We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap, great location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Sapa Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Sapa Hotel to your Saves list
Royal Sapa Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   054B Cau May Street | Sapa Town, Sapa 330000, Vietnam   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
Ranked #3 of 47 Hotels in Sapa
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Cheap, great location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I stayed here in January, as such the room was cold. I confirmed a heater was available before I checked in and it was brought up to my room and set up straight away. I did use the doona off the second bed at night which ensured a good warm nights sleep. There was no hot water, but I didn't ask staff about it so I can't complain. Keep in mind January is very cold in Sapa and come with realistic expectations of a hotel at this price ($15 a night).
Room was clean.
Staff were friendly. I spent most of my time out of the hotel enjoying Sapa.
The location is very good, close to many restaurants and cafes.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal_Sapa_hotel, Giám đốc bán hàng at Royal Sapa Hotel, responded to this review, July 6, 2015
Dear Valued Customer,
Warmest greetings from Royal Sapa Hotel!
Thank you very much for taking time to write a review about Royal Sapa Hotel on Tripadvisor and thank you very much to spent your holiday with our hotel. we are just a new owner of thí hotel since 18th june 2014. after receipted this hotel back from the previous owner we were spent alot of time and also money to upgrading the facilities and now it already has a good standard. you can refer about our information on internet, website or other new review from other traveler since 18th june 2014 so far but anyway we are so sorry to heard of any trouble that you were have had during your stay in this hotel before we will see that for our experience to keep trying to improving our services and we hope that we will have an opportunity to see you again in our hotel so that you can see what is was changed.

Kindly Regarding
Thanh Do/Mr
Sale Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    17
    21
    8
    15
See reviews for
44
75
41
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We arrived on 14 Dec morning. Had our breakfast while savouring the great view outside too.

Requested for rooms facing the mountains and our wishes were granted.

There's no heater in the room so I guess winter is the not the best season to stay in this hotel? Other facilities, esp the toilet, also needs to be improved in order provide better comfort.

Nonetheless, the good waiter at their restaurant compensated for the "could-be-better hardware".
My boyfriend and I are vegetarians, the waiter were very patient in listening to our requests and making sure what we could or couldn't eat. Their vegetables and tofu were very fresh! Heard from the manager that they had their own vegetable garden.

We checked out on the third day morning but left our luggages in the hotel as we were heading for a trekking in Sapa. After trekking, we went back to the hotel and they gave us a room to rest and to take a bath. This service was free! Maybe other hotels also have this kind of service but still, we're really grateful for that!

The hotel is located in Sapa town and surrounded by many shops hence making shopping quite convenient.


Would give a rating between 3-4 stars for this hotel.

Room Tip: There's another hotel behind the Royal Hotel, so get a room near the staircase or facing the mou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal_Sapa_hotel, Giám đốc bán hàng at Royal Sapa Hotel, responded to this review, July 6, 2015
Dear Valued Customer,
Warmest greetings from Royal Sapa Hotel!
Thank you very much for taking time to write a review about Royal Sapa Hotel on Tripadvisor and thank you very much to spent your holiday with our hotel. we are just a new owner of thí hotel since 18th june 2014. after receipted this hotel back from the previous owner we were spent alot of time and also money to upgrading the facilities and now it already has a good standard. you can refer about our information on internet, website or other new review from other traveler since 18th june 2014 so far but anyway we are so sorry to heard of any trouble that you were have had during your stay in this hotel before we will see that for our experience to keep trying to improving our services and we hope that we will have an opportunity to see you again in our hotel so that you can see what is was changed.

Kindly Regarding
Thanh Do/Mr
Sale Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRANCE
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We were so lucky to choose our stay in Sapa at Sapa Royal Hotel. It was a very good hotel really. Room was large, clean and having good views through the window. Staff could not be better, especially Mr. Ky- Manager of the hotel. He's helpful and know how to treat guests in details- very professional. We will come back and Royal Hotel will still be our next choice.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal_Sapa_hotel, Giám đốc bán hàng at Royal Sapa Hotel, responded to this review, July 6, 2015
Dear JEANCLAUDE2,
Warmest greetings from Royal Sapa Hotel!
Thank you very much for taking time to wire a beautiful about us and thank you very much of your choice to stay with us. we are always welcome you back when ever you can.

Kind Regards
Thanh Do/Mr
Sale Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ha noi
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights and were really happy. Good location and view from the room.
Very satisfied with breakfast and hotel staff here (especially the female receptionist).
Room's clean and large with window (Though it would be better if there were some decoration inside the room, that's the only negative point here)
Recommend to stay here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal_Sapa_hotel, Giám đốc bán hàng at Royal Sapa Hotel, responded to this review, July 6, 2015
Dear Valued Customer,
Warmest greetings from Royal Sapa Hotel!
Thank you very much for taking time to write a review about Royal Sapa Hotel on Tripadvisor and thank you very much to spent your holiday with our hotel. we are just a new owner of thí hotel since 18th june 2014. after receipted this hotel back from the previous owner we were spent alot of time and also money to upgrading the facilities and now it already has a good standard. you can refer about our information on internet, website or other new review from other traveler since 18th june 2014 so far but anyway we are so sorry to heard of any trouble that you were have had during your stay in this hotel before we will see that for our experience to keep trying to improving our services and we hope that we will have an opportunity to see you again in our hotel so that you can see what is was changed.

