We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, average command of foreign languages” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Karos Spa Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Karos Spa Hotel to your Saves list
Karos Spa Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Alma Street 1, Zalakaros 8749, Hungary   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Zalakaros
Rijswijk, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good hotel, average command of foreign languages”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

The hotel itself was good, but in the restaurant it was not always possible to get the attention of one of the English or German speaking waiters. The staff at the desk had a passable command of both German and English.

In general the acoustics of the restaurant were pretty bad, the restaurant was at all times noisy. The food in the restaurant was good and diverse, but the vegetarians didn't always have a choice and were one day even stuck on soup alone. In the restaurant the waiters were always very quick to clean our table, a couple of times they were even too quick as we were going to the bar and found our table cleared and a scarf we had explicitly left on the table brought to the lost-and-found. Upon further inquiry it seems we needed to keep our roomkeys on the table as an indicator to show we haven't left yet.

As for service, the staff didn't complain when we told them we hadn't parked on the premises all days because we went to see family one day. Also we didn't have to pay for a drink the waiters had cleaned from our table, and we had the ability to split the bill into two parts: one part in our remaining Hungarian Forints and one part in Euros.

Concerning the different (spa-)services the hotel offers, we only used the pool and some of the entertainment offered there. The in- and outdoor pools were great, and the entertainment in the pools was nice. One downside was the face that of the nice beach-chairs offered alongside of the pool were of two types, and the best ones were filled quite fast, but even though we found two chairs for ourselves. We did try the heated pool a few times, but we were warned by other users not to stay in for more than 20 minutes at a time. This however wasn't shown anywhere around the pool, but it seemed like good advice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    14
    15
    6
    1
See reviews for
13
16
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Szentendre, Hungary
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We were there before with a good memories so we tought its could be good again.Dissapointed! Very expensive for the quality.Food very bad quality.Breakfast ok.No hot water in our room.Needed managment change.More like a 3 star.

Room Tip: Only positive is clean.No more..
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portishead, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Having read a number of reviews about Karos Spa Hotel before we arrived we were very pleasantly surprised...

Arrival:
Four people on reception with one of them an English speaker. Our room was ready and when we got to the apartment another member of staff was waiting for us and greeted us (her English was good) and she explained everything that we needed to know.

Apartment:
We booked a one bedroom apartment and were again pleasantly surprised with the accommodation. Two large single beds that we were able to push together into an acceptable double bed. A large shower/hot tub room and a more than adequate sitting room with comfortable furniture and "half" kitchen. Microwave, sink and utensils.

Food:
We opted for the buffet breakfast and evening meal. Great value and variety, but you need to be someone who is happy to experiment and try anything. Again, for most of the time we were not disappointed.

Pools:
two outside and a number inside all excellent.

Room Tip: Try to get an apartment rather than and hotel room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012 via mobile

impolite service, terrible business / customer understanding . Boring. Socialist house. Nothing special food. Few, crowdy pools, limited possibilities.Managers replacement necessary, Otherwise hotel will fail. Opposite hotel is much better

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

This hotel is disappointing. The hotel facilities are ok but the details are not what you would expect to find in a 4 star hotel. For example the gym has 3 cardio equipment, one all purpose but very old weight device and free weights, half of which are missing. You cannot get a workout. The hotel rooms are ok, but we left traces of coconut oil on a table and the result was aant invasion. The massages are very well marketed on the brochure and get you excited about paying a premium price, but the truth is you a subpar experience. I had a full body massage and it was ok but the pedicure + foot massage was rushed and far from relaxing. It was way overpriced by Hungarian, even international standards. To make matters worse the lady was 30 minutes late for my girlfriend's massage.

To sum it up, this is an ok place but if it were half the price.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kharkiv, Ukraine
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

Room was really big, breakfast - good. I can notice wide choice of dishes, even tastes – not fresh, but any way… Chief was cooking omelet – rare feature in European hotels. Hotel has really big inside and outdoor pool and so on. But everything looked in this hotel so ordinary and simple…

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graz, Austria
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

This hotel was our accomodation durin a sports event. For this it was definitely very, very good!

As a "normal" guest, chosing the hotel myself I'd say that it is not worth the 4 stars.

The room looks old fashioned. The breakfast is quite ok, but I already had better breakfast in a 4 star hotel. In the summertime it is crowded and the pool area more than full.

The guys at the reception were very helpfull and tried to make everything possible for us. Thanks for that!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Karos Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karos Spa Hotel

Address: Alma Street 1, Zalakaros 8749, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Western Transdanubia > Zala County > Zalakaros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Zalakaros
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Karos Spa Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 221
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Karos Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Karos Spa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.