We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An average hotel but too cold in winter” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bamboo Sapa Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Bamboo Sapa Hotel to your Saves list
Bamboo Sapa Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   018 Muong Hoa Road, Sapa 0084, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 39 Hotels in Sapa
Wollongong, Australia
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
“An average hotel but too cold in winter”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed here for one night. After a very early arrival (5.30am), we were given a delicious welcome cup of tea to warm us up. Needed to visited the lobby toilet and it needed cleaning. They have a system in Vietnam where a hose is provided, so you can hose the toilet and or floor after using. Obviously someone had done that prior to us arriving, hence the wet area. The lobby was not heated, and after signing in we were taken to the restaurant for breakfast. The restaurant was huge with high ceilings and was freezing, so we just left our parkas on. Sapa is generally cold and it was winter, so we were surprised that these areas were not heated. The very good buffet breakfast is huge, with plenty of choice. The jam however was very unpalatable. After breakfast we were taken to our rooms, even though checkin would have probably been after lunch. The room was a good size, beds quite comfortable and quite clean.We had 2 three quarter sized beds in our room, but again the room was cold. It had an old fashioned oiled filled heater in the room which comes on at 5pm and goes off at 6am. I don't know if this is a cost saving exercise, but visitors to Sapa are generally out every day, looking at the sights. Apart from sitting in the lobby or in your room, there's nothing to do in the hotel, so perhaps they don't think it's necessary to heat it. I got a stomach bug on the first day, possibly from our lunch in a local restaurant. That evening after having dinner out, I felt extremely cold and feverish and asked why the hotel wasn't heated. They said that the heaters would stay on the next day. I asked and got an extra quilt for the bed, but threw if off during the night as the room was warm enough. The next morning the heaters had been turned off. I think everything is on a timer. On a good note, the views from our room were to die for. We were lucky that on our 1st day, there wasn't much mist, so we could see into the valley. Sapa in a wonderful place to visit and there's a lot worse hotels to stay in. If visiting in winter as we did, I would stay in another hotel that kept it's heaters on. At other times, this hotel would be fine. Free internet computers were available in the lobby.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    108
    65
    23
    14
See reviews for
38
99
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Heating kept breaking down and at the time Sapa was 0 degrees and covered in cloud. The staff were reluctant to give us an electric heater and when they did they tried to barge into our room(twice) to take them back. We were so cold we slept in our thermal underwear. When we tried to complain to the manager he refused to see us for three days and on one occasion denied he was the manager. A member of staff then tried turning our electrics off by a cut off switch that was situated in the corridor outside. This happened 3 times and then we caught this person actively turning off our electrics. By this time we actually felt unsafe and decided to leave on the third night. I would never recommend staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Bear Lake, Minnesota
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stayed here in December. This is a very cute hotel, and the views out of our room would have been SPECTACULAR it it hadn't been foggy and misting the entire time here. I think we picked the wrong time of the year to visit Sapa (pretty cold and wet).

Positives: the room was nice and cute. The beds were comfortable (compared with many of the other beds we had in Vietnam). The view would have been fantastic. The staff were helpful and kind. The location was fine (although any hotel in Sapa would be close enough to be in the same area). The breakfast selection was pretty good.

Negatives: the heat didn't get turned on until 4pm or so, and it was cold and damp there. One person in our travel group didn't get their heat working until bedtime (something was wrong with her radiator).

I presume that it wasn't the hotel's fault, but the electricity kept going out. When it would go out, then partial power would come on a few minutes later, so it seemed like they had a generator or something for backup.

I can't speak to the value, as this was booked as part of a tour.

All in all I would recommend this hotel for your Sapa stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

Have stayed here twice now. SaPa isn't really a place you go to where you are spending your time in your hotel room. The rooms are comfortable 3 star accomodation once you have been out trekking then go into the town for dinner it's time to sleep. Never had a problem with noise until the roosters wake you up early in the morning. But for me that's all part of it. Great place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Lambert, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Great hotel on a fantastic spot. The view was amazing. The room had a high ceiling, big windows adding to the impression of grandeur. The room and the linens spotless. Staff friendly, very attentive. The breakfast was good and plenty. Hotel in a great spot close to city center and restaurants.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

We had only 1 night in Sapa but we were glad to stay here. The rooms are huge by usual Vietnamese standards. The staff were helpful and the breakfasts pretty decent. If the weather closes in, then you won't benefit from the balcony, large windows offering the great views and may have wished you'd chosen more basic digs. If, like us, you arrived and departed on the o/n train, the the large space is definitely worth it.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

My travel companion and I stayed here in October 2012 as part of a month long tour of SE Asia.
I cannot say enough good things about the Bamboo Sapa. We arrived very very early from Lao Cai, after the overnight train ride from Hanoi and were greeted warmly and given the chance to freshen up. Our room was on the main floor, at first I thought this would mean no view, boy was I wrong!!!! Wonderful high ceilings our room with a balcony and stunning views over the valley at mountains. We were able to leave the door to our balcony open at night to take advantage of the cooler mountain air in Sapa. What a blessing after sweating our brains out in the lowlands of Vietnam to find this cool, sometimes foggy little city on top of a mountain!!!! Our room had two double beds and a great bathroom. We had a fireplace also....didn't need it (I prefer cool temps anyhow). Breakfast buffet was more than adequate to fill us up before our daily hikes and walks. We also had lunches at the hotel included in our tour and were often the only people in the restaurant. The service was excellent!!! The local people can be a bit reserved at first, but they are so outgoing and friendly once you break the ice it was wonderful. Highly recommend the Bamboo Sapa super convienent to everything and walking around town is no problem.

Room Tip: Stay in the main building with mountain views, all rooms from the main floor up have stunning views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bamboo Sapa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bamboo Sapa Hotel

Address: 018 Muong Hoa Road, Sapa 0084, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Lao Cai Province > Sapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 39 Hotels in Sapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bamboo Sapa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3-star Bamboo Sapa Hotel is considered one of the leading Vietnam hotels in Sapa, especially well-known for its incredible views of the valley and its unbeatable service. Guests are provided a unique stay, different from other Vietnam accommodation options. The cosy rooms at Bamboo Sapa Hotel will leave a lasting impression! One of the best restaurants in Sapa is located at Bamboo Sapa Hotel. Serving a rich menu with over 100 traditional Vietnamese dishes cooked by an experienced chef, the delicious food combined with the excellent service continually build this Sapa restaurant's ranking. What better than to eat gourmet Vietnamese food at the foot of Fansipan Mt? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bamboo Sapa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bamboo Hotel Sapa
Sapa Bamboo Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bamboo Sapa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;