We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The aprtment was very nice. The customer service can be better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Apartamentos Soterrana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Apartamentos Soterrana to your Saves list
Apartamentos Soterrana
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Virgen de la Soterrana 14, Avila, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Avila
Madrid, Spain
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The aprtment was very nice. The customer service can be better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2014

There's no need for parking reservation. When we realized that when we arrived, we tried to cancel that but the lady said is not possible in a quite rude way. The apartment (6 people) on the top flor was nice, the only problem was the water presure in both showers (upstairs and downstairs). The location is good.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    9
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seville
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

The apartment was big and it was just like we had seen in the pictures. It was also quite easy to find a place to park the car and you can get to the touristic area in five minutes on foot. So that was a great thing.

When we arrived, there was nobody at the reception, so we had to call them. Ten minutes later, the employee came and then we could check in. She was very nice and explained what to see and gave us some advice about where to eat in a nearby place since the kids were starving.

What we didn't like about the apartment was that there was a lot of dust and two of us in the family are allergic, so soon we started sneezing and getting red itchy eyes. There was only one knife in the apartment and no detergent for the dishwasher. But we were lucky that we were traveling with another family that took the apartment right next to ours and they gave us some from their apartment. We also had to share some silverware with them so at least we could eat in turns without having to use our fingers.

The apartments didn't have air conditioner and it was ok for us because we're from the south of Spain and are used to high temperatures, but someone from the north should know that or bring their own fans if they want to sleep at night.

I think it's an ok place for one night or if you have plans to eat out all the time.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sant Feliu de Guixols, Spain
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I picked this apartments because it had rooms for us five, and the price was very reasonable. Excellent value for money @99 for 5 persons per night! The apartment was recently built (or rebuilt), had a decent heating and isolation. We were lucky, because they were friendly enough to lodge us in a 6 p duplex apartment. Downstairs it had two bedrooms, living room and kitchen; upstairs an attic with terrace. Toilets in both floors. Modern equipment like big flat TV.
Can't talk about views, we went outside to see Ávila - stayed one night only (as planned).

The location is outside the Ávila walls, which is better for parking than inside. The neigbourhood is typical Spanish small-town neighbourhood with 3-4 storey blocks of flats, with some shops and bars street level. Quiet area, a couple of blocks from the main driveway above. It is a 5-min walk from the walls, little uphill.

Room Tip: The attic duplex apartment was great, like a home for 6 people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

This apartment is not in within the old walled city but only a 5 minute walk away. It is in a typical Spanish neighborhood with a local grocery store and several bars close by. There is no assigned parking but we never had a problem finding a place on the street within the block. We always felt very safe in this area. The apartments are large and spotlessly clean. Bath amenities are sparse. There is no soap and only one towel per person. We stayed for four nights so tried to use the washing machine that is in the kitchen but never could figure it out. Do not get a first floor apartment as it is on the street level so you don't want to leave your curtains open and the noise of everyone coming in and out of the building can be heard at all hours. The manager was very nice and made a phone call to secure special dinner reservations for us.

Room Tip: This is a very quiet neighborhood but ask for an upper floor as there would be a bit of a view and y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Apartamentos Soterrana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos Soterrana

Address: Virgen de la Soterrana 14, Avila, Spain
Location: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Avila > Avila
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Avila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Apartamentos Soterrana 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Apartamentos Soterrana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apartamentos Soterrana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.