We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice experiences there” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Darling Hotel

Save Saved
You added Darling Hotel to your Saves list
Darling Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Darling Hotel
Thac Bac Road, Sapa, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 40 hotels in Sapa
Hanoi, Vietnam
1 review
“Nice experiences there”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

This hotel is located in quiet place, so it's good for your sleeping. It takes about 5-10 mins to walk from here to center of town.

Quite nice room at reasonable price. I paid 15$ net (not included breakfast) for a comfortable twin room with good-enough facilities, having bath tub, heating fan, fireplace (actually I didn't need to use), always warm water for cleaning....

It was cold and foggy there during my stay, so I couldn't experience the great view from this hotel to outside as refered from many travelers who have stayed here. Maybe I will try next time when having chance to come back Sapa.

Speacial thanks to Ms. Yen receptionist. She is so friendly, helpful and pleasant. She offered me natural care and gave me good recommendations for the trip.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    3
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Berne
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2011

The hotel is charming and nice. Staff is quite friendly. rooms are nice, good warm shower. I think it is a good address in summer time. But in winther-time it is not the best choice: no heating! (5° Celsius in the room), very humid, very poor heating fan for 3 USD per night available, not enough to heat the room to 10° Celsius. At the price for the room of 15 USD this is not correct. restaurant closed during winther season. chimney is only for decoration in the room. Expect to have cold in this hotel!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2010

I always stay there each time coming to Sapa, it's a good place although you have to walk a for 5-10 minutes to the centre of town, but the price here is reasonable and the facilities is newer and better than other hotel at the same range of price

Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2009

My friend and I arrived in Sapa after a very long bus ride. We walked up to the Darling and were welcomed by the very friendly staff. We did not have a reservation and they gave us a tour of the rooms to pick from. We choose our rooms which had a great view from the balcony and we were sitting on the outside deck looking at the mountains and drinking a great cup of coffee within 10 minutes. It was cold and wet in Sapa but our rooms had nice warm bedding. The rooms were clean, bathrooms a little lame but for 10 bucks a night I would have stayed a week had we not had other plans.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2006

I have been in 14 hotels lately in Asia and Darling is the worst among them. The main reason is its disastrous maintenance.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2006

The rooms, while large, are disgusting. They are dark and dirty. However, they do have great views (which the staff can't stop talking about). Looks like they've rested on their laurels a bit and depended on the views to keep them going while the hotel has gone downhill. There are much nicer, cheaper, cleaner hotels with great views in Sapa - like the Sapa Summit Hotel just further up the street - and the Royal View (next to Handspan office)

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Darling Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Darling Hotel

Address: Thac Bac Road, Sapa, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Lao Cai Province > Sapa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 40 hotels in Sapa
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Darling Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Darling Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.