We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Garden Room overlooking the scorched earth” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel las Leyendas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel las Leyendas to your Saves list
Hotel las Leyendas
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Francisco Gallego n0 3, 05002 Avila, Spain   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in Avila
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Melbourne
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“The Garden Room overlooking the scorched earth”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Not a bad hotel - just not as good as the hype. The loacation is excellent - particularly since you can acces it directly from the promenade at the base of the wall.

The room was large and clean but a bit gloomy. The bathroom was fine, but the plumbing required a PhD to sort it out.

We had one of the 'Garden' rooms, but the garden was a patch of bare earth between the rock walls and the path. Umm - maybe a work in progress.

Front desk was friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    93
    27
    11
    3
See reviews for
36
149
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We stayed there 1 night in october 2012. Booked it via booking.com. The checkin was smooth and everything were ready when we arrived. Friendly english speaking staff. Beatiful restored,
Just outside the city walls.
Extremly good value for money. We would stay here again.
We did not try the resturant but the bar is very cousy.

Room Tip: Parking can be hard, so unload and park 300 meters down the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Last year I came with my Mom to this Hotel in the month of April,the weather was better than this time since now is hotter but this trip I came in with my parents for their 50 aniversario we have spent a wonderful time, plaza de Sta. Teresa pretty close by,visiting restaurants, going to La Santa Church everyday

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011

Lovely place it's an old house refurbished with great style,nice people,incredible food and modern.highly recommendable

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

If we had not had a front room we would have had to complain as the open view was almost the only plus point. The bathroom was very good and well appointed but the bedroom itself was very basic which was not redeemed by the rough cast stone walls, which look so good in the photos. The room safe didn't want to be programmed with a new code, but when we realised that it was not connected to anything we decided it was useless and put everything in my moneybelt.
The pre-booked breakfast was not very good, but when we tried to cancel it for the second morning this was refused because it had been pre-booked. If it had not been pre-booked it would have been very poor value as the price goes up. Oh, and there were no fresh rolls or croissants on a Monday morning. There were no public sitting areas and no other facilities other than an associated restaurant on the top floor with a door to the outside promenade along the city wall where there were tables and a bar service. Though beautifully positioned this cafe/bar area always looked dirty and uninspiring.
The price was not good value compared with the wonderful hotel that we had just come from in Segovia.
Avila was also disappointing. If you want to visit do it in a day from Madrid. Segovia and Salamanca are both much more attractive and exciting.

Room Tip: A room on the front is the only possibility but there may be some traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballina, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

This hotel has its own restaurant above the hotel under the town walls. Every night they drag the chairs and tables in and chain them up. It lasts a long time and is extremely noisy. Also, our room was nothing like the fotos, hidden down the back with no 'exposed beams and rock walls' so be prepared so something not like the fotos. I guess 1/2 the rooms were like this.
Place was clean and service friendly.

Room Tip: Try get one facing street. They are more classic, have street noise but maybe no restaurant noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hobart
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

Hotel is in a good location right on the city walls. We had a small, quiet room looking onto the courtyard. Staff were friendly and helpful. Snacks in bar at lunch and dinner in restaurant were good on the first night.. Unfortunately there was a fire in the kitchen chimney that evening so we did not get to eat there again! Had to evaccuate the hotel so got to watch the emergency services in action! Never any great danger and the fire was soon out. Not impressed with breakfast the next morning as a large group of French tourists had got there first and there was not much choice left. We had to ask for hot water for tea and the tables were not cleared. Maybe the staff were disrupted by the fire. The choice was a bit better the next day as the tourists had left. Good price for it's location

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Avila hotels
0.2 mi away
Palacio de los Velada
2.5 mi away
Hotel II Castillas
Hotel II Castillas
#1 of 32 in Avila
4.0 of 5 stars 179 reviews
0.3 mi away
Parador de Avila
Parador de Avila
#7 of 32 in Avila
4.0 of 5 stars 358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Puerta de la Santa
0.1 mi away
Hotel Las Moradas
Hotel Las Moradas
#8 of 32 in Avila
4.0 of 5 stars 119 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gran Hotel Palacio de Valderrabanos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel las Leyendas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel las Leyendas

Address: Francisco Gallego n0 3, 05002 Avila, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Avila > Avila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Avila
#2 Romantic Hotel in Avila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel las Leyendas 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Las Leyendas is a restored historic house which was built in the 16th century. The rooms are comfortable and contemporary, yet still retain much of the original charm of the building with exposed stone walls and beams and have views of the city Wall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel las Leyendas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Leyendas Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel las Leyendas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.