We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Picturesque, welcoming, interesting history...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eris Pansiyon

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Assos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Eris Pansiyon
Behramkale Koyu , #6, Kadirga Cikisi, Assos 17864, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 24 Assos B&B and Inns
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Picturesque, welcoming, interesting history...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2011

Proprietor Emily Vickers, out for a walk, rescued us after the dolmus from Ayvacik dropped us at the bus shelter in Assos and the only living things around were some wild turkeys, chickens, and some very traditional-looking Turkish men having a conversation. We had no idea which direction to head and she offered to guide us to her place to get our bearings. We ended up staying there and it was the best stay of our two week European vacation -- for these reasons: centuries old but modern, squeaky clean, gorgeous setting/view, cattle and sheep grazing just outside our window, 6th century ruins a five minute walk away, excellent restaurants nearby, off the beaten path with very few tourists. Emily is a great interpreter of Turkish culture and as other reviewers have noted, serves a great breakfast and afternoon tea. Highly recommend, especially if you're looking for something "different".

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
14
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Souzas, SP, Brazil
Top Contributor
247 reviews 247 reviews
158 hotel reviews
Reviews in 160 cities Reviews in 160 cities
578 helpful votes 578 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2011

As someone pointed out, Eris Pansiyon is actually in Behramkale above Assos. Behramkale is the Turkish name for the village but Assos, the Greek name, has stuck for the harbour area. Trip Advisor would be doing Emily Vickers, our gracious hostess, a favor by including Eris Pansiyon in the Assos listings.

We were Emily's first guests of the season, in mid April, and had the place to ourselves. It was cold and windy so we spent little time on the terrace but enjoyed the view when we did.

After more than two weeks traveling around Turkey, it was delightful to spend two nights in a quiet, refined place. We`were the only people in the well preserved ruins and even the harbor side restaurants had few customers. One evening in Behramkale, we dined at a restaurant close by the pansiyon called Assos Köyüm where we were attended by the owner serving excellent fare prepared by his mother. Very folksy.

Assos, small & relatively unspoiled by real estate development, makes a good place to spend time along the northern Aegean coast. We highly recommend Eris. Free Wi Fi is available in the breakfast room off Emily's kitchen.

Room Tip: Emily will clue you in
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2011

We felt instantly welcome at Eris Pansiyon -of course the afternoon tea helps! This tiny village is located at site of ancient Assos and makes a good place to stopover between the Gallipoli peninsular and Selcuk (Ephesus). From Eris Pansyion you can easily walk to the temple of Athena and the hillside amphitheatre. The seaside village is a slightly scary drive down the hill to the harbour below, and personally I preferred the village on the hill to the very touristy village on the sea below. Wtihin walking distance of the pansyion are a good choice of restaurants and a small selection of touristy shops. The views from some of the restaurants over the Agean are really lovely.

We were given a choice of rooms: those with views are not as modern as those without. Our room was comfortable but not new. The view across the valley however was lovely. Breakfast was generous and the leftovers were kindly packed up for us to take on our onward journey. As an avid holiday reader, I really appreciated the owners offer to exchange books. She has a great collection.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2010

Great location with a beautiful view. The atmosphere was amazing - from one side you could see the Temple of Athena (and walk there in 10 mins), from the other side you saw a breathtaking view of the Meditterannean and the surrounding valley. Breakfast and afternoon tea/cake is served on a beautiful patio. Rooms are clean but lacked air conditioning.... Not a problem for the cooler months but a big problem in August. A little pricey.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2010

We picked the Eris Pansiyon out of the Rough Guide to Turkey, which is such a consistent guide for good accommodation and eating. Eris Pansiyon turned out to be a great place to stay for 2 nights in Assos. The address in Ayvacik is quite misleading, the pansiyon is in Assos on the landward side of the hill. We'd come from Istanbul on our drive stretch of driving in Turkey and we were greeted with homemade cake and tea and the owner Emily settling us in. We quickly realised that we could have stayed longer in Assos at the Eris. The views from the terrace are spectacular. Breakfast on the terrace was wonderful. On the next day, it was a little too cold so Emily invited us into her house for breakfast which was a great Turkish breakfast with as much variety as we had anywhere in Turkey. The pansiyon is close to the acropolis and the wide eye opening views around and across to Lesbos. Assos is a good base for many sights and drives. Thank you Emily, Martyn & Taylor, Sydney, Australia

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2010

My husband and I stayed in Eris Pansiyon for a night in June 2010, and we found it very hard to leave the next day. We were really glad that we had decided to stay in the mountain village of Behramkale, rather than down in Assos harbour , which felt more touristy and commercial. Behramkale is very peaceful and picturesque, and we enjoyed strolling round, sitting in a local restaurant and watching village life. We also spent a few hours just reading on the terrace at Eris Pansiyon, and chatting with Emily, who was the perfect host. One of the best moments of our holiday inTurkey was returning from a hot walk around the temple to Emily's afternoon tea and homemade cake on the terrace, with its amazing views and fresh breeze. The breakfast was fantastic too - a feast of fresh bread, jam, honey, fruit and eggs. We felt very much at home, and our only regret was not being able to stay for longer. This Pansiyon is a great base for exploring Behramkale, Assos, Troy, Ayvacik, Ayvalik, Bergama and there are also some beaches in the area.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london england
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2009

Assos is quite beautiful, and undoubtedly suffers because people go to Troy and pass it by, and if they do visit tend to stay down by the harbour. Eris is up on the hill right next to the ruins. So we were really torn between enjoying Emily's lovely tea and home-made cake on her terrace with gorgeous views over the hills - a lovely respite after a hard day's touring - or sitting in the deserted temple watching a superb sunset over the Aegean. Choices, choices.

This is a charming old house, and our room was a lovely, simple, white-washed affair. Spotlessly clean and simply but nicely done out, with lots of hot water. We got a room for ourselves and our two kids, which was just right for the night, as quiet as youi can imagine, and with the chance for Emily's breakfast - all fresh fruit and home-made jam - on the terrace. Emily was a lovely hostess - we ended up having an excellent dinner together, and hearing about Turkey. Our only regret was that we didn't spend longer here. The bill was very little and the value outstanding.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Eris Pansiyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eris Pansiyon

Address: Behramkale Koyu , #6, Kadirga Cikisi, Assos 17864, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Canakkale Province > Assos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Assos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eris Pansiyon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Eris Pansiyon to your Saves list