We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sad, tired and depressing rooms.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Patio Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Patio Hotel to your Saves list
Patio Hotel
2.5 of 5 Inn   |   Gulpinar Mah, Dalyan 48840, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 57 Dalyan B&B and Inns
newcastle upon tyne
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Sad, tired and depressing rooms.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014

When we booked this hotel, and it was at a low cost budget price, our expectation was small, basic and clean rooms but everything working. Sadly not everything worked and the rooms are basic and drab. When we tried the shower it trickled out and the unit was hanging off the wall. The shower head was promptly dealt with but alas water just trickled out after being fixed to the wall. The shower area had a gaping hole where the waste water flowed. The toilet seat had been eaten by something and the bathroom area was in a general state of distress. Poor lighting made it difficult to shave etc. Before anyone makes the excuse that this is a budget hotel and that we should accept these conditions, I don't think so!

We moved out, not just because of the previous comments. Our room was near the restaurant and the noise was unbearable. I like to enjoy myself like most but the restaurant was a magnet for late night revellers, loud music, trays clashing and much more went on way beyond the normal limit of midnight.

When we challenged the owners the reason given was that they had only acquired the hotel at the beginning of the season and had insufficient time to deal with the issues. He is more than aware of the investment necessary to bring the hotel up to a decent standard, only time will tell!

Regardless of budget there is no excuse to let sub-standard rooms.

On the plus side the hotel is in an excellent location and the restaurant is first class. If the owners can provide accommodation to the same standards as the restaurant and its location they will have a winner.

I have visited Dalyan many times over a period of 20 years and whilst I understand the deal, budget and accommodation basic this was the worst hotel in all of my visits. I do hope the new owners get it right as like most guys I've met in Dalyan they seem decent and honest!

Room Tip: Avoid room 103 and as for a room far away from the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    6
    4
    5
    4
See reviews for
5
14
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

Patio hotel is in the perfect location for visiting all places in dalyan, just a five minute walk from centre. The hotel is basic but clean and great value for money. The pool area is very nice and never crowded. The staff at the hotel / restaurant really make your stay enjoyable, they are great fun and nothing is too much trouble for them. I will definitely be going back to this hotel, and would recommend it for a great budget holiday. There have been some negative comments about the hotel, but I really don't know what people expect when they pay so little. It's well worth every penny.

Stayed October 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doncaster
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

For anyone wanting a basic holiday in a great location the patio is ideal.Attached to hotel is a great restaurant where we ate many times.Admitting the hotel could do with a referb but if your a regular traveler to turkey you will know it is a poor country and there isn't always money to put into referb.I know the family who have taken over this hotel are trying so hard to make it work.They work long hours and try to please everyone.I have to say i was concerned about a review that a so called munker01 has wrote,im surprised it has been published.It was very unfair due to the fact the staff cant choose who visits the restaurant,as for fat ugly women i think this review was very prejudice and must have been written by a very small minded jealous person.The staff have a laugh will all guests,fat,thin,tall,short,male or female.So do not be put off by this ridiculous review.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2014

All must go to this restaurant as the food is great and the guys make sure the experience is great as they keep you entertained. Definitely try the chefs Anatolia casserole and puffy bread. Also ensure to try bar mans surprise cocktail called 'Turkish boy'.

The hotel rooms however is not great. The room just has a bed and wardrobe. No facilities and the swimming pool is in the back, you need to cross the road. Feels like your trespassing someone's property as it is not within the hotel location. Very inconvenient.

The rooms are not cheap either. Better of trying to get a room at BC Spa and coming to eat here.

Room Tip: Not worth stay at the hotel it is a budget hotel and more like B&B
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bacup, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2014

Sad, this title sums up this hotel. It is situated in a very good location, and the pool is quite well placed although a few more sunbeds are needed. However the rooms are extremely small and the toilet facilities are lacking in every respect. Showers not fixed so you are balancing shower head whilst trying to apply cleanser, no curtain, consequently toilet is a slippery paddling pool for quite some time. Don't know if it was same for others but our toilet was not fixed to floor correctly and moved whilst in use. The Turkish breakfast on offer was not very inviting, other Hotels served much better ( from the accounts of other travellers). Many people liked the food on offer in the restaurant but we only ate there the first night when we were presented with a burnt Pizza and one lunchtime when reheated chips were served up. I personally found the staff to be a dreary bunch only interested in enticing people to dine, the exception was Hilman who was very helpful. One consolation was the lady who cleaned the rooms always pleasant and rooms were spotless, this despite the fact that she was expected to do all the laundry and act as Gardener and General dogsbody. I don't expect Five star when I don't pay Five star tariff but it would cost so little in money and effort to upgrade this Hotel, that's what I find sad. One final thing it will cost you £6 per day for aircon and safe

Room Tip: No wifi in rooms away from reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, UK
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014

We are used to basic hotels but was slightly shocked when first walked into our room. I thought we'd booked a double but it was actually a twin & way beds/wardrobe positioned hardly any room inbetween. Once we moved beds around/together much more room & was fine. As others have said bathroom small/basic & shower practically above toilet but not a problem to us. It was a clean hotel, friendly staff (mostly encouraging you to have food/drinks in restaurant but no worries if you said no/walked on) & great location - excellent value for money. Food in restuarant was good & Dalyan is lovely.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2014

dalyan itself is a wonderful location, and to be fair we booked cheap. but this hotel was a shock, it is more a restaurant with a few rooms. the manager gives priority to the restaurant guests, and if you are half board you are treated as second class citizens. however, a couple of the waiters were sweet and helpful, but we didnt find the manager to be so.
the food was very good. nice bread, starters and mains all cooked in fire oven.
the room was about 7ft sq so you can only get out of the double bed on one side, the shower is pretty much over the loo.
if you want cheap, its ok. its a good base.

Room Tip: you wont get a choice, but obviously the further from the restaurant the better, as they use a door...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Patio Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Patio Hotel

Address: Gulpinar Mah, Dalyan 48840, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Dalyan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Dalyan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Patio Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Patio Hotel is a small hotel with a bar and restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Patio Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Patio Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.