We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best food in Sighisoara, great ambiance” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Joseph T. Restaurant & Wine Bar

Joseph T. Restaurant & Wine Bar
Sighisoara, str. Hermann Oberth 25, Sighisoara 545400, Romania
+40 365 730 006
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 24 Restaurants in Sighisoara
Price range: $1 - $7
Cuisines: American, Romanian, International
Description: Romanian and international cuisine served in a elegant setting. Best Romanian wine selection in Transylvania.
Restaurant details
Description: Romanian and international cuisine served in a elegant setting. Best Romanian wine selection in Transylvania.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best food in Sighisoara, great ambiance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

This restaurant is located right next to the Hotel Central Park just a few minutes walk from the clock tower entrance. I believe it's also owned and operated by the hotel as the hotel breakfast is served here. I came here for dinner twice and both times enjoyed great food at very reasonable prices. There are some expensive dishes as well but generally speaking, especially for the Romanian dishes, you are paying the same price as anywhere else but for much, much better quality. The restaurant is also beautifully decorated and has a great ambiance.

The one negative is that the service can be hit or miss. I had a hiccup on the first night but decided to go back since the food was so good and ended up having a perfectly pleasant experience. I think as long as you don't have a lost in translation moment or anything out of the ordinary, you'll have a great experience and will appreciate the quality of the food!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    4
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

We visited Sunday evening passing some full restaurants nearby. Empty when we arrived but only three other tables eventually occupied. Wine was good and served with style and fired our imagination. However the main course pork was so dry and tough (2 of three orders) as to be uneatable. When asked at the conclusion of the meal for our experience we were told we should have complained at the start! We paid in full and departed very disappointed. Hence the warning.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mihai S, Owner at Joseph T. Restaurant & Wine Bar, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Hi Jon,

Thanks for your comment. Its is comments like yours that help us stay focused and give us a reality check.
The truth is that there is not much I can say if the food was not according to your liking. And for that i do apologize. What the waiters may have tried to say (or should have try to say anyway) is that if the food is not the way it should be, it can be corrected before it is being consumed. And that can bve adjusted at no cost, even if it means making a whole new meal.
However under these circumstances you should be entitled to a discount.

If you do come around Sighisoara again please let us make things right and do visit us ! I would gladly allow a 20 % discount on your bill. And if you dont make it here, maybe some of your friends will.

Again, sorry for the unpleasant experience and rest assure we will do what it takes to correct our mistake.

Sincerely,

Mihai Serengheu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Sighisoara”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

The restaurant is clean and immaculately presented, sadly we ate when it was a quiet Sunday night, but the service was of a high quality as was the food and wine. I chose the Romanian food, huge portions and very good value.
Overall, the bill with two courses each, pre dinner cocktail, bottle of wine and after dinner teas was 168LEI (about £32). Superb value.
Recommended.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

The dish presentation was very sophisticated and the taste of the cuisines was excellent! We could feel the dedicated work from the chef! With the fine-dinning environment and 5-star service from the lovely waitresses, it is the best restaurant in town! At a good price too!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Excelent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

A great surprise this restaurant! The food is tasty and very well presented. The staff was perfect. Enjoy!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joseph T. Restaurant & Wine Bar also viewed

Sighisoara, Mures County
Sighisoara, Mures County
 
Sighisoara, Mures County
Sighisoara, Mures County
 

Been to Joseph T. Restaurant & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Joseph T. Restaurant & Wine Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.