We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good room for the price!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Reina Isabel

Hotel Reina Isabel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Reina Isabel to your Saves list
Hotel Reina Isabel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo de la Estacion 17 | Avda Jose Antonio 17, 05001 Avila, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 32 Hotels in Avila
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Very good room for the price!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

This hotel is about a mile outside the Avila city walls, but that is not really a problem at all—it only takes 15 minutes to walk to the old city. The hotel décor is fairly dated, but in a charming sort-of way. Our room was spacious, as was our bathroom. The main downside was that the staff do not speak much English, so communication was sometimes difficult if your Spanish is as bad as ours, but any queries were handled in a friendly way, sometimes involving writing phrases down, or three members of staff trying to help! Also, internet access was a problem, but the hotel manager (who spoke good English and was very patient) came to our room and helped to sort it out. And note that if you book a room that comes with a free bottle of cava, as we did, you must ask at the front desk for it on arrival. We forgot about it until we were checking out and were not offered to take the cava with us or anything, and the front desk clerk indicated that there was nothing she could do which made our departure a little flat after an otherwise pleasant stay. Locals appear to enjoy eating outside at the hotel restaurant in the evening, which is a good sign, but they all smoke which could be off putting if you don’t and your room window is open. Note that parking is also about €12/day and the parking garage is not in an obvious location—it’s just to the right of the hotel through a narrow entrance. Parking spaces are also narrow.

Avila made an excellent base for exploring nearby Salamanca and Segovia but Avila itself was well worth the visit and we returned every evening for meals either at the Plaza Mayor or the more modern Plaza St Teresa and enjoyed a late night walk back to the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    25
    14
    2
    4
See reviews for
14
31
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We had a horrendous journey to Spain. After a four hour delay, no sleep and an hour's wait for our car, this hotel was easy to find and a pleasure to stay in. At 50E it was a steal! It is about a 10 minute stroll into the old town. Easy parking, helpful staff and a very comfortable , quiet room. We loved Avila. We only stayed one night which is probably long enough to see the town. We walked along the wall as the sun went down. The view was fantastic and we have never seen so many swallows. We had a lovely meal in the main square. Not the one with the church. There was a jazz group playing in another square. Great start to our holiday!

Room Tip: We always ask for a quiet room. Despite the fact that we were above the main road, there was no nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

Just stayed at the Reina Isabel for a few days great location for buses and trains, also only about 15 minute walk to the Old Town. We found the Hotel very clean and staff very helpful, would definetly stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puente Genil, Spain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

Set in the centre of Ávila, this hotel is really well situated, and offers quality accommodation at
really affordable prices. We paid, in early September, just €50 a night for a large double room.
The bed was enormous, comfy, and very clean.
Ávila is a beautiful walled city, with a complete wall.

The hotel offers a really good breakfast and secure parking.
Definitely on our list for a return visit!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Reina Isabel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Reina Isabel

Address: Paseo de la Estacion 17 | Avda Jose Antonio 17, 05001 Avila, Spain
Location: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Avila > Avila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 32 Hotels in Avila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Reina Isabel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Despegar.com, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Reina Isabel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Reina Isabel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.