We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cavaler

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Cavaler to your Saves list
Hotel Cavaler
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Str. Consiliul Europei nr.6, Sighisoara 545400, Romania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Sighisoara
Bucharest, Romania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Great hotel and location. It takes maximum 5 min by foot to reach the fortified medieval village - which is wonderful. The reception area is very nice - you can order drinks from the inside bar or you can go outside at the terrace (Terasa Domnitei) where you can drink and eat (low prices and nice staff)
The hotel has own parking places (also underground ones).
The rooms are big, modern and clean. Big LCD TV, modern bathroom but with a vintage look. The bathroom floor was warm.
The room has also bath/pool wraps and slippers.
Spa area is pretty big - 2 sauna rooms, one relaxation room, pool and 2 massage rooms.

What I didn't like: rather poor breakfast at 9.30 am in the weekend.
Also on Sunday morning I could here the bells from the church which is located right in front of the hotel.
Another weakness: the reception area allows smoking which is a big issue for the non smokers

Room Tip: 1st floor is OK (our friends had room 119 and was great).
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    26
    16
    2
    0
See reviews for
13
19
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cortland, New York
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

This was a nice hotel after a long day of driving. We liked the two floors in the room. It was clean and nice. No thrills hotel, but it was nice. Smoking downstairs, so may be an issue if you don't like smoke. Also, for breakfast, the waiter seemed to be unable to get us something cold to drink as another waiter had the keys to the fridge...But, that I guess, can happen anywhere. So, overall, a pleasant experience. Very close to the castle and the old town.

Room Tip: Rooms facing to the back are probably quieter, but that's just a guess.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grand rapids, minnesota
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Stayed at the Hotel Cavaler and really enjoyed the hotel and the city. Sighisoara is great and the Hotel Cavaler is in an excellent location at the foot of the fortified medieval village. It's an easy walk up into the fortified city and the streets and the ambiance are excellent. lot's of nice restaurants and shops in the immediate area of the hotel. And the old town is a UNESCO World heritage site and it's right across the parking lot from the hotel

They hotel itself is kind of a classic modern mid scale hotel/motel. Our room was nice and perfectly comfortable with a nice view of the village on the hill above. Really quite lovely. The interior of the hotel is a bit dark, especially the common areas. Just had breakfast at the hotel and it was fine, nothing special. The pool (also overlooking the village above) is really nice and a great way to unwind.

Honestly, the hotel itself is quite average, but the location of the hotel is great. If you're going to be in Sighisoara, you will want to consider this hotel due to it's great location. I might add, make sure to request one of the executive rooms with a view of the town - much quieter than the street-side rooms.

Room Tip: Choose a non street-side room and ask for one with a view of the medieval town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tirgu Mures, Romania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

I have stayed for 2 nights, attending a wedding that was taking place at the hotel. We have received a room at the top level which was the attic, with the window installed on the roof. We have tried to change it - it is a bit weird for me not to have a proper window but we were told that the hotel was fully booked.

The room did not feel very clean when we checked in: there was garbage in the bathroom bin, dust on the furniture and we even found a cockroach that was crawling on the floor and we killed it.

The room fridge was not working, made a complaint at the front desk, but no actions were done.

The room, overall, was nice, with good quality furniture and the bed was amazing, very comfortable. The downside was the lack of hairdryer and the bathroom design was not very smart: lights installed right next to the shower - easily you could have splashed the lights with water, so not very safe from my point of view.

Being part of the wedding party we had a negotiated rate but as a regular guest i think it is overpriced reporting to the level of cleanness. The service was good, breakfast was nice, only the coffee was not ok.

