We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hostel/hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain View Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Mountain View Hotel to your Saves list
Mountain View Hotel
54 Cau May, Sapa, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 46 Hotels in Sapa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The best hostel/hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

New manager! He bought the hotel and try to make a hostel.
They don't have any dorms. The price for bed is 160.000 dong. I stayed in a room and shared it with a guy. Every room has their own bathroom and a heater.
You have an amazing view over the valley and mountains.
Every morning you get a massive free breakfast. You get 1 omlette and the rest is all you can eat (potatoes, pancakes, banana, watermelon, toast, butter).
It is really relaxed and easy to meet people.
For a backpacker it is more staying in a hotel instead of a hostel!

This is my favourite hostel within 1 year of traveling!!!

Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    5
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
3
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hostel could be so much better than it currently is. It is fairly new, very clean and in a really handy location for exploring the town, but there are a few big things that are letting them down. I stayed for 3 days but it wasn't until the last morning that I managed to get any hot water at all from the shower. Elsewhere in Vietnam I could probably handle that, but a hot shower is important in Sapa! The 'dorm' room that I booked turned out to be a twin room sharing with one other person - slightly awkward. Also, the room only had one key so it needed to be handed in and collected at reception every time we left the room. Admittedly only a small annoyance but one that should be very easy to fix. The room was otherwise fine and had great views of the surrounding mountains. The best part of the hostel was the common area, which had a lot of space for lounging around, and the bar/restaurant, which has decent Mexican food and happy hour with two for one beers. Free buffet breakfast for guests was good, with a better variety than many places offer.
Overall, I'd say this place is pretty good value, but would definitely be better for couples (double room for the price of a dorm) rather than solo travellers. If they sort out some of their issues, this place could be an excellent hostel, but right now it's just average.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Disorganised, and needs some serious work.

No hot water for a chunk of whilst we were there, staff seemed to have no idea as to why or when it may return - though one suggested it was plumbing work. If this was the case, we should have been informed in advance as we would have chosen to stay elsewhere. Hot water sort of back on our last day - my shower was warm, but the boyfriend's wasn't.

Rooms poorly designed - particularly the bathrooms which are one giant wet room so are completely covered in muddy water after you shower post trek. Glass doors on both bathroom doors and bedroom doors - whilst frosted, poor for privacy.

Noisy in the morning (from about 6) though the bar closes at 10 ish so ok on an evening.

Breakfast pretty good - omelettes, toast, fried potatoes, fruit and pancakes - can help yourself to as much as you want and was pretty tasty.

Bar / restaurant area nice - particularly the big soft rugs as seating. Lots of books and games kicking around for use.

Reception staff : always a long wait for everything and seemed to have no idea what they were doing or what was going on most of the time. Would ask you to come back saying they'd sort something - but they would have completely forgotten when you did go back. They were busy, and they tried to be helpful! But frustrating nonetheless.

They claim their housekeeping service the rooms daily: nobody came into our room whilst we were here. Not necessary in a hostel at all: but don't advertise something you don't provide. In addition, the double we had was too large for the bed sheets meaning the sheet was just laid on he bed so slid off when you slept in it. Felt a little farcical!

No TV signal - again, don't really need it, but don't advertise TVs in room when they don't work.

Wifi intermittent and unavailable in parts of the hostel. Ok ish in the lobby but when I tried to Skype home it kept failing so still not great.

This place has promise: but there's so much that needs fixing at the moment. They have notices up saying they're a work in progress: fine, but it's a bit much asking us to put up with all of these problems when still charging full price. (Rooms rates are the same as Hanoi original). And they're promising so much on their website that when you book your expectation is something completely different.

To be fair, we paid a dorm room rate for a double - they don't seem to have too many dorm rooms at the moment so most people seemed to have twins / doubles regardless of what they'd booked. Arguably we got a decent deal then, though you could definitely get a double with actual hot water for 15 usd elsewhere in Sa Pa.

We asked at the hotel about a transfer to the train - and were quote 150k vnd. Local bus 30k most other hotels seemed to offer door to door at 50k. Rather surprising to find a hostel quoting triple the rate of hotels for this.

Their tours are also very expensive compared to others - they claim they're the only ones doing that route: which may well be true, but we did find another company offering private treks in a similar area that was significantly better value.

Perhaps in a year or so when they've had time to get up and running properly it'll be a good place to stay. For now, I'd give it a miss.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annemieke8, General Manager at Mountain View Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Pentala,

I am sorry to hear that you experience in our hostel did not live up to your expectations. We are indeed a hostel that just started up and we need to smooth out some things as any other new hostel. I would like to thank you for your comments, so we can improve the experience our customers have with us. We have fixed the hot water issues by now and ensured it will not happen again in the future.

Enjoy the rest of your holidays/travels in Vietnam!

Mieke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We looked around the accommodation for a while trying to pick somewhere comfortable and chilled out and we are so glad that we stumbled across this absolute gem.