Kindly Regarding
Thanh Do/Mr
Sale Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton England UK
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

Stayed here for 1 night. There was loud music playing in the basement night club right below our room. They turned it down after we complained but it went back up after 5 mins. We changed rooms only to find a building sight outside so were woken at 7.30am by the noise. The rooms were clean but many features broken and a lot of loose and exposed wiring. Staff not particularly helpful and seemed to spend a lot of time sitting around watching TV and playing on the computer.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal_Sapa_hotel, Giám đốc bán hàng at Royal Sapa Hotel, responded to this review, July 6, 2015
Dear Valued Customer,
Warmest greetings from Royal Sapa Hotel!
Thank you very much for taking time to write a review about Royal Sapa Hotel on Tripadvisor and thank you very much to spent your holiday with our hotel. we are just a new owner of thí hotel since 18th june 2014. after receipted this hotel back from the previous owner we were spent alot of time and also money to upgrading the facilities and now it already has a good standard. you can refer about our information on internet, website or other new review from other traveler since 18th june 2014 so far but anyway we are so sorry to heard of any trouble that you were have had during your stay in this hotel before we will see that for our experience to keep trying to improving our services and we hope that we will have an opportunity to see you again in our hotel so that you can see what is was changed.

Kindly Regarding
Thanh Do/Mr
Sale Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

Organised as part of our tour to Sapa. Breakfast was nice but the service was quite poor. Nowhere in the hotel seemed to have heating except for direct heaters (pretty much spotlights which only warmed us when we sat in the narrow line of fire). Originally our room didn't have a heater but the tour operator went and got us one. The light was so intense that we couldn't sleep with it on. There was no way of keeping the room warm in possibly minus temperatures. This made our experience in an otherwise stunning town quite unpleasant.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal_Sapa_hotel, Giám đốc bán hàng at Royal Sapa Hotel, responded to this review, July 6, 2015
Dear Valued Customer,
Warmest greetings from Royal Sapa Hotel!
Thank you very much for taking time to write a review about Royal Sapa Hotel on Tripadvisor and thank you very much to spent your holiday with our hotel. we are just a new owner of thí hotel since 18th june 2014. after receipted this hotel back from the previous owner we were spent alot of time and also money to upgrading the facilities and now it already has a good standard. you can refer about our information on internet, website or other new review from other traveler since 18th june 2014 so far but anyway we are so sorry to heard of any trouble that you were have had during your stay in this hotel before we will see that for our experience to keep trying to improving our services and we hope that we will have an opportunity to see you again in our hotel so that you can see what is was changed.

Kindly Regarding
Thanh Do/Mr
Sale Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almere, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

We stayed here in January 2012. It was very cold and rainy when we were there and it was very very cold in the hotel. We only got a small heater in the room which only gives direct heat. Therefore we could not warm our room properly and the whole room was damp of the cold and rain. We could also not dry our clothes properly because of the damp in the room and the fact that we did not have a proper heater.
The dining room was also very cold and they only had a local heater which did not work properly either. The staff was also not informative. We booked a tour with them through our hotel in Hanoi and the hotel staff at Royal Hotel only informed us on the time we should be down, but for example did not tell us we had to check out. So we went down without our luggage and then they told us we had to check out. And to top it all the guide was then annoyed with us and told us us to hurry up. That was very annoying.
Further, food in the hotel is ok, but there are way better places to eat in Sapa than in the hotel. Also, the staff is not very friendly. We ordered a set dinner option and then they brought out a totally different set menu. When we said we ordered something else, the first reaction of the waitress was that her brother was already cooking so we should eat it. We refused and then eventually we did get the correct menu.

All in all, I would not recommend this hotel or the tour organised by the hotel. There are many hotels in Sapa which are better than this one. Especially when the weather is as bad as it was when we were there.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal_Sapa_hotel, Giám đốc bán hàng at Royal Sapa Hotel, responded to this review, July 6, 2015
Dear Valued Customer,
Warmest greetings from Royal Sapa Hotel!
Thank you very much for taking time to write a review about Royal Sapa Hotel on Tripadvisor and thank you very much to spent your holiday with our hotel. we are just a new owner of thí hotel since 18th june 2014. after receipted this hotel back from the previous owner we were spent alot of time and also money to upgrading the facilities and now it already has a good standard. you can refer about our information on internet, website or other new review from other traveler since 18th june 2014 so far but anyway we are so sorry to heard of any trouble that you were have had during your stay in this hotel before we will see that for our experience to keep trying to improving our services and we hope that we will have an opportunity to see you again in our hotel so that you can see what is was changed.

Kindly Regarding
Thanh Do/Mr
Sale Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sapa hotels
0.1 mi away
Elysian Sapa Hotel
Elysian Sapa Hotel
#7 of 47 in Sapa
4.5 of 5 stars 213 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sapa Eden Hotel
Sapa Eden Hotel
#2 of 47 in Sapa
4.5 of 5 stars 163 reviews
0.1 mi away
Amazing Hotel Sapa
Amazing Hotel Sapa
#5 of 47 in Sapa
4.5 of 5 stars 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sapa Panorama Hