We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be but it's not .....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cositorarului Casa

Cositorarului Casa
Strada Cositorarului Nr. 8-9, Sighisoara, Romania
731374778
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 24 Restaurants in Sighisoara
Cuisines: Romanian, Sandwiches
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Bucharest, Romania
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Could be but it's not .....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

The terrace of this place pays for the entire experience. The service is fast, the atmosphere comes with being in Sighisoara, but the deserts/specials how they put it in the menu, are poor. We have tried 3 different type of sweets and all had rum essence - much more than needed, if needed at all. Over all - I'd look for another place to have icecream when in Sighisoara.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    19
    7
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Delicious salads and really good cake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We went there for dinner and had a salad (special - not on the regular menu) and some cake for dessert - I loved the food and the lemonade along with it. Cosy location - really nice atmosphere.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Magic place, sweet feeling”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

What a gem! The decorations of this place are incredible, generating a cozy, warm and romantic feeling, like you could spend hours chatting and storytelling, forgetting about the time, enjoying the exquisite desserts. The place has two rooms, one down and one upstairs, with beautiful design. At the entrance you are greeted by the window with the most appealing cakes, which you must definitely try. We had an apple strudel, served with homemade apricot and nut gem, and ice cream – so tasty. We regret though not trying the chocolate cakes. The girls who serve you are dressed in old costumes, so you are quickly transported out of the ordinary world in a magical place. In the summer time, I think they have an outside terrace; the views are great from their location, right near the covered staircase leading to the Church on the hill. We thought this was by far the most special place in Sighisoara to have coffee, or cocktails and desserts (they don’t serve food dishes).

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Constanta, Romania
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“extraordinary atmosphere, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Wow! that's a nice place to see: the furniture, the warm style of 1st floor, all these combined with those nice people makes it a 5 star place.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Wonderful atmosphere, amazing desserts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We met friends for morning coffee and could not resist their chocolate cake. Service and atmosphere were great, the decor was beautiful and interesting with hillside views, and the liqueur-flavored cake a real treat. We were glad we found the place!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cositorarului Casa also viewed

 
Sighisoara, Mures County
Sighisoara, Mures County
 

Been to Cositorarului Casa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cositorarului Casa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.