A new hostel which is clean and very comfortable. We couldn't believe our luck when we got to the beds and there were electric blankets underneath!! After a soggy and cold motorbike up to Sapa these were much appreciated. SUPER cosy.

The staff are all very friendly - with a mix of western and Vietnamese staff. We had left our passports in Hanoi to get an extension and they even organised for them to be brought up to us through their sister hostel in Hanoi (when we didn't even stay there when in Hanoi). They were brought up safely on the bus for no charge whatsoever. Very very helpful and saved us a trip back to Hanoi on the motorbikes.

Every night they have a different deal on regarding food and drink. Very sociable and chilled atmosphere. Some chill on big pillows, others play drinking games and hit the bars! Great for every traveller and not rowdy like many other western hostels can get. Simply perfect.

Food very tasty and breakfast ridiculously good - omelette station and pancakes - what more could you want?

Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annemieke8, General Manager at Mountain View Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Henmm,

Thank you so much for your feedback. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

Hopefully see you again some day in the future!

Enjoy the rest of your holiday/travels in Vietnam/Asia.

Mieke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The place itself is absolutely fine, good location, the staff is super friendly and helpful, the food is good and the chill out area is great for when you're tired form trekking. However I would not recommend it to anyone travelling solo. We arrived as a big group who booked through the same hostel, but for some reason they insisted on putting me in a twin room with a complete stranger, a room with no lockers and only one key!! After complaining profusely about this they let me share a room with one of the guys I arrived with and already knew, but made it seem like I got a great deal because I just paid for a dorm... They have no dorms. Luckily I managed to share with someone I knew, if not I would not have stayed here. Felt really uncomfortable to be put in that situation when you're traveling solo, so do NOT stay here if you're by yourself. I hope they create dorms in the future, with lockers and keys, because the current set up really doesn't work. The constant smell of fires and bugs into our room due to no isolation on the windows didn't help either, but that's expected.

Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annemieke8, General Manager at Mountain View Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Cathrine K,

I am sorry to hear that you had a bad experience staying with us. Unfortunately when people book to stay in the Mountain View hostel from one of our sister hostels in Hanoi, we are not able to see which bookings 'belong' together (who are friends so to speak). So when we make a schedule for our bookings for all the rooms we have in the morning, it is possible we put two strangers in one room together. We are a new hostel and at the moment our dorms are not up and running yet. This means that our private rooms function as a 2 person dorm with en suite bathroom. I would say paying a dorm price for a room with maximum 2 people, isn't a bad deal?

Concerning the lockers, we have a safe at the reception where you are able to leave all your valuables safe with us. We will however, when the proper dorm rooms are up and running, install private lockers with each bed in each room, so you are in charge of your valuables.

I would like to thank you for your comments as we are seeking to improve the experience our customers have in our hostel at any time!

Enjoy the rest of your holiday/travels in Vietnam/Asia.

Mieke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Clean, friendly, organised, excellent communal area, not much to fault with this place although I think going on the house stays with the local women is a much better and cheaper option than going through the hostel. They also booked our ongoing travel. Did I mention it has awesome views? Great hostel!

Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a wonderful time in Sapa, we stay 2 night here, breakfast was very good, room was good the mattress was not that good. all the staff very helpful all of them speak English. nice bar and food, amazing leaving room, offering activities almost every day, regarding tours and trekking from my point of view are very expensive, bearing in mind that is a backpackers place. overall is a very good place to spend time, I would be back and I would recommend it

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mountain View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain View Hotel

Address: 54 Cau May, Sapa, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Lao Cai Province > Sapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Sapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Sapa Hostel - The Mountain View - is located in the heart of Sapa town just minutes from the town square sporting some truly epic views of the Sapa Valley. Our cozy rooms are all heated, providing an excellent base for exploring the rich diversity of ethnic groups and gorgeous terraced valleys Sapa offers. After exploring you can put your feet up in our Mexican inspired bar and restaurant - El Buffalo - You'll be greeted by a cranking wood fire, a range of hearty western foods, Tex Mex and local dishes. So Kick off your boots and jackets in our custom built drying room and then plop yourself down next to the fire while you smash a burrito and a fishbowl margarita! The Mountain View offers a number of comfortable room configurations from 4-6 bed dormitories to shared twins and private rooms with twin beds or double beds. All of our rooms have rain shower suites with an endless supply of hot water and did we mention they're heated! Here at VBH we pride ourselves on providing tours that are off the beaten track. All of our tours in Sapa reflect this. We don't go into the main tourist valley of Sapa, we're found some truly beautify place's offering real homestay experience. Expose yourself to the real culture and colour of Vietnam's ethnic minorities on a trek through spectacular terraced rice paddies, bamboo groves and thatch villages. Or become a legend and Touch the Top of Indochine at the summit of Mount Fansipan. Everyone who touches the top gets their name etched on the Fansipan Wall of Fame for all eternity and a free Burrito and Fishbowl! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Mountain View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain View Sapa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain View Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.