We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little bit of the Alps in Vietnam. Views are amazing.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bamboo Sapa Hotel

Save Saved
You added Bamboo Sapa Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bamboo Sapa Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   018 Muong Hoa Road, Sapa 0084, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 38 Hotels in Sapa
Mission Beach
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A little bit of the Alps in Vietnam. Views are amazing.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights at end of October. Views from the balcony are phenomenal. Definitely take your wide angle lens if your camera has one. Usual hotel room, but very clean and quiet. No lift, but the stairs were good exercise. The buffet breakfast can be served outside or inside, and there is a good choice. I always have the Vietnamese Pho, delicious. Very good staff on front desk who did all they could to make our stay comfortable. Good location in SaPa and easy to walk and find somewhere good for a meal, as well as a massage after a day's trekking. It was very hot when we were there, and we needed an umbrella to prevent me getting sunburnt while trekking down the mountains.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    108
    65
    23
    14
See reviews for
38
99
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

Loved this hotel. Friendly attentive staff who saw that we were exhausted and gave us the keys as soon as the room was available. The views from the windows are gorgeous, more like an European chalet than something in Asia. Loving it here.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Booked a Mountain View Deluxe for 2 nights. King bedded room with LCD TV (we didn't use it as there's too much to see/do), nice bathroom. Balcony is great to stand on, but no chairs. Some other reviewers point out there's no lift (aka elevator) but really if the stairs are a challenge maybe you shouldn't go to the mountainous terrain in the first place. Much of the walking in the area zigzags up and down the mountains. Two computers in the lobby help in keep one in touch with the 'outside world.' The staff were courteous but we were so busy (and had a local guide) that we didn't have to test them out on local knowledge.

The time of year (October) was great and we opened the windows at night so lack of a/c didn't matter. Nothing to do with the hotel but a neighbourhood dog managed to bark for much of both nights without developing laryngitis.

As a number of tour groups use the hotel, see if you can find out when groups plan to use the restaurant for breakfast as the omelette preparation at the end of the line can cause other foods on your plate to cool off. Best to go to the buffet twice with the omelette in the second go around.

We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the main stairs as the hard surfaced hallway walls bounce sound. Many guest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We were booked into this hotel by the tour operator we used to take us to Sapa. Pro's were fantastic view, spacious and a quiet place to hide from our new friends waiting on the street who were secretly trying to sell us stuff (sound familiar). Con's: no air con, no lifts, dated decor and facilities, and only one choice at restaurant for evening which was a poor replica of a western type meal. It was so sad that I can't really remember what it was other than their version of chips were five tiny strips of deep fried sweet potatoes. So suggest you find somewhere else to eat. Even the local Vietnamese lunch we had while trekking through the various villages was a 100% improvement.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Our Tour Agents in Hanoi booked us into this hotel. As a first timer to Sapa, I found this hotel ok, and good place for a night. The front office staff was extremely courteous , and allowed us to check in early. We had a party of 3 persons, which originally booked a triple. We were touched and happy that they allotted us 2 separate rooms with good view. There were Wi fi in lobby and restaurant. We had good breakfast and meals in the restaurant.

A nice place for us to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metz, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed at the Bamboo Sapa hotel for one night. We were allocated a clean and spacious room, with a king-size bed, LCD TV, minibar, 2 bottles of water provided free of charge from the hotel, coffee and tea available to us to be prepared with the usual electric kettle, two armchairs and a small table placed in front of the large glass door that opened onto a lovely balcony. Bathroom and spacious, with a nice shower glass large.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
siem reap
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Stayed her for a couple of nights, and without doubt the best thing about the place is the view over the valley. Definitely not worth getting a cheap room, you have to have a deluxe room (ie with a view).

Breakfast is OK, pretty standard Asian 3* buffet. Restaurant looked pricey and characterless, so ate out (The Hill Station definitely recommended, and hte Hmong Sisters across the roads has beers and atmosphere at half the price).

Bed comfy (enormous, in fact), shower OK, internet OK. Does everything adequately, but just too soulless to enjoy spending time there.

Room Tip: Deluxe, and 1st floor - no lift so you want to be at street level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bamboo Sapa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bamboo Sapa Hotel

Address: 018 Muong Hoa Road, Sapa 0084, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Lao Cai Province > Sapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 38 Hotels in Sapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bamboo Sapa Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3-star Bamboo Sapa Hotel is considered one of the leading Vietnam hotels in Sapa, especially well-known for its incredible views of the valley and its unbeatable service. Guests are provided a unique stay, different from other Vietnam accommodation options. The cosy rooms at Bamboo Sapa Hotel will leave a lasting impression! One of the best restaurants in Sapa is located at Bamboo Sapa Hotel. Serving a rich menu with over 100 traditional Vietnamese dishes cooked by an experienced chef, the delicious food combined with the excellent service continually build this Sapa restaurant's ranking. What better than to eat gourmet Vietnamese food at the foot of Fansipan Mt? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Tingo, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Bamboo Sapa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bamboo Hotel Sapa
Sapa Bamboo Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bamboo Sapa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.