We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place with and for great people !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dervishan Pension

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dalyan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dervishan Pension
Gulpinar Mah. 141 Sok, Dalyan 48840, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 58 Dalyan B&B and Inns
Paris, Ile-de-France, France
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A great place with and for great people !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

The hosts of Dervishan, Hani and Stavros, are the nicest people you can imagine. Not only do they provide a heartfelt welcome and are always available for help and advise, but also run a beautiful place. It is a real paradise, calm, very well situated outside of Dalyan, with a soothing view on the riverside. You can hang out there under the shadowy trees all day and cool of in the river, or go to town, to the beach, Kaunos and all the other nearby places to visit. In the evenings, no loud crowds to disturb the chatting over Hani's most delicious traditional food - better than any restaurant in Dalyan or every else in Turkey. It feels like home, and when you leave, you'll already think of coming back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    50
    5
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
22
32
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Unlike many patrons who came to this fine establishment through TA, we made contact with Hani from Dervishan Pension after our friends had stayed there during the previous month. My friend said, "Hani and Stavros are not just great hosts - they are also the nicest people you will ever meet." She also mentioned that I wouldn't be disappointed to find it was possible to dive into the river from their backyard.

Never has my friend been so guilty of making an understatement.

Needless to say, Dervishan Pension turned out to be a 'place away from home' that I will never forget. We were fortunate enough to share the experience with a lovely bunch of fellow travellers, some of whom had extensively travelled and agreed that Dalyan was worth returning to time and time again. The rooms were clean and tidy and - thankfully - devoid of any television which made a wonderful departure from the many hotel rooms we had been staying in until that point.

We were initially concerned about the distance from town, although our doubts were quickly cast aside after tasting Hani's cooking, which is undoubtedly the best Turkish fare I tasted while we were there. Both Stavros and Hani are outstanding hosts who consistently travelled the extra mile to assist us. I would thoroughly recommend the boat trip Hani and Stavros can organise for you with Mohammed. While a little more expensive than other options available in town, there is nothing quite like the experience of having your own boat for a day and charting your own course.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

we were welcomed by Stavros and Hani,( for 3 nights) with a drink after a long day of travel, we were oriented to their beautiful pension, on the river. we dined that eve on a delicious meal, at a long welcoming table of fellow travelers- it was like a family affair! one morn, we paddled their kayaks across the river and down a quiet tributary to the natural hot spring;, bathed in warm mud and wadded in the healing hot springs water, kayaked back past beautiful birds flitting about, then walked to town along an easy 15 min path, which started on a road through an orchard of pomengrate! we were offered instructions on how to see Dalyan and navigate to Iztutu beach and the turtle hospital, we saw turtles in the river at Dalyan, because a tour guide - looking for nothing more than to make our day, alerted us to a pair of turtles raising there hopeful mouths at a local restaurant on the water . we dined our final night on bbq fish by Stavros, umm!!!ed with Hani's delights- and laughed again with our traveling companies and lovely hosts! you felt a real meaningful connect with everyone and this jewel of a place was difficult to leave

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoetermeer
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

After last year’s visit, and after Hani splashed water on our tracks as we left in the Turkish custom to make us return. We actually did came back this year for a fortnight , sept/oct 2012. We got a very warm welcome by the hosts Hani& Stavros, and also the feeling: it felt like home away from home. Among others for us the reason to go back. Sometimes when you go to a place for the second time it is often a disappointment. But in this case it was even better than last year. The hospitality, cooking and atmosphere was again superb. Tribute to Hani & Stavros! What can we say more. Everything is already said. So check it out and visit Dervishan yourself and find out that we and all the other reviewers are right!
Babs & Erik - Zoetermeer

Room Tip: The corner rooms have a bigger balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Everything that you read in the other reviews is true: Hani and Stavros make this a wonderful place to stay and there's a real home-form-home vibe. Hani cooks the most amazing Turkish food every night (except when Stavros is on the BBQ - and you get the freshest tastiest fish). All the guests eat together - you could eat separately if you wanted, but the Dervishan seems only to attract lovely people, so why would you?

We booked half board intending to occasionally eat out for dinner, but after day two, we decided that it would be madness to miss out on the excellent food - and on our last day Hani cooked all our favourites from the previous nine days!)

It is a little distance from Town - a pleasant walk along the river bank for the most part - this was good for us because it made us feel secluded and special. The rooms are basic, but are clean and comfortable, and have everything you need - including a lovely view of the gardens from the balcony. Hani and Stavros are more than happy to arrange trips for you, so if you want a private boat trip just ask and they will help. Turtle beach is a short bus or boat trip away, there's the lake and mudbaths, which you can use Dervishan's well worn canoes to paddle to. If you don't want to move, just lie back have a drink, or sunbathe by the river, or jump in to cool off - the river is very clear.

We were here on honeymoon and had the best time - we will definitely be going back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

It's little paradise just outside the village of Dalyan, 10 min. walk by the river, 30 min. by boat from the see and 30 seconds from the river with clean sweet cooling swim water. Lots of shade against the burning sun. A very charming couple, Hani and Stavros with good advise, care and conversations (if you want).
Everyday fresh meals cooked with love, you can taste it!!!
Great coffee, the real thing.
It's a great place to make day trips or you just stay in the garden and do whatever you like to relax. We had a wonderful time and certainly will come back one day.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

The warmth of the welcome was genuine and the beauty of the surroundings breathtaking as Stavros took us to see the full moon sitting over the hill across the river on the evening we arrived. Our first experience at the Dervishan was idyllic. This was to be a wonderful start to a memorable holiday based at the Dervishan.

The room was basic but clean and cool which was all that we required. The french doors leading out into a riot of colour and sound in the beautiful gardens leading down to the river.Swimming in the river was a refreshing. Eating breakfast by the river was a perfect start to the day. The food was fresh and delicately prepared.

Hani and Stavros were the perfect hosts; kind, helpful and generous, Their cooking and hospitality made you feel part of a family. We felt more like friends than guests and enjoyed sharing meals with them and other guests. The atmosphere was completely relaxed and friendly.

Top tip. Take Stavros up on the offer of a small rowing boat and make your way across the river to the natural sulphur pools or row up the river, alongside the reeds until you reach the lake. Watch the birds, the fish and the turtles; soak up the peace and charm at your own pace.

We loved it!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dervishan Pension? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dervishan Pension

Address: Gulpinar Mah. 141 Sok, Dalyan 48840, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Dalyan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Dalyan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 double-rooms, 5 three-bed rooms all with WC/DU and AC. Nice garden, directly by the river. Swimming in the river is possible. 2 km away from town-centre. Very quiet, opp. mud and hot bath. Own boat for trips available. 2 canoes free of charge for customers. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dervishan Pension, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Dervishan Pension to your Saves list