We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is the place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thai Binh Sapa Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Thai Binh Sapa Hotel to your Saves list
Thai Binh Sapa Hotel
Ham Rong street | (Behind the Center Church), Sapa 0203, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 53 Sapa B&B and Inns
Haifa, Israel
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“This is the place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Came for 1 night as there were no rooms left but lucky me someone cancelled and stayed for another 2 nights. Came in the night train but unfortunately the room was not ready and got it very late. The owner felt so bad about it that he took me for ~1 hour ride around the whole area in his car. Location is perfect, staff are amazing but the greatest thing is the owner. He offered you best coffee, even when I came with a friend who states at other place, first thing was offer us some coffee near the hot fire place. Great conversations with him. Speaks perfect English and this is a very good advantage ( he lived in New Zealand for several years). Train Back to hanoi was full and I was panicking but he managed to get me a ticket. Room is nice, has heater and electric sheet to warm up....this is very important -:)

I recommend this place and will definitely come back if I visit Sa pa again

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    105
    28
    8
    3
See reviews for
61
148
21
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We stay in this hotel from 24/11 to 27/11/2012
This hotel is well situated in a quiet location away from the city- 200M from markets- and 500M from the shops and restaurants in the Cat Cat village. The owner and his staff do everything to make you a comfortable stay. We had a spacious deluxe room nr 304 with balcony, large flat screen TV with many English channels and also the french TV5 for Asia .. There was a heater and the bed can preheat.
A beautiful new bathroom - with all amnenties - with shower and always hot water.
The breakfast has 2 choice menu with eggs or fruit with cottage cheese and most delicious hot fresh french bread.
Everything was arranged by mail and had quick response. The taxi for $ 4 with our name stood ready in Lao Cai where the train arrives. The join tour to Bac Ha and the private tour to the tributes was all arranged by the owner. Excellent good English speaking guides from the minoritees made ​​our trips memorable. There was even no deposit required ....
PS. beware of mafia practices at the station that you try to lure them into their car transport and immediately ask for money ... more than 3 double!
Wait for the person with your name on a board and everything will be fine. you must be paid to the hotel and NOT the driver!! They said ; ask the money back from the hotel!!!
We thank Mr. Hong.de owner for our fantastic stay at hotel in Sapa.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

Very helpful staff! Excellent English, very accommodating. Great breakfast for westerners& nice coffee! Recommend for anyone traveling with family aswell! Definatly good value and a nice country comfort feeling with heating in the cooler periods also

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

The owner of this hotel went out of his way to set up our train ticket from Hanoi, driver to pick us up in Lao Cai and treks out to villages with the most amazing Hmong guide. Our room was clean, quiet and comfortable. The breakfast was perfect. From the hotel you can walk easily everywhere in Sapa. The owner also made arrangements for us to have lunch at his Sapa Garden B and B where his parents live after we returned from our trek through villages where other tourist didn't go. This is a very friendly family run business. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

A group of 8 friends stayed one night in this hotel during our trip to Sapa in September. We all thoroughly enjoyed the cosy ambience of this lovely little place. The staff were very friendly and carrying our bags up the stairs was no trouble for them at all - not that I wasn't happy to carry my own. The hotel manager spoke great English, having spent some length of time in New Zealand and being able to chat to him about Sapa and surrounds was very interesting. The breakfast was fabulous, one of the best we had in Vietnam, although most were very nice. It was well located in touch with some great shops - some of the best stuff available in the north of Vietnam I thought.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights in Sa Pa, the weather was almost all the time bad - quite cold and foggy. We were glad to have a spacious, nice room with an electric heater. Room and bathroom were clean and - as expected in a $35-room - there was a kettle, tea and coffee. Unfortunately the TV did not work, could have been caused by the weather.
We liked the fireplace in the lobby, there are two tiny chairs to sit by the fire (an armchair would definitely be nicer). The breakfast was included, but nothing special (2 options: bread+egg / bread+fruitsalad).
The pick up from the train station worked as good as the bus service back to the train station.
The Thai Binh Sapa Hotel is nice and good maintained hotel, the service is good but not exceptional.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuantan, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the hotel.It is located in a quiet area behind the church which faces the town's main square where the hilltribes sell their goods.The room is spacious and clean.Namhong, New Zealand educated,who runs the place with his wife and staff is so friendly.He even taught us how to make a cup of good Vietnamese coffee! It is within walking distance from both the new and older part of the town.There is also free Wifi at the reception area.
Travel tip: Value for money hotel.Don't pay more for the mountain view.You can view it for free by taking a walk around Sapa.

Chan Y Malaysia

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Thai Binh Sapa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thai Binh Sapa Hotel

Address: Ham Rong street | (Behind the Center Church), Sapa 0203, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Lao Cai Province > Sapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Sapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thanks for your time to read the information about Thai Binh Sapa Hotel. We renovated our hotel recently and now we have 2 DOUBLE, 2 TWIN and 1 FAMILY (A connecting of 2 rooms with interconecting door, 4 beds and 2 bathrooms). To make it convenient for your trip to Sapa, we can also assist you to book train tickets from Ha Noi to Lao Cai and return, pick up from Lao Cai railways station and transfer to my hotel. We also have local guides (speak good English) to be with your for your trek in the beautiful villages of Sapa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Thai Binh Sapa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thai Binh Hotel Sapa
Sapa Thai Binh Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thai Binh Sapa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.