We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My experience in the Cuatro Postes hotel.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cuatro Postes Hotel

Save Saved
You added Cuatro Postes Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cuatro Postes Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda Salamanca 23, 05002 Avila, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 30 hotels in Avila
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“My experience in the Cuatro Postes hotel.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

The hotel was almost full of young chess players because the Spanish chess team championships under 14 and 16 years old were held in Avila.
Therefore none of the participants had to pay for the hotel and we all had a full board. Some of them were lucky and got into the "good rooms". My team and I got the standard rooms, we had to share a twin room between three so I had to sleep in an extra bed (which was not that comfortable as the other two).
Something I really liked about the hotel was the staff, the waiters were extremely nice and very friendly and one of the receptionists was very attentive.
On the day of our arrival it was very warm so we quickly went to the reception and asked where the swimming pool was, so when we heard there wasn't one we where very shocked.
I liked the terraces because there was a fantastic view of the city's wall.
The hotel was not that far away from the entrance of the wall, maybe a 10 minute walk.

Room Tip: Do not go to the standard rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    38
    36
    17
    21
See reviews for
25
57
Solo
0
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

It is a good hotel, the rooms are fine and also the food. But it is far from the historical centre

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011

We stayed for two nights because of parking issues. They did offer free parking in front of the hotel. I have to agree with others that the front desk isn't the friendliest bunch of folks, but they did give us a good rate. Breakfast seemed overpriced and not much to look at when I peaked in on it. We didn't mind the walk into town, but I could see where that may bother some people. You have to get a room on the top floors facing the walls to make it feel worthwhile. We also noticed a sewage type smell eminating from the bathroom whenever it was "cleaned." They room itself appeared clean and a decent size. Elevators and airconditioning were nice. There is a bar next door if you don't want to use the hotel facilities.

Room Tip: Towards the top facing the walls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beervelde
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2009

all members working in the hotel are very unfriendly for not spanisch speaking people

old and dusty rooms

breakfast is very poor with a minimum of service

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portugal
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2009

The rooms were cold (7ºC outside), the central heating was off and in a triple room only 2 blankests were in the closet... the hotel is outside city facing an ugly field...

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2007

The hotel is quite far from town. It will take a good 30 minutes to reach the main centre of the old town and a steep climb it is. There is no bus service from the hotel. Only other option is go by car (try to find parking in Avila is a challenge) or take a taxi. The rooms are pretty rack standard. The buffet breakfast is quite poor for the standard of hotel it claims to be. During our stay a fire broke out one evening on the second floor (we stayed at the fourth). No alarms were sound but we smelled smoke. The emergency exist was not very well marked and one stairwell was blocked off completely due to renovations. The frontdesk played it all down but the fire brigade came and checked the building. After the all clear was given we returned to a room full of smoke. We did get another room on the sixt floor that was smoke free but we did not sleep well after this event. Staff speak very little English if at all. Parking is free in front of the hotel or about 8 Euros in the garage. I would recommend to stay in the old town if you want to visit Avila but stay away from Los Quatro Postes.

  • Liked — Nothing really.
  • Disliked — Poor breakfast. Staff speak little English. Very casual demeanure.
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2006

We stayed at this hotel for one night. Our traveling companions had booked the rooms over the phone, and were told that the rate would be 60 Euros. When we got there, the receptionist told us that the rate was actually 75 Euros, and also that we were "late" and should have been there before 8 pm, and our reservation was cancelled. After some discussion, they did lower the rate, and there were rooms available. The desk staff were rather unpleasant.

The rooms were pretty standard for European hotels -- small, but very clean. The bathrooms were quite nice. If you want a double bed, you have to ask for a "cama matrimonial," otherwise you will get two single beds.

The breakfast buffet (included in the room rate) was excellent. Lots of choices. The fresh-squeezed orange juice was great.

The location is good - a five minute drive to the walls of Avila. Some of the rooms have views of the city but you have to ask specifically.

In general, I do think this hotel is a good choice, but make sure you have a written confirmation of the rate and any special requests.

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cuatro Postes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cuatro Postes Hotel

Address: Avda Salamanca 23, 05002 Avila, Spain
Location: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Avila > Avila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Avila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cuatro Postes Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Cuatro Postes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cuatro Postes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cuatro Postes Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.