We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thai Binh Sapa Hotel

Save Saved
You added Thai Binh Sapa Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Thai Binh Sapa Hotel
Ham Rong street | (Behind the Center Church), Sapa 0203, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 40 hotels in Sapa
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Location and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

The owner of this hotel went out of his way to set up our train ticket from Hanoi, driver to pick us up in Lao Cai and treks out to villages with the most amazing Hmong guide. Our room was clean, quiet and comfortable. The breakfast was perfect. From the hotel you can walk easily everywhere in Sapa. The owner also made arrangements for us to have lunch at his Sapa Garden B and B where his parents live after we returned from our trek through villages where other tourist didn't go. This is a very friendly family run business. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    173
    103
    27
    8
    3
See reviews for
61
142
20
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

A group of 8 friends stayed one night in this hotel during our trip to Sapa in September. We all thoroughly enjoyed the cosy ambience of this lovely little place. The staff were very friendly and carrying our bags up the stairs was no trouble for them at all - not that I wasn't happy to carry my own. The hotel manager spoke great English, having spent some length of time in New Zealand and being able to chat to him about Sapa and surrounds was very interesting. The breakfast was fabulous, one of the best we had in Vietnam, although most were very nice. It was well located in touch with some great shops - some of the best stuff available in the north of Vietnam I thought.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights in Sa Pa, the weather was almost all the time bad - quite cold and foggy. We were glad to have a spacious, nice room with an electric heater. Room and bathroom were clean and - as expected in a $35-room - there was a kettle, tea and coffee. Unfortunately the TV did not work, could have been caused by the weather.
We liked the fireplace in the lobby, there are two tiny chairs to sit by the fire (an armchair would definitely be nicer). The breakfast was included, but nothing special (2 options: bread+egg / bread+fruitsalad).
The pick up from the train station worked as good as the bus service back to the train station.
The Thai Binh Sapa Hotel is nice and good maintained hotel, the service is good but not exceptional.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuantan, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the hotel.It is located in a quiet area behind the church which faces the town's main square where the hilltribes sell their goods.The room is spacious and clean.Namhong, New Zealand educated,who runs the place with his wife and staff is so friendly.He even taught us how to make a cup of good Vietnamese coffee! It is within walking distance from both the new and older part of the town.There is also free Wifi at the reception area.
Travel tip: Value for money hotel.Don't pay more for the mountain view.You can view it for free by taking a walk around Sapa.

Chan Y Malaysia

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
126 hotel reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Thai Binh is located in town, but on the hill that goes up to a paid walking trail. The hotel is adjacent the pine forest of an adjacent hotel property, so while we were in our room, it felt like we were in the forest.

The hotel is small and cozy and the decoration is very soothing.

The owner, his wife and staff were very freindly and engaging.

The rooms are newly refurbished
Safe - YES
Quiet - YES
Desk Chair - YES
TV - YES, flat screen with many english channels
Portable heater to dry out your clothes or heat up the room
2 free water bottles/day
Fridge - no
Beds - firrm but ok. Only 2 pillows were in the room
Phone - no
Water temperature and pressure - good

Breakfast - really nice, with offers of extra coffee and tea

The lobby area was nicely laid out (for the size of the hotel) and there was one computer and some books.

What we liked:
+ Ambience, style, hotel maintenance, cleanliness
+ Owner and staff friendliness and engagement
+ Value for the $$

To improve:
- Add 2 more pillows in the room
- Improve WiFi in some rooms with spotty reception (add a range booster)

Also, we were recommended a massage from the large hotel opposite Thai Binh, and it was one of the worst massages we encountered in Vietnam.

Conclusion: We highly recommend this gem of a hotel in Sapa.

Room Tip: Try to get the room in the front with the large balcony. Also, there is one room which is known to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

I would recommend staying here, we stayed for 2 nights & really enjoyed it (apart from being very unwell on the second night - not too sure about Nature Bar & Grill's food).

Nam was really helpful, we organised a trek through a couple of villages which was brilliant.

The room was a good size, very pleased to have the electric blankets (Sapa can be quite chilly)! The bathroom was nicely decorated, lovely shower. The hotel is in a good location, easy walking distance to the market, lake, restaurants, a supermarket etc.

The breakfast was the best we've had in our month's travels around Vietnam. The omelette was delicious!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

We booked on line and asked for a pick up from the train in loci.
We got to the hotel after a long night at 6 am .
We where welcomed with a big smile and a key for a beautiful room and a nice brekfest
We left are things when we went tracking came back after a night the owner gave us to shower in there own shower with no charge.
The staff is great

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Thai Binh Sapa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thai Binh Sapa Hotel

Address: Ham Rong street | (Behind the Center Church), Sapa 0203, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Lao Cai Province > Sapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 40 hotels in Sapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thanks for your time to read the information about Thai Binh Sapa Hotel. We renovated our hotel recently and now we have 2 DOUBLE, 2 TWIN and 1 FAMILY (A connecting of 2 rooms with interconecting door, 4 beds and 2 bathrooms). To make it convenient for your trip to Sapa, we can also assist you to book train tickets from Ha Noi to Lao Cai and return, pick up from Lao Cai railways station and transfer to my hotel. We also have local guides (speak good English) to be with your for your trek in the beautiful villages of Sapa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Thai Binh Sapa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thai Binh Hotel Sapa
Sapa Thai Binh Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thai Binh Sapa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.