We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tried to scam us” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Sapa Hotel

Save Saved
You added Holiday Sapa Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Holiday Sapa Hotel
Cau May, Sapa, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 40 hotels in Sapa
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Tried to scam us”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

We arrived to Sapa via motorbikes with that journey unbelievable and unforgettable. We arrived at this hotel to view a room and accepted the $30 a night rate tired and need of shower.

He brought us to a similar room we dropped our gear and started to off load when he said this room $50- ok? We said you cannot accept our $30 deal and bring us to a more expensive room with us not understanding or even seeing the difference in the room.

He said this room not $30 so we picked up our gear to leave hotel when he said ok I ring my manager....after 1 min he said manager said $45 would be ok, we continued for door after giving him a serve then he said ok $30.

Although the hotel was just ok I would definitely never return to this hotel because I do not appreciate being taken for a fool. You don't have to travel the world to know when you are being scammed.

Always view your rooms, discuss amenities you require and confirm your price.

This hotel should get rid of this idiot treating customers in this way.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    34
    37
    32
    17
See reviews for
23
44
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for 2 nights during my visit to Sapa in early January. After coming from a slightly unpleasant experience in my Hanoi hotel, I wasn't having too high hopes for this one. However, my stay here turned out to be rather comfortable and nice.

As we had arrived at 6am, the staff allowed us an early check-in. We were provided breakfast later as well. However, the buffet spread was really disappointing. There was a limited variety of food to choose from (which remained the same every morning), and to make things worse, the food was pretty bland.

The room itself was very spacious and nice. The place, the toilet, the floor and the sheets were clean. The sheets and the blanket were thick, and the bed was soft and very comfortable. The air-con (which we used as a heater) was working as well. There were hangers in the cupboard provided for our usage. The hot water in the shower was working well too. The view from our room should have been nice, but due to the thick fog we could hardly see anything.

However, my friend and I found some of the staff to be impolite and uninterested to serve us. One of the counter staff rudely "hurried" us to return the boots which we had paid for and rented for an entire day, while one of the waitresses was so engrossed with using her mobile phone that she ignored us for a good 15 minutes.

Overall I was pleased with this hotel as a place to stay in. There were minor hiccups, but I would still recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a good value and comfortable place to stay in, but with little (or no) frills.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

The hotel is in a good location in the main street with lots of restaurants nearby. We were very lucky to have a large room with a balcony overlooking the valley and surrounding hills. Some rooms are very small with no window and look very claustrophobic. We had breakfast and dinner included as part of our package deal and all were okay. We were disappointed with the daily cleaning service and the mini-bar was only restocked on the first day. The reception staff were friendly and helpful. Overall we were happy with our stay at this hotel

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

After arriving on overnight train hotel was great to have a hot shower and breakfast. Breakfast was 'limited' and not as great a variety as other Indochina hotels, but it was suitable.

Our room had a great view of the valley and surrounding hills.

Conveniently located on what I gather is the main street and close walk to everything in the town and also close to the start of the walks around the beautiful and amazing hillside.

Hotel and rooms are clean enough; could do with a but of a refresh though. Good local craft shop in the foyer.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

Such a shame as this hotel could be great! The rooms are large with fantastic views but it is dirty and badly run. I thought perhaps we had just been unlucky but after speaking to others it seems our experience is not uncommon. Our bed linen had not been changed and our shampoo soaps etc... Were all half used. Other people had half drunk bottles of water! We had no bottled water in our room and when we pointed this out it was resolved by staff who entered the room without knocking ... This actually happened twice. The bathrooms were horrible and felt dirty. The rooms look like someone had started to reprint and given up.
The food I thought was great and plentiful. Their Pho was excellent! The management team really need to get their act together as this hotel could very easily raise its rating with not much effort at all. As it stands I would not recommend anyone stay here.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nonthaburi, Thailand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

The Hotel was Located on the main road. It was easy to access. I recommend you request the room with valley view. Some standard room no window. The breakfast is not variety but the view at the restaurant is awesome. I could check in room about 8:30. (before schedule) However, no bathroom service after check out. You knew the train to Hanoi started 19:00. You can walk to the lake or market in the city. There is a map at reception staff. The room was pretty clean and staff was not friendly. There were 2 computers for internet at the lobby hotel but the Internet was very slow.

Room Tip: I recommend you request the room with mountain view. Some room no window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 3 days while in Sapa. The staff were friendly and helpful, the rooms large and clean. Breakfast buffett was just ok. Breakfast selection wasn't very varied and the same dishes were offered everyday. Amazing views from the balcony! Would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Sapa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Sapa Hotel

Address: Cau May, Sapa, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Lao Cai Province > Sapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Sapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Holiday Sapa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal View Sapa
Hotel Royal View

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Sapa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.