We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cha Pa Garden Boutique Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Cha Pa Garden Boutique Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Cha Pa Garden Boutique Hotel & Spa
23b Cau May | Lao Cai, Sapa, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 45 Hotels in Sapa
Parma, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

We stayed at the Cha Pa Gardens Boutique Hotel for 2 nights. We had a deluxe room which was cozy and comfortable. They valley scenery is stunning, worth life time experience. Even though the bathroom was small it did have good water pressure and hot water. The hotel had free wifi. The breakfast was immense and very tasty as well. The lunch with the local family was very fun, and the tour to Bac Ha Market on Sunday topped off our brilliant trip. Cha Pa Garden is a beautiful, comfortable and very very friendly boutique hotel in Sapa. Overall, we would highly recommend this place. A small beautiful hotel with good location and the cheerful staff helps make it a great stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    44
    21
    8
    3
See reviews for
22
105
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Luang Prabang, Laos
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We arrived early in the morning after taking the night train to Sapa the manager was very accommodating towards us. Let gave us an early check in at no extra cost and the room was lovely, very spacious and clean. We stayed for 3 nights and had no complaints whatsoever. Breakfast was delicious and a good choice offered. Its a beautiful small homely hotel and would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yallingup, Australia
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012 via mobile

Behind the main street this French villa is in a great location. Being low season we paid $70/night for five nights in the deluxe room including breakfast. We had relocated from another hotel which had a serious damp issue and the manager offered us a discount because we wanted a 5 night stay. The room was dry and comfortable. The manager is helpful and arranged a great 12km walk to Ta Phin with a local guide (Pamay). Not as cheap as tours we heard about but a bit different and we can highly recommend walking to a village rather than just spending time in it. We ate at the hotel restaurant once, but in low season there was no atmosphere without other guests.
If they could put a bit of effort in and kept up with maintenace this would be excellent.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

The location is good - all that Sapa offers is close by. Our room was small, the bathroom barely adequate. Amenities worked, though the a/c barely coped. Breakfast was satisfactory. We didn't eat 'in' as the prices were high for Sapa, and a range of interesting eateries was very close.

Room Tip: Get a balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

We stayed at Chapa Garden for one night and we were very disapointed. At first, we booked a room in this hotel, because their reputation was to organize very nice personalized trekking around Sapa just for their customers. Indeed we were sent a document called "Sapa Trekking Experience" explaining their offer.
We arrived in Sapa with a night train and we were picked-up by a mini-van from the hotel (12 dollars per person). The pick-up was very badly organized (3 persons more than the number of seats available and we had a tiring trip to Sapa. When we arrived in the hotel at 6 am in the morning, our room was not ready and we had to wait a little bit. No big issue, if the owner would have offered to us a drink or light breakfast as other hotels are used to do in Vietnam We had a very expensive breakfast in their restaurant (20 euros) and our room was ready at 11 am. Our room was ok, but the bathroom was disguting (moulded joint, the floor had not been cleaned properly...). We were really disappointed with the standard offered for the price (90 euros for one night, this price is the one for a luxury 4 stars hotel in Vietnam).
The worst part of the Chapa Garden experience was the trekking they organized for us: no advice, no choice and we had to go for a very touristic trekking that we paid 3 times more than in other hotels. Our guide was ok, but we had to buy some things in the village to her sister (forced sale). We wanted a very not touristic experience and we were really disappointed.
If you want a good experience in Sapa and get great value, you should better avoid Chapa Garden: it used to be a good hotel, but the current owner is very rude and not customer-centric.
My worst hotel in Vietnam...

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

To my surprise this small "boutique hotel" has the look and feel of a large guest home. Clean, good breakfast, with a good sized room, but small bathroom. Even though the bathroom is small it did have good water pressure and hot water. The hotel does have free wifi. Centrally located.

Room Tip: Rooms are good size, I gave it an average because of the bathroom. The room are spacious and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

If you're going to do something do it properly comes to mind when I think of the room refurb for this hotel. My understanding that the refurb wasn't that long ago but it's already feeling a bit tired. The bathroom is ill conceived, the desk is sagging, the curtains a little faded, the joinery around the windows and doors needs fixing and in some places the floors felt that I may go through. In saying all that, there are pluses. The rooms are large and airy, the location is good with the markets pretty much on your door step, the food is decent (particularly the meatballs) and the staff are friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cha Pa Garden Boutique Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cha Pa Garden Boutique Hotel & Spa

Address: 23b Cau May | Lao Cai, Sapa, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Lao Cai Province > Sapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cha Pa Garden Boutique Hotel & Spa is the first hotel of its kind in the town of Sapa and provides a breathing space only 50 m from the busy market. Guests are welcomed to comfortable rooms and friendly service in this beautifully renovated French villa.The restaurant is making great both local and western dishes, and our green garden is unique in center town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Cha Pa Garden Boutique Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cha Pa Garden Boutique Hotel Sapa
Cha Pa Garden Boutique Hotel And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cha Pa Garden Boutique Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.