place has Ben updated by getting rid of the lovely wood balcony s and wood detail and replaced with what looks like stainless steel, nice and new but doesn't look quite the same
Food was as lovely and fresh as ever with regular Bbq's in the evening... Some really lovely fresh food again.
The bar area has been moved and there is more evening socialising than before.As al
As alWays Yavuz keeps his hotel spotless
Now unfortunately the one and only not so good point.
There are now rooms in the loft area,for me that is not good.
They are tiny, hot and claustrophobic. I felt like I was being shut in a box, to the point I wanted to check out !.. In fact I couldn't even go right in the room.
Yavuz managed to sort it for us to stay in one room for a few days and then managed to swop us another room for the rest of the week.
He really done his best or us, but others were not so lucky ...
As much as I love this hotel, unless I could guarantee that I would not be put in one of these shoeboxes we won't return, which is sad.
It's a right little gem of a place and yavuz is a lovely man along with his sidekick Husain

Room Tip: Ask for ground or first floor NOT LOFT ROOMS
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We stayed at the Yavuz Hotel in October and were really disappointed and left after three days to stay at the Patio Hotel. Found the hotel very very unfriendly and Mr Yavuz very unhelpful. I dont think the rules are a problem......buying water from him which we did every day.....showing before swimming which is fairly normal but found Mr Yavuz very unfriendly. We put the airconditioning on which we had paid for for 30 mins one evening as it was thirty five degrees outside and he came up and told us to switch it off and open the patio doors!!!!!! He then ignored us most of the time after that. The hotel is very clean but found all the stray dogs barking all night really annoying ....we went to the Patio Hotel for a couple of nights and found the family and staff and other guests very friendly so stayed there for the rest of the holiday and just called at the Yavuz to pick up clothes etc....Mr. Yavuz totally ignored us each time even though we spoke to him. Would never use this hotel again whatever the price.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Having read through some of the rantings on this hotel, I have to say that it sounds like it is the holiday maker that is at fault and not the hotel. The person who moaned about not taking water into the hotel, having to shower before getting into the pool, etc. These two items are common at many hotels and it is only polite to shower off excess sun cream before swimming. Think of the other people. And to say that the pool had no atmosphere as there were only 4 people by the pool. What a joke. If they wanted a rowdy hotel they should have gone to Marmaris or one of the other larger resorts.
If you want a nice laid back holiday without screaming kids all around, you cannot find better than this.
Cannot wait to get back there next year.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We were at Yavuz Hotel for 2 relaxing weeks from 7th Sept - and both loved the hotel and gardens, the incredibly friendly and hard working team and the charming manner of Mr Yavuz himself! Totally agree with the previous positive comments - we had exactly the same happy experience. Mr Yavuz runs his hotel very well and he is rightfully proud of it. Nothing is too much trouble to make your stay the best it can be. The hotel is in an excellent location only 5 mins from the beautiful riverside walk and little restaurants and 10 mins from centre of town. Rooms on ground floor spacious, spotless and great (rare) for a 2 star to have air con included. Lots of room around the pool and in gardens. it's just so peaceful and the main sound you'll hear is the crickets! Loved it and want to return! Thanks Yavuz & team for a great time.

Room Tip: Rooms on ground and first floor seem to be best size
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset,UK
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

After reading some reviews here i wondered what to expect. Having booked the Hotel only at a cost of £7pp per night i was very pleased on arrival. It was my 9th time to Dalyan and have stayed in all sorts of Hotels all of which have been nice and this was no different.
The hotel has recently been renovated,has lovely gardens and a lovely clean swimming pool with plenty of sunbeds around the pool and in the gardens.
The rooms were clean and basic and the bathroom was a wet room so no shower curtain. Air Con was fine and included in the price as was WiFi which you could receive in the rooms and around the pool.
The beds were very comfy. Breakfast was typical turkish and the coffee not nice at all to be honest but im not moaning about it.
The hotel is a fifteen minute walk from town by tracks or taking the river path but is very peaceful,often all you can hear is the water in the pool all day when sitting here.
As for the infamous Mr Yavuz, i found him fine, he states when you arrive please dont bring food and drink in from outside which we stuck to and had no hassles (i heard reports of him snatching water from someone who brought some in)....but the guy is trying to make a living and this is the norm in most hotels i have been to in Turkey....his prices were hardly over the top. He was often asleep on sofa in reception when we came home at 2am but the guy takes pride in his hotel and too many people are quick to moan. I would return for sure.....
Safety Deposit boxes can also be hired for £1 a Day

Room Tip: e mail the hotel in advance and ask for a balcony and garden view and not for a room in the attic
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caterham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

My wife and I have just returned home after a very relaxing and friendly 2 week stay at Yavus Hotel in Dalyan. We had been recommended this hotel by a friend who has stayed here over the last couple of years and were told we would enjoy the peace and lovely outdoor space of the hotel.

The hotel itself is about 10-15 minutes from the town centre, which is great. It means its nice, relaxing and quiet if you want to have time away from the hustle and bustle of Dalyan itself. It also has the advantage of being slightly cooler in the evenings too (very handy when its 40 c+!)

We expected the accomodation to be quite simple, which it was, but it was perfect for what we wanted. We had a second storey room with a lovely balcony and view over the pool and immaculate gardens, with the rocky hills as a backdrop. The rooms were of a decent size with air conditioning and very comfortable beds. The room was spotlessly clean on arrival and remained so throughout our stay.

The outside space was brilliant for us. The garden and pool area is immaculate. The owner, Mr Yavuz, clearly loves his plants and it helps to make the experience of a day by the pool a very pleasant one. The pool is fab. Very clean and a decent enough size with plenty of sun beds and shady spots to enjoy the sun.

Mr Yavuz, is a real character when you get to know him and a very decent and helpful man. Throughout our stay he couldn't do enough to please us and he made us feel very welcome. His staff too are brilliant - very friendly, always smiling and keen to help. A real credit to the hotel!

We enjoyed the food very much, and had some delicious and filling meals! The breakfast was typically Turkish - bread, tomatoes, olives, eggs, fruit, delicious honey and sometimes pancakes, omelettes, and homemade cakes which were lovely! And of course tea and coffee. We also enjoyed some excellent lunches of salads and evening meals at the hotel as well.

Previous reviews have highlighted that the hotel has too many rules and regulations. I think thats being a little unfair. Our experience and my advice to anyone would be this - we appreciated he was running a business his way. We didn't take advantage of it and there was no problem at all. As for the drinks being too expensive? To be honest, the accommodation was such good value that we were more than happy to buy water, beer, fruit juice and the odd Raki from the hotel bar everyday. It's a holiday afterall!!

We enjoyed our stay very much at this hotel and shall certainly look forward to a return visit in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool. it has a nicer view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Yavuz Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yavuz Hotel

Address: Gulpinar Mh. 344 Sk. No 4, Dalyan 48840, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Dalyan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Dalyan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Yavuz Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Yavuz Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yavuz Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.