We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sapa Summit Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Sapa Summit Hotel to your Saves list
Sapa Summit Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Thacbac Road | Sapa Town, Sapa, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 47 Hotels in Sapa
Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“good value...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

There are set meals and nothing else is available. Worked out on the last day to order individual meals not the set and they were lovely. Large buffet breakfast will give you heaps of energy for the day.
Had our guide, Hai, get him if you can. He is great with kids too! Hired a scooter, which was overpriced, but hoped to have some recourse in case it broke down. Overall, the bathrooms were clean, not too much smell, the rooms were clean and no animals (which was a bonus), the staff were friendly (well, most of them). The view was awesome!!! Just watching the mist in the valley of a morning, it was worth it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    69
    94
    61
    56
See reviews for
24
115
33
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Den Haag
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

Set meals, nothing else is possible. Both got sick from the food. Bar closes at 9pm. Very early. Rooms with almost holes in de floors. Lights not working. Brokendown.

Trekking tours were ok, if you like walking with 50 people through a rice field.

Staff and guides were friendly and wel organised.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Because we were very happy about the Ha Long Bay Tour that we booked trough our hostel in Hanoi, we decided to book another two-day tour in Sapa. Although they are a lot of mixed reviews on this website, they assured us that everything would be fine. And to be honest, it was more than ok. We had a big, spacious and very clean room with a private bathroom. Also the staff was friendly and willing to help all the time. The food in the restaurant is not the best in the world, but more than good enough to have a nice lunch or dinner whilst enjoying the nice view on the terrace. We had a great time, but maybee that is also because during this time of the year it is not that busy. I can imagine that during peak season things could be different. But apart from that, we had no complaints and enjoyed our stay in Sapa to the maximum!

Food recommendations: the daily soup is great, the springrolls very tasty, the fried aubergine is not really our favourite, the curry is good and if you are lucky, the chickenburger will blow you away :-)

Room Tip: Not all the rooms have a nice view, so if you really want a view over the valley, ask at reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Beautiful view from this hotel overlooking the valley. The room was spacious and clean though almost smelled hospital clean. Had trouble with the shower: one day only cold water, the next day only hot. This hotel has a big challenge with people arriving from the night train at 8 am and others not checking out until noon. I was impressed with the services provided to accommodate this: storage room for your bags, extra shower rooms for those arriving back from hikes, but taking the night train or just arriving from a ride on the night train. A tour desk is also situated right in the lobby to help with the logistics of any booked tours. The restaurant food was very good and the breakfast buffet impressive. It includes an open patio area with a stunning view of the Sapa valley

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012 via mobile

worn room with a musty smell and no air condition.
very bad breakfast with very little variety, same goes with lunch and dinner!
next to and in the hotel was construction work during the whole day...
our rented motorbike was in a bad condition,too. we liked the elevator, though.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

horrible place -do not stay there!!!
we were stuck there for 2 days as part of the tour and found this place disguising! we arrived from Hanoi on the morning train to be told that our rooms would be available from midday-we know this is a standard procedure but they should really think this through again when having frequent tours in their hotel- considering that people travel during the night on the noisy and quite uncomfortable train from Hanoi!They offered us a wash in the common showers in the garden that was so dirty and smelly we would not even wash our dog in there!Later on we found out that the following day we would have to check out until 9 am(before going for another trek)while leaving our belongings in the common luggage room where anyone could have had an access to!so we decided to pay for a late check out for agreed fee (we had basically paid them for another night)-the fee miraculously went up by 8$ when we were checking out !The state of our room was appalling-the woodwork have been half- eaten by damp,smelly and unpleasant,our bathroom had a similar standard to the common showers in the garden!!!!
On the arrival back to the hotel from the trek (day two) we found out that the room had not been made up so we had had no clean towels,no toilet paper but they still managed to steal my silk scarf( a present from my mum!) and my original dr dre`s headphones!!The food was really bad and inedible -the worst we have had Asia so far(we travel to Asia every year!)!Reception stuff were rude ,unhelpful-when asked for my stolen belongings-they pretended that they spoke a very little English!
Our advice-do not book any organised tours from Hanoi -if you do so-check your hotel beforehand!
GO TO HANOI TRAIN STATION AND BUY TICKETS. There is a tourist information booth with staff that speak good English and sell ticket to Sa Pa(You will safe money on-no tour agency fees)
Find yourself a decent hotel in Sa Pa, hire yourself a Black Hmong tour guide and pay her directly because otherwise those girls earn very little from those horribly organized tours.
Sa Pa is so beautiful to give it a miss but think carefully, otherwise you may end up in this horrible hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

This place is an absolute nightmare. The hygienic conditions are dangerous for your health, the food disgusting. Rooms smell of mould and humidity. No air conditioning (although that seems to be standard in Sapa). The location is bad, a 15 min walk from the centre. So-called trekking tours offered by the hotel just have you walk along dirty paved streets full of honking scooters and people aggressively trying to sell you stuff. Their office in Hanoi where you have to pick up your voucher is scary: we bought our sapa stay in ho chi minh city with STA Travel (thought you could trust them) and they made us pick up the voucher in the sapa summite hotel office in Hanoi. That 'office' is in a tiny room in a dark, dirty building in which we had to hold our breath to get through the dark concrete corridors full of rats. Am attaching the picture with the view from the hotel room - it does not show the workers who had fantastic view of our room unless the curtaisn were drawn.

Room Tip: Stay away!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Sapa Summit Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sapa Summit Hotel

Address: Thacbac Road | Sapa Town, Sapa, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Lao Cai Province > Sapa
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 47 Hotels in Sapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sapa Summit Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Sapa Summit Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summit Sapa
Sapa Summit

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sapa Summit Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.