We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view. Such potential, this place could be great but isn't” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Sapa Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Holiday Sapa Hotel to your Saves list
Holiday Sapa Hotel
Cau May, Sapa, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 44 Hotels in Sapa
Tavira, Portugal
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great view. Such potential, this place could be great but isn't”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Make sure you get a room with a view, otherwise don't stay here. Staff are ok. Breakfast is ok, but less good than than that offered in another hotel only a few hundred meters away ( it's about the presentation, cleanliness, general atmosphere)
This place can't be very old but already has a tired feel. My room was a good size, sheets clean. The bathroom had a shower with plenty of hot water but no shower curtain so water was everywhere. The wiring was interesting. A few bare wires in places and hard to get my adaptor to stay in the wall. The room key had to be inserted for power, mine wouldn't make a connection without being wedged in place with a shampoo bottle!
Lots of potential but I wouldn't come back unless the improved

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    37
    43
    36
    17
See reviews for
25
49
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ft.worth..tx.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

I really liked this horel. The room was so cute ,with a fireplace, Too bad it wasn:t colder so I could use it. It felt like a mountain lodge.The restaurant is very nice also. I got in on the real early train,and they let me get in the room very early..This town was one of my favorite places in Vn. The whole surrounging area was beautiful. The restaurants were great.

Room Tip: There is a good restaurant real close,endorced by Lonlu Planet. It had pasta, I was so excited after...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We booked a tour to Sapa through Vega Travel choosing to stay in a hotel of their arrangement and ended up with the Holiday Sapa Hotel. We arrived very early in the morning and thankfully a room was available immediately. The rooms are very large and but were not adequately heated. The bed was uncomfortable. The shower had a large bath with no shower curtain and a big sign pointing at you saying do not use the bath because Sapa is in the dry season. The room was clean but was of poor quality. The caps on the beer in the fridge were corroding. We heard some sort of small animal scratching around in the ceiling above our bedroom while trying to get to sleep. This all sounds quite bad but the rooms were overall ok. They had two flat screen televisions. The view from the massive shared balcony was fantastic provided the clouds cleared momentarily. The breakfast was very average. I ended up using their sandwich toaster to make toasted cheese and ham sandwiches for breakfast. After we had checked out in the morning we did a tour and when we arrived back the staff were happy to let us have a shower although the dedicated shower for checked out guests was quite filthy. If I went back to Sapa and had the choice I would look for alternative accommodation.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We are fortunate we had a room with mountain view but we can image that people who had a room without, may complain. Service was fine. Breakfast, small choice in western food. Breakfast terrace with mountain view was very nice.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

We did have a lovely room with a million dollar balcony view. It was clean and comfortable. But we were charged a higher price for the days we stayed over the ones that we had pre booked.

Most of the staff were bordering on rude. with the exception of the lovely Cham who was new to reception and a fabulous guide and some of the kitchen staff were lovely too.

We asked them to book a soft sleeper on the train back to Hanoi, days in advance and could get no conformation until the last moment. Clearly they had left it too late and we ended up in a hard sleeper which was terrible.

Location is great, but I would try a hotel in the same street

Room Tip: It would only be worth staying here if you get a balcony room, otherwise I wouldn't bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Usually I read through tripadvisor reviews for every hotel I reserve at. I focus on reviews that gave each hotel a three star or less to see if there are any negative patterns that justify the poor-to-average ratings. Unfortunately, I did not do the regular due diligence with this hotel - placed a deposit for the room and afterwards, looked on tripadvisor where I found a litany of warnings...big mistake.

Here's the story....

A member of our party came down with really bad food poisoning on our last evening in Sapa. He could not travel (we were suppose to leave the next morning) so we decided to stay the next day and night - enough time for recovery, hopefully. Most of the hotels were fully booked (including the one we were staying at) or were asking for more than we could afford. There was a blackout in the town and most hotels were starting to hoard water because of the drought and the threat by officials to shut off the water supply.

Before coming across Holiday Sapa, we saw a few available rooms - all were musty and all said they might not have enough water after the current day. That was not what someone with food poisoning needs. We finally came across Holiday Sapa. The man at the reception desk was nice enough. He showed us a room at a reasonable - though high - price. He said the hotel was not hoarding water because it has two very large water towers that held a ten day supply. He tried to upsell us to the 6th floor suite, which we turned down. We reserved for a room on the 5th floor.

With electricity restored, we came the next day to check in. Our front desk gentleman said the room we were shown had to be given to someone else so he "upgraded" us to the 6th floor suite - the one we didn't want. Sigh. We needed a room so took it. Fools. What we found:

- the floors have not been mopped in awhile - there were footprints all over that you see when sunlight hits it.
- the water basins of the sinks were not properly installed onto the counter and shook/shifted when you leaned on it or when you washed your laundry in it.
- the bottom of the tub made a cracking sound when I stepped into it (I'm 120 lbs). My 240 lbs friend could not use it and so, showered quickly next to the tub and close to the floor drain.
- there were spiders all over the place.
- the construction of the room seemed unfinished - like they just stopped working on it to lease it out quickly - not surprising for Vietnam. Rigged electricity lines, places where the wall did not meet the ceiling, floor boards that were clearly separated from each other.
- no convenient power outlets. They are all about four feet above the floor with no tables nearby to set down your electronic device while it charged on its two foot cord.
- there were two beds - a queen in the bedroom and a twin in the living room. we were all scared of the queen (hard, and felt like it was going to break or pop) so all shared the twin or did not sleep that night (more so the latter).
- the complimentary containers of shampoo, lotion, etc were all reused. The printing on the containers were faded from wear.
- the fridge didn't work even though we kept our room key in the electricity slot so that the room did not loose power.

When we checked in, we asked the front desk gentleman to try to get us a train out of Sapa the following day in the morning - yes, the slow one (we didn't want to be in Sapa anymore and the extra night was going to be a drag). He said there were none until the evening. We had the train schedule...and yes, there was a train. But he refused, saying those trains are horrible experiences. Fine, so we asked if he could book for the evening train. He went ahead and did that. When we came back down to the desk, he said we had to pay him for the train tickets but we had to pick the tickets up at a random travel agency in the same town as the train station but not close to it. First of all, the train station is 45 minutes away from Sapa. Secondly, we needed to call the travel agent so that he'd be at his office which was not close to the station - just in the same town. We told our front desk gentleman to cancel the reservation - it just didn't feel right. Instead, we checked out of this horrible hotel at 5 am (no thank you to your breakfast buffet) and headed to the bus station and got the hell out of Sapa by 7 am.

Room Tip: Choose a room that is not in this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012 via mobile

Good breakfast, coffee is the worst. Directly next to the hotel there are shops and tourist centers where you can book trekking tours and rent motorcycles. The view from the balcony, if you have one, is amazing. We didn't use the spa, so don't know how it is.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Sapa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Sapa Hotel

Address: Cau May, Sapa, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Lao Cai Province > Sapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Sapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Sapa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal View Sapa
Hotel Royal View

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Sapa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.