We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pension La Castel

Save Saved
You added Pension La Castel to your Saves list
Pension La Castel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pension La Castel
Str. Closca 37, Sighisoara 545400, Romania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 33 Sighisoara B&B and Inns
pembrokeshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights last week and would happily recommend to anyone. Located just outside the citadel walls (which means that you can park without any problems). Short walk into the town - beautiful area, lovely cafes and restaurants etc. The owners and their daughter are the nicest people you could wish to meet, very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. The house is finished to a very high standard and we loved our room. :-)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Krakow, Poland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We have been to many B&Bs and hostels but this one stands out because someone had a great idea how to make it match the local attraction's (medieval Sighisoara) atmosphere!
The pension looks like a small castle/palace and interior (both rooms and common areas) match "the climate", with old wooden staircase, pictures, cupboards and beautiful, painted furniture in our room.
The room was spacious, well lit and very clean.
The bathroom was pleasant and also very clean.
The pension must have been renovated recently as floors and walls have all new paint.
The owners are super friendly mid-aged couple - unfortunately we do not speak Romanian and they did speak only a little English :-( - be prepared to be treated with a glass of "Palinka" on arrival :-)
WiFi worked very well.
It is located outside of the old city walls but you get there in 10 minutes (nice walk), plus you stay in a quiet quarter, away from tourists!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The Pension La Castel is a cozy house located near the castel center. The room we stayed in was absolutely beautiful with its painted furniture and high ceilings. The room was also exceptionally clean and the bed was comfy. The owner did not speak much English but was a delight and tried her best to help and direct us in the right direction. It is only a 5-10 min walk up to the castel center.
The only tip I would give is that know the directions well, because it can be difficult to find especially when dark out.
I would recommend staying here and would love to come back sometime:)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

...because that is how i felt like, like royalty! From a warm greeting with sincere kindness and a good housemade pãlinca to the awesomely big ... wood smelling, fresh, squeeky clean rooms all was exquisite! As a romanian living in Germany all i can say is that i never stumbeled on such beauty here, in Germany. Very good prices too! Not to mention the spumante near the bed and the sweets on the 15 pillows :) . I will come back!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Huge room and a good bed. Good shower.
The family who run the pension are very friendly and helpful, gave us maps and told us (despite the language barrier) how to walk to the citadel. Its in a reasonable location – walking distance to the citadel, which was the key attraction for us. The hotel was a bit tricky to find (by car) as the Google map wasn’t very clear – the streets are rather confusing round the citadel!
As noted in other reviews, the wifi strength was very poor in our room (number 6), I had to go down to the front door with my netbook computer to get a signal. If this can’t be improved, at least a desk and chair to sit at near the exterior front door would be good so you could use the internet there.
Lighting in our room wasn’t great (only 2 of the 6 bulbs in the chandelier worked) although bedlamps were provided also.

Room Tip: If wifi access in your room is important to you, ask to check the signal in the room first - I think...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed in La Castel pension twice in August 2012. The pension occupies the historical building in a quiet residential area 10 min. walk from the Citadel. It is newly renovated and very clean, also the owners are very welcoming and ready to do their best. The hotel offers free wi-fi internert access, which may be important for some travellers.
The pension, however, has just opened and has certain things to improve. The outside area still needs to be arranged, and the big matrimonial rooms, in which we stayed, look rather underfurnished.
Also one morning, when the pension was full, the capacity of the hot water tank turned out to be insufficient.
The hotel does not have a restaurant and does not offer breakfast, and although all the restaurants an cafes in the Citadel are just 10-15 min walk away, I would welcome a minibar or a tea/coffe table with some snacks and bisquits in the room.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pension La Castel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension La Castel

Address: Str. Closca 37, Sighisoara 545400, Romania
Location: Romania > Transylvania > Central Romania > Mures County > Sighisoara
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Sighisoara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Pension La Castel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pension La Castel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.