We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT value, GREAT location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Rastro Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added El Rastro Hotel to your Saves list
El Rastro Hotel
C/ Cepedas s/n, Avila, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 18 Avila B&B and Inns
las vegas, nv, USA
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“GREAT value, GREAT location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2010

Stayed for only one night and it was just perfect. Right inside the walled city, with excellent signs to their location if you are driving in as we did. Speaking of which, if you park in the public parking underground lot across the st., just outside the wall, know that you NEED TO BRING YOUR TICKET WITH YOU. You will need to show it to the camera to get back into the lot. The hotel and rooms are very charming. Not the thickest walls nor the most comfortable beds of our trip, but we would definately recommend nonetheless. Spotty WIFI, lobby only. We went to their bar (across the st) and it was fine. Restarant was closed the night we were there.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    31
    15
    3
    1
See reviews for
10
38
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2009

Excellent place with spacious, comfortable and very clean room, good customer service (not so good English, but absolutely good enough!), central but peaceful location, etc... Have a look: http://www.elrastroavila.com/index.asp . I can warmly recommend the place!

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2009

Lovely location and easy sign-posting as one enters the city, which is not true of most other hotels. Excellent value for money and a cracking restaurant across the road with a lovely waitress named Mari-Luce.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottm England
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2009

i stayed here for a single night while travelling around this section of spain in december.

Avila is a tiny little place, ideal for an overnight stay, the walls around the old part of the time look like they are straight out of a film set.

The hotel itself was excellent. nicest room i stayed in on my trip,
done in a rustic style similiar to one i stayed in , in toledo but i think cheaper and looked like everything had been newly refurbished.
Mine was a single room with a cracking bathroom, immaculate, very impressed

  • Liked — the room, location
  • Disliked — breakfast, a bit dull
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2006

Located amoungst the historic buildings, of which it is one, the Hotel was perfectly located. The room was very modern, spacious and clean. The girls on reception were very friendly, flexible and efficient. The only negative, as with most building in similar wounderful locations, was the parking and although they recommended parking 100 metres away outside the walls we were able to park opposite, 20 meters away! The price was good too.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
America
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2006

I was terribly disappointed with this hotel - actually I was downright mad! I researched on line to find a hotel that had wireless internet access. I passed by one cheaper hotel without internet and one more expensive with internet that were one block from the train station and rolled my bag the INTERMINABLE distance( when you are toting all your bags) to the El Rastro for the promise of a good price and internet. The first disappointment was the fact you could only use the service in the lobby. Well, there was indeed a wireless connection - in the sense you could connect, but it was so unbelievably slow I couldn't even get my mail without the server timing out. Uploading pictures and stories was impossible. They claimed it was from the rain though I tried again the following bright sunny day with the same result. I tried complaining, very nicely, to the night clerk. The lady shrugged her shoulders and said it wasn't her problem. I asked for a discount. She offered to take off 5 euro. I explained that wasn't even enough to take a cab back to the train station. She handed me a list of hotels and told me I could go find someplace else - yeah at 11 o'clock at night in the rain. I tried complaining the next day - same response. The basic attitude was "we could care less that you have a problem that is our fault, pay us your money and go away." (Actually, I found this to be the attitude in much of the town.) The room was the size of a decent walk in closet, albeit with new fixtures and a decent bathroom. The breakfast was a joke - stale pastries in plastic bags and cold coffee. None of which mattered, the best amenities in the world couldn't make up for the I-don't-give-a-damn attitude of the staff. The only thing they did nice was keep my bag until the afternoon when I got a train and got the heck out of Avila.

  • Stayed June 2006, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to El Rastro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Rastro Hotel

Address: C/ Cepedas s/n, Avila, Spain
Location: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Avila > Avila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Avila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your El Rastro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Rastro Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.