We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean & Quiet in the Heart of Avila” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hospederia La Sinagoga

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hospederia La Sinagoga to your Saves list
Hospederia La Sinagoga
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Reyes Catolicos, 22, 05001 Avila, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 32 Hotels in Avila
Spain
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Clean & Quiet in the Heart of Avila”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2010

this is one of the best value-for-money hotels I´ve found yet in Spain. The hotel is in the very heart of Avila´s historic walled city, steps away from all the attractions. It is clean and quiet, we slept very well. Staff is helpful and friendly.
Wifi was nearby at the Forteleza Café.
We arrived on the train, so parking was not an issue.
I was especially glad to find the "synagogue" aspect was not over-played or commodified.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    7
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
1
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kiwi in London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2008

This hotel is charming and well located. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Staff are friendly. We didn't try the breakfast as there are plenty of places nearby. It was excellent value for money. I would stay here again.

Stayed September 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
220 helpful votes 220 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2008

This is a converted synagogue with each room named after someone Jewish. It is has great character where the owners have blended the old with the new. It felt newly refurbished when we arrived. The rooms were clean, spacious and the facilities top class. We found the quality of hotels varied greatly in Spain for the same price and this hotel was well worth the money.

There were young families and seniors here and the staff catered for all. We cycled to Avila and they let us keep our bikes in the main lounge area of the hotel.

It is very central , round the corner form the main square in the walled part of Avila. Plenty eating places and nightlife nearby but not close enough to disturb you.

Recommended

  • Stayed April 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts, UK
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2007

Although only 2*, it is an excellent value hotel in a great location not far from the Cathedral. Room was an adequate size with good bathroom; clean and modern fittings, in presumably older, historic building. No meals in hotel but plenty of cafes and restaurants nearby.

  • Liked — Peace and quiet, location
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
172 helpful votes 172 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2003

This is a modern conversion of a synagogue - tasteful and sophisticated. The staff are professional and friendly. The rooms are all named after Jewish (scholars?) Uniformly decorated which could make it impersonal but doesn't. No view from our window but there's plenty of good sights in Avila to make up for this. Would like to recommend a new restaurant a few doors down, the Reyes Catolicos Restaurant. The best food we have ever had in Spain.

Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hospederia La Sinagoga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hospederia La Sinagoga

Address: Reyes Catolicos, 22, 05001 Avila, Spain
Location: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Avila > Avila
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 32 Hotels in Avila
Hotel Class:2 star — Hospederia La Sinagoga 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Despegar.com so you can book your Hospederia La Sinagoga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hospederia La Sinagoga Avila

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hospederia La Sinagoga, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.