We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“less than basic, cold rooms” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sapa Summit Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Sapa Summit Hotel to your Saves list
Sapa Summit Hotel
Thacbac Road | Sapa Town, Sapa, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 43 Hotels in Sapa
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“less than basic, cold rooms”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

I stayed there on December 9 2012. The view is the best thing about this hotel, definitely, however I will not recommend it to anyone: the room was very basic, and extreemly cold. They provide you with an electric sheet for your bed, but the room itself is freezing (5c/42f outside) and you need to PAY EXTRA FOR A HEATER. I travel a lot and I have never heard of any place that charges you extra for heating. Besides this issue, this is not a 2 star hotel - 1 star or less, no carpets, old furniture, no real looby, food hall rather than a restaurant, very, very basic food, very few alternatives to rice dishes and mass usage of cooking oil in every dish. There is nothing to do after 8 pm, in or around the hotel - it's about a mile from the city center, and when it's cold and foogy there's no way you'll walk there. Staying at the town's center is a much better option, I wish I've done it.

Room Tip: if you must stay there, ask (in advance) for a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    60
    86
    51
    53
See reviews for
21
104
28
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

The first look at the hotel shows you the tip of the iceberg. The reception is on the third floor. Rooms are located from there down to the first floor with the restaurant on the ground floor. The weather was chilly and damp with no heat in the rooms but the heavy comforters were sufficient. There's an outdoor elevator that's a bit tempermental. There is a lovely garden outside the restaurant from which one can see gorgeous views of the valleys below when it's clear. They feature a good menu selection; a unique breakfast in that there are cups with honey already in the bottom for the special tea drinkers! This is an all world first! The staff is geared to the Trekkers and rightfully so. The trail guides are actual members of one of the ethnic tribes you are about to visit. Sean, the manager of the hotel, is a bilingual, American who is especially efficient and helpful. It was a unique and happy experience and we're look forward to doing it again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

There are set meals and nothing else is available. Worked out on the last day to order individual meals not the set and they were lovely. Large buffet breakfast will give you heaps of energy for the day.
Had our guide, Hai, get him if you can. He is great with kids too! Hired a scooter, which was overpriced, but hoped to have some recourse in case it broke down. Overall, the bathrooms were clean, not too much smell, the rooms were clean and no animals (which was a bonus), the staff were friendly (well, most of them). The view was awesome!!! Just watching the mist in the valley of a morning, it was worth it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Haag
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

Set meals, nothing else is possible. Both got sick from the food. Bar closes at 9pm. Very early. Rooms with almost holes in de floors. Lights not working. Brokendown.

Trekking tours were ok, if you like walking with 50 people through a rice field.

Staff and guides were friendly and wel organised.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Because we were very happy about the Ha Long Bay Tour that we booked trough our hostel in Hanoi, we decided to book another two-day tour in Sapa. Although they are a lot of mixed reviews on this website, they assured us that everything would be fine. And to be honest, it was more than ok. We had a big, spacious and very clean room with a private bathroom. Also the staff was friendly and willing to help all the time. The food in the restaurant is not the best in the world, but more than good enough to have a nice lunch or dinner whilst enjoying the nice view on the terrace. We had a great time, but maybee that is also because during this time of the year it is not that busy. I can imagine that during peak season things could be different. But apart from that, we had no complaints and enjoyed our stay in Sapa to the maximum!

Food recommendations: the daily soup is great, the springrolls very tasty, the fried aubergine is not really our favourite, the curry is good and if you are lucky, the chickenburger will blow you away :-)

Room Tip: Not all the rooms have a nice view, so if you really want a view over the valley, ask at reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Beautiful view from this hotel overlooking the valley. The room was spacious and clean though almost smelled hospital clean. Had trouble with the shower: one day only cold water, the next day only hot. This hotel has a big challenge with people arriving from the night train at 8 am and others not checking out until noon. I was impressed with the services provided to accommodate this: storage room for your bags, extra shower rooms for those arriving back from hikes, but taking the night train or just arriving from a ride on the night train. A tour desk is also situated right in the lobby to help with the logistics of any booked tours. The restaurant food was very good and the breakfast buffet impressive. It includes an open patio area with a stunning view of the Sapa valley

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

worn room with a musty smell and no air condition.
very bad breakfast with very little variety, same goes with lunch and dinner!
next to and in the hotel was construction work during the whole day...
our rented motorbike was in a bad condition,too. we liked the elevator, though.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sapa Summit Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sapa Summit Hotel

Address: Thacbac Road | Sapa Town, Sapa, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Lao Cai Province > Sapa
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 43 Hotels in Sapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Sapa Summit Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summit Sapa
Sapa Summit

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sapa Summit Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.