We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sapa Rooms Boutique Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sapa Rooms Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sapa Rooms Boutique Hotel
018 Phan Si Pang St | Fan Xi Pang St, Sapa 19999, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 38 hotels in Sapa
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel, great restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

The best value of this hotel is the friendliness and assistance of the owners. You get the best tourist advice, information and planning you could possibly want.
The restaurant is cosy and wonderful, open kitchen lets you see exactly how clean it is and how fresh the ingredients are. Food and service cannot be faulted.
The only issue we had was the design of the shower where you had to wet the entire bathroom floor after a shower and every subsequent trip to the toilet or bathroom had to be on water.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    258
    106
    46
    32
    19
See reviews for
105
208
41
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Has a good reputation, listed in Lonely Planet, good location in the town, but is surprising that it is not well set up for cold weather given it is in the highlands! This was not unique to Sapa Rooms, however - a number of the cafes, hotels we visited were similarly not well set up for the cold. Rooms were a good size and comfortable, en-suite bathrooms average, and freezing with huge gaps around the (presumably) recently-fitted aluminium window. On the plus side, staff were great, and there is a good philosophy behind the organisation that runs Sapa Rooms (and related businesses) supporting and training local people and supporting schools. Food was good, main dining/lounge area would be great for relaxing with friends if it wasn't so cold at the time we visited.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front tend to be noisier - the adjacent market starts early! Not sure about views as it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed in Sapa Rooms jan 5-7th. We cannot fault the food or the staff because the breakfast was excellent and very welcomed after a night train from hanoi. The decor is also very quaint. The cafe is cold, fireplace not used. We payed over $60+ a night. Our room was cold, the bathroom was even colder due to gaping big holes around the bathroom window straight outside. Also the panes in the window let in cold air and the oil heater is not enough to warm to space.

We only stayed one night and moved to other accommodation which was $40 a night and very comfortable.

We would suggest some fine tuning on the rooms for this to be called a 'boutique' hotel and the price it charges.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stayed in the hotel for two nights with our three kids. We booked two rooms next to each other (one was a suite I think). The hotel is very nicely decorated and the rooms were nice and spacious but there were some annoying faults. It was very cold in Sapa and the heating with the radiator was not doing the job both because of the size of the rooms and the fact they were not properly insulated. In one room the shower door didn't close and in the other room the vent in the toilet didn't work. One of the room doors squeaked terribly when opened. We asked them to try and fix it and they said OK but didn't do anything about it... Other than that it was all good. Breakfast was good and the staff was helpful although other than one English speaking lady the others hardly spoke English. We also booked our train tickets from and to Hanoi on the night trains through them from overseas and that was a very good experience. It all worked fine and we got what we wanted.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We rearranged our plans to spend a very special Christmas at Sapa Rooms together with our friends, and were so pleased we did. Whatever the weather may be or the hotel may lack in insulation - the decor, the atmosphere and certainly the staff make up for. If you have high expectations, perhaps this is not for you. The decor is a little 'rustic' and very local. We loved it. We arrived off the train on a very cold Christmas morning to a hearty breakfast and cuppa. We wandered around the town and ate lunch at the Village Noshery - yummo - hearty Pho. Then in the evening we waited on approx 80 village children who enjoyed a hot Christmas dinner. They were all given some donated clothes as gifts and little party favour bags also. It was wonderful to see how much it meant to them. After a quick clean-up we sat down and enjoyed our very tasty fare. The next morning we went to Ma Cha School with all our 'gifts of stationery etc for the kids. Another special experience. I would love to have spent longer there. Those children touched our hearts. We then did a 9 km walk through a couple of local villages with our entertaining guide ?Suemay (sorry if I have spelled incorrectly). The young people who run this hotel and the Noshery deserve much credit. Some speak English better than others, however, their eagerness to learn is commendable. Peter Wilkes, you do an amazing job. I only wish we had the opportunity to meet you. Despite being fogged in, we had an amazing time in Sapa, and I personally would love to return at a different time of year. It will be a Christmas we will treasure for a very long time. One slight hiccup - hotel forgot to return our passports and in the rush to leave, WE forgot to ask. So sitting in Than Son Restaurant in Lao Cai, with our train tickets, the alarm bell rang. A few phone calls later and with ten minutes to spare, a lovely guy had ridden down the mountain in miserable weather with said passports. A huge thank you to all concerned.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Overall Sapa Rooms is good.

They messed up our booking so we were not on the list for the day we arrived but they had a spare room so it was OK.

We stayed in room one. There were large holes around the windows so it was very loud and cold but it was OK. Bathroom was also pretty average.

On the plus side the food is great and the common areas are really lovely to sit around and relax in. The walk they organised to Cat Cat was also nice.

Room Tip: I'd avoid room one... but I don't know what the other rooms were like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borås, Västra Götaland, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Modern place with nice atmosphere and nice breakfast (moden food). The room we stayed in was a bit strange with seperate bathroom and shower, but not a big deal. The room was a bit too dark. We stayed in a room that was called suite but we found it more to be for more than two people (one extra stationary bed). If you are just two people, book a regular room.

We booked a trekking tour via the hotel, wich was very nice with a good guide.

If your planning a trip to Sapa, book the transport from the train station in Lao Cai in advance through the hotel. We got ripped of by the local "buss maffia" on our way there. On our way home we booked the transfer through the hotel and it ran smoothly.

The hotel is located very central and close to everything in Sapa town. The owner and staff was very friendly and helpful. On the afternoon at departure day we were offered a room for shower before the night train, wich was great.

We ate several times at the hotel restaurant and it was nice food, westen and Vietnamese.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sapa Rooms Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sapa Rooms Boutique Hotel

Address: 018 Phan Si Pang St | Fan Xi Pang St, Sapa 19999, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Lao Cai Province > Sapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 38 hotels in Sapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sapa Rooms is a community focused hotel with a big heart. Established by its Australian owner in 2007 to assist the local ethnic minority communities who inhabit the Sapa region. Sapa Rooms is a popular destination for people wishing to experience the real Sapa in a way that no other business in Sapa can offer. Through out their properties their guests are encouraged to make conscious decisions which impact their holiday destination in a positive way. If you wish to travel with generosity and give back while feeling a real connection to the culture then Sapa Rooms will be more then a hotel stay for you, it will be a real moving experience. We encourage our guests to assist with our numerous community projects when they stay in our lovely relaxed boutique hotel because we believe our business has a responsibility to give back to the local community. Our staff team over more then 90 people comprise local ethnic minority people and disadvantaged youth who have been trained in the hotel’s ongoing vocational training program. Our team of chefs have been thoroughly trained at KOTO the school for disadvantage youth, in Hanoi. Our rooms are inspired by the romance of the surrounding mountain ranges, a haven of simple style and comfort. With crisp white linen, flowing silk curtains, and original art works. Each room has a 80cm plasma TV, DVD library, cable TV, book and games library in 5th floor lounge room. Our restaurant is very popular as all the produce is organic and grown on our retreat. An extensive wine list, local Vietnamese and fusion international dishes with many vegetarian options on the menu. The Australian owner comes from a chefs background so guarantee you will enjoy the food his enthusiastic team serves up each day. Homemade ice cream, freshly baked cakes and real coffee is just the beginning. Every piece of art in Sapa Rooms tells a story, they have all been hand crafted by the owner using the local artisan talent and tools, the owner sources all the materials locally by trekking into the jungle to free and fair trade with the ethnic minority people. Sapa Rooms believes socially aligned sourcing is a step in the right direction for positive change. The entire team in Sapa Rooms looks forward to welcoming you to Sapa and are waiting to look after you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Sapa Rooms Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sapa Rooms Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.