We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect to see Avila and perfect value to money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Puerta de la Santa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Puerta de la Santa to your Saves list
Hotel Puerta de la Santa
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Empedrada, 1, 05002 Avila, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 32 Hotels in Avila
Certificate of Excellence 2014
St. Petersburg, Russia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Perfect to see Avila and perfect value to money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We have chosen this hotel via tripadvisor rating and we completely satisfied. Hotel has modern facilities, friendly staff (manager helped me to print boading pass for return flight, shown parking place). Location is very good - near one of the gates to old city, therefore everything was in walking distance. Maybe it was due to low season but we easily parked near hotel (free of charge). Price of the room is quite reasonable. It is not necessary to advertise Avila - as for hotel, we hope to come again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    66
    15
    2
    4
See reviews for
29
104
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Andalucia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We chose this hotel because of it's location - we were driving to Avila and didn't want a hotel in the city centre where parking is usually difficult and the streets narrow. We were so pleased with our choice - it was easy to find with GPS and when we couldn't park easily in the street near the hotel, the owner moved his car and parked elsewhere so we could have his slot. All the staff were very helpful and friendly - nothing was too much trouble. The food in the adjoining cafeteria was really good; breakfast was adequate but basic. The room & bathroom spotless but a bit on the small side but, as someone has already commented, you get what you pay for and we felt it was exceptional value for money and would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

What more can I say. This hotel is brand new, modern and spotless. We rode up to the hotel on our motorbikes in pouring rain and we were frozen. He took us into his underground garage, took us to the utility room and hung our clothing up to dry. Checked us into the room early. We got warm and dry. We then strolled out of the front door of the cafeteria after a warm coffee and some tapas and headed through the wall towned gates only 50 metres away.
Extremely interesting place and the hotel is in the perfect location.
If you are touring through Spain - call in here, you will not be disappointed.
Thank you for a very hospitable welcome and stay. Much appreciated.

Room Tip: Rooms had a mountain view or town view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Used Hotel as a base for a 4 night break - can only be described as superb, fantastic location by the walls, wonderful views across the valley, tireless helpful staff - their lack of English and our rudimentary Spanish was never a problem. Bus stop opposite - fare just 92cents to the train station. Room spotless including bathroom which puts many higher rated hotels to shame. Breakfast basic - but everything fresh daily. A definite palce to return to without hesitation.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire UK
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

I booked one night in this excellent hotel in light of the reviews below and was not disappointed. It's 2 years old, very modern and immaculate. Yes the rooms are small but what do you expect at the price? The shower is powerful; the towels white & fluffy & the beds very comfortable. Free wi-fi which is always a bonus. The staff are really friendly and the breakfast plentiful and you can choose what you want. The entrecote steak and chips freshly cooked and delicious. Ample free parking outside the door which is unusual in this city. Walk straight through the city gate and you are at St. Theresa's Convent. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
israel
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

wonderful hotel we are staying for 2 nights all the family. the hotel is new renovated. the rooms are nice and comforable and cleen. the service is excelent always with a smile and the restaurant is tasty as well. the price is valuable. highly recomended

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alcala de los Gazules, Spain
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Pros:
- just on the edge of the famous city walls
- reasonable prices
- modern cafeteria inside the hotel

Cons:
- tiny room, very cramped
- small uncomfortable bed
- garish lighting in the room, no table lamps
- parking is on a nearby hill which makes loading and unloading a bit tricky

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Puerta de la Santa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Puerta de la Santa

Address: Empedrada, 1, 05002 Avila, Spain
Location: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Avila > Avila
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 32 Hotels in Avila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Puerta de la Santa 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Puerta de la Santa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Puerta de la Santa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.