We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Full of character” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hosteria Las Cancelas

Save Saved
You added Hosteria Las Cancelas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hosteria Las Cancelas
C/ Cruz Vieja, 6, 05001 Avila, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 30 hotels in Avila
Sturminster Newton
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Full of character”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Old-fashioned style Spanish hotel in the old city, within the ancient walls, up a cobbled alley close to the Cathedral. Some facilities a bit on the primitive side, but overall comfortable, convenient and full of character. Good value. Staff helpful, but only one with much English. Reasonable breakfast, delightful walled garden bar. Dinner well-recommended but pricey!

Room Tip: Air-conditioning noisy in very hot weather.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    12
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
10
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Olmsted Falls, Ohio
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
238 helpful votes 238 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2009

Las Cancelas is a very good choice for anyone who is looking for a reasonably priced hotel in the very heart of historic Avila. We spent 2 nights here in autumn of 2008. The hotel is in an old building on a narrow street. It's just a short walk in one direction to the cathedral. An even shorter walk in the other direction will take you to one of the entrances which give you access to the medieval walls. The staff was very friendly and helpful, especially the charming lady at the front desk in the mornings. We chatted a couple times in Spanish.
Our room was not luxurious, but it was spacious, quiet, spotlessly clean and comfortable. The furniture was dark, antique style. The atmosphere of the room was perhaps a bit spartan, but it seemed appropriate in this fortress city of churches and convents.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2007

I would warmly endorse the views of the two previous reviewers. I thoroughly enjoyed my one night stay at the Hosteria Las Cancelas in May and wished that I could have stayed longer, as there is so much of interest to see in Avila. The location, literally in the shadow of the mighty Catedral and the imposing walls, still miraculously inrtact, could hardly be better. I paid 52 Euros for a single room, inclusive of all taxes and breakfast, which I was happy to pay, even though I'm sure there are cheaper options in the city centre. I was very pleased with my room - spacious and well-furnished with attractive lighting - and the bathroom was equally spacious and well-equipped (with both bath and bidet and ample supplies of hot water). I slept very well indeed and there was no noise from the traffic-free street below (the hotel is situated with the pedestrian-only zone of Avila). I found the staff pleasant and helpful; there was an inexplicable mix-up with my bill, which was promptly and efficiently corrected when I pointed out the error - and they were profusely apologetic, so I don't think that the were trying to rip me off!. The breakfast was unexceptional, rather surprisingly for a hotel which appears to have built up a reputation for fine dining. I thought that the menu for lunch/dinner, though mouthwatering, was a touch over-priced, so opted to eat elsewhere. The main dining area is splendid, with lots of wonderful period touches dating back to the 15th century. All in all, I felt that I had made a good choice and I would certainly return to Las Cancelas and recommend it wamly

  • Liked — Location, character of building
  • Disliked — Rather unexciting breakfast
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, UK
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2007

We stayed in this hotel in May 06 at the start of a cycling holiday. It was a lovely hotel in a very old building. The walls were fabulously thick and windows were high and narrow...it was a real piece of history. Having said that, all the facilities were spotlessly clean. The bathroom was fine, the beds were comfy. Avila's a great little town and the location of this hotel was excellent. The other thing was that the hotel easily found secure bike parking which was much appreciated.

  • Liked — The sense of history
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coimbra, Portugal
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
144 hotel reviews
Reviews in 123 cities Reviews in 123 cities
586 helpful votes 586 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2007

We have stayed in Las Cancelas for one night. It is in the historic centre of Avila, a few steps from the Cathedral and the main shopping streets.
We have booked a triple room witch was very spacious, clean and comfortable! The bathroom was also very clean and had a hairdryer.
The staff was kind and helpful.
This is a charming place to stay in Avila. Only 9 rooms with a fantastic restaurant! We had one dinner in the Hotel. The food was delicious (good choice and excellent food quality) and the service very efficient.
They have some spaces to park the car near the hotel.
The breakfast was included but it was a little bit basic (coffee, milk, bread, butter, jam and natural yoghurt if you ask for).
Avila is a lovely town and worth a visit! We would like to stay one more night!!!

  • Liked — The location,the staff and the restaurant
  • Disliked — the breakfast
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hosteria Las Cancelas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hosteria Las Cancelas

Address: C/ Cruz Vieja, 6, 05001 Avila, Spain
Location: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Avila > Avila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 30 hotels in Avila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, HotelsClick, Booking.com, Travelocity and Otel so you can book your Hosteria Las Cancelas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hosteria Las Cancelas Avila

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hosteria Las Cancelas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.