Room Tip: Do not accept a room at the top level - the attic.
See more room tips
Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We went here for a wedding and stayed almost a week. The hotel has a good position from the point of view of closeness to the centre but not great in terms of noise (right on the main road which has a lot of traffic all the time, including trucks). It is also right opposite a large church so expect a wake up call from these on the Sunday (which after the late wedding finish on the Saturday we did not really appreciate). Moving on from location the hotel has a spa which is also ok. The downside is that it is open to everyone via a subscription or entry fee (so not just for hotel guests) but free to hotel guests. The pool gets quite busy at times but the sauna is large and really good. I could not use the steamroom because of the pipes and chlorine smell. I did however get a relaxation and lymphatic massage (on two separate days) and cannot praise the two massage staff enough (Anca and Luci). Both very experienced and just lovely people.
We only had breakfast at the hotel and that was actually very nice with fresh ingredients although not the best coffee).
Upon arrival the reception area stank of cigarette smoke as there is a bar area right at the entrance but they fixed that before the wedding by washing the floors and freshening the area quite well.
The room we stayed in was on the second floor and I actually really advise against it. We thought it would be quieter and picked a room which was on the 2nd (top floor) and had a view of the citadel rather than of the road. It was quieter because we were not bothered by all the cars driving past. The room we had was split though and the air conditioning was not so wisely installed on the lower level, leaving the top level where the bed was really hot! It makes a summer night quite uncomfortable. Assuming that the 1st floor ones have some coolness coming from the rooms above... so if noise isn't a major issue maybe go for those. We tried to air the room out in the evenings which made a small difference but still it got very hot throughout the night.
Overall we had a good experience with nice staff, clean rooms and good food. The wedding went smoothly and the restaurant staff did a great job. The reception people also were extremely nice and welcoming. I think that for the money we paid we expected something better.
Beware of the hot rooms and street views and you should be fine ;)

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

I stayed here for 1 week so have built fairly solid impression of the hotel. Service is 50/50, some staff excellent, friendly and attentive whilst are others are rude and dismissive. I only ate breakfast but it rates as average and acceptable for Romanian hotels (the coffee is easily the worst I've ever had though).

As many others have said a room at the back is required to avoid traffic noise. This comes with its own problems however; during a hot stay the air conditioning unit in the rooms with stairs are based on the floor "ground floor" area of the room. This means that during hot days the bedroom area upstairs is absolutely boiling (heat rises!). Opening the attic window switches off the air-con and exposes you to the noise from wild dogs, church bells and local bars/restaurants. Really, really, stupid design making for long, sleepless nights. Our group occupied 17 rooms during our stay and we all had the same observation. The bathrooms are fine with no real complaints about features or hot water - I imagine the hair dryer would annoy some ladies, however. I have seen inside some of the "Executive" rooms and they did seem to have slightly more "shine" to them. There was also some building work taking place to create a terrace with a pergola - it looks like it will be very nice (despite the wasteland beyond it where the wild dogs and caravans are) but the noise from the work being done was a little annoying to some of us.

The swimming pool/spa is good but over-crowded as it is open to the public. Massages are excellent and very good value for money.

I stay regularly in hotels throughout Romania and would say that this hotel does not qualify as a Romanian 4-star (star ratings do tend to vary from country to country). Central Park Hotel or some of the other more boutique hotels (such as Krauss) might be more preferable for international travellers albeit more expensive than Cavaler. Speaking to the locals, this hotel does have a reputation in the town as being run by a slightly "dodgy" owner but I saw no evidence of this. Overall, I would say that if you're a fairly easy-going type willing to forgive a few failings, Cavaler is a pretty good deal. It's well located and offers some good views from the right spot. But it probably falls short of the expectations of the seasoned traveller (this could be said of many Romanian hotels which are still catching up to the concept of good customer service however!).

Room Tip: Rear-facing room for less traffic noise but the split-level rooms have inadequate air conditioning d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

On our tour of Transylvania, we stayed at this hotel, and were happy with the experience. You will have a great picture-worthy view of Sighisoara and a short walking distance up into the city. There were plenty of outlets to charge our gadgets, the staff was courteous, beds comfortable, and the breakfast buffet with all that we wanted. We would stay here again. The only downside is that smoking is allowed in the dining room - they need a separate non-smoking section.

Room Tip: A higher floor affords a better view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Cavaler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cavaler

Address: Str. Consiliul Europei nr.6, Sighisoara 545400, Romania
Location: Romania > Transylvania > Central Romania > Mures County > Sighisoara
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Sighisoara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Cavaler 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Cavaler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cavaler, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.