We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cha Pa Garden Boutique Hotel & Spa

Save Saved
You added Cha Pa Garden Boutique Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cha Pa Garden Boutique Hotel & Spa
23b Cau May | Lao Cai, Sapa, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 40 hotels in Sapa
Tokyo, Japan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fantastic place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

A beautiful B & B style hotel with an excellent breakfast (and dinners) too! Very friendly people work there and the location is excellent - close to the trekking starting points, restaurants and the market.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    90
    44
    21
    8
    3
See reviews for
22
105
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights. Nice small hotel,nicely decorated with a beautiful small garden. Perfect location. Breakfast average.service very good. The staff is friendly and helpful.wifi poor. Heating is good in room.

Overall very good hotel at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed at the Chapa Garden hotel for two nights and enjoyed the stay. The team is extremely friendly, and does everything to make the stay as comfortable as possible. Booking and transportation from Lao Cai by minibus shuttle worked very well. Rooms are nicely decorated and can be sufficiently heated even when it is cold outside (we had about 5 degrees C). We could even get into our room straight away even though we arrived at 7 am. Food was good, and other facilities were fine as well. Would recommend it by all means.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We visited Sapa in December and stayed at Cha Pa Garden for two nights. Pick-up service and transfer to hotel from Station by minivan is seamless. The hotel arranged early check-in (6;30 am) for us which is very good after overnight train. Room is cosy and with heat which is very important for we visited Sapa in the coolest month. The room is small but deco is nice. Room is clean with very good lighting. A nice litlle garden for relaxing. Breakfast (except pancake) is good and delicious. WIFI is strong in the dining room but just next to none in our room. Downside is that hot water is run out (I was the second to take bath) and I had to finish bathing within a very short time on the first day. Leakage at water closet though not serious and not a issue for us. Room for improvement for the bedding. We booked a private tour guide for the 12km walk to the villages, which cost triple than the small group (6 pax) tour organised by the Tourist Information Centre. "Home-made meal" is included. We expect hot meals cooked by villagers in their homes. It turns out a cold baguette with a few pieces of raw bacon (no drinks included) brought by tour guide from the hotel. We are quite disappointed at this point.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kl
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in Chapa Garden and really enjoyed our stay. We celebrated Christmas there and it really felt a bit like home: nice dinner close to the fireplace, friendly atmosphere.
I believe for the time being there are only 4 rooms which I find really nice - it is not one of these big unpersonal hotels.
I definitely would recommmend this hotel to all travellers who are not only looking for a clean and cosy room but also for friendly staff.
Staff were indeed smiling, very accomodating, very helpful (travelling with baby) and simply just kind.
Excellent choice!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed in a standard room at Cha Pa Garden Hotel for 3 nights and were a little disappointed.  We had arranged for the hotel to book us seats in a shared minivan from Lao Cai train station to Sapa, however the driver was not waiting for us on arrival so we ended up being hustled into another van by the local minivan mafia and were overcharged as a result (150,000 VND pp should have been 50-60,000 VND pp).

We were able to check straight  into our room on arrival which was welcome after a long night on the train.  The hotel had an excellent location, just off the main street near to the markets where we had plenty of options for food /drinks.

We stayed in room 202 which had a small balcony and views toward the mountain.  We thought the room was very average for the price we paid (1,470,000 per night $72), the bed was a little lumpy (although it did not keep us awake after long day trekking!), the ceiling was mouldy and as a result the room smelt damp & musty.  The mould was probably caused by the inadequate bathroom, the shower was tiny and water sprayed all over the floor despite taking care to keep the shower curtain on the inside and the toilet cistern had a slow leak onto the floor.  As a result we had to wear our thongs just to go into the bathroom - not ideal!  Wifi in the room was patchy at best but available from the dining area.

The reception staff were friendly & helpful although some had very limited English.  Breakfast was good, we didn't eat any other meals at the hotel and did not see anyone else eat there the whole time either.   Overall I wouldn't choose to stay there again.  I heard Sapa Rooms was a better option for a similar price, we didn't see the rooms ourselves but booked an excellent trek from there and the food was also fantastic.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parma, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

We stayed at the Cha Pa Gardens Boutique Hotel for 2 nights. We had a deluxe room which was cozy and comfortable. They valley scenery is stunning, worth life time experience. Even though the bathroom was small it did have good water pressure and hot water. The hotel had free wifi. The breakfast was immense and very tasty as well. The lunch with the local family was very fun, and the tour to Bac Ha Market on Sunday topped off our brilliant trip. Cha Pa Garden is a beautiful, comfortable and very very friendly boutique hotel in Sapa. Overall, we would highly recommend this place. A small beautiful hotel with good location and the cheerful staff helps make it a great stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cha Pa Garden Boutique Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cha Pa Garden Boutique Hotel & Spa

Address: 23b Cau May | Lao Cai, Sapa, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Lao Cai Province > Sapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 40 hotels in Sapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cha Pa Garden Boutique Hotel & Spa is the first hotel of its kind in the town of Sapa and provides a breathing space only 50 m from the busy market. Guests are welcomed to comfortable rooms and friendly service in this beautifully renovated French villa.The restaurant is making great both local and western dishes, and our green garden is unique in center town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Cha Pa Garden Boutique Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cha Pa Garden Boutique Hotel And Spa
Cha Pa Garden Boutique Hotel Sapa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cha Pa Garden Boutique Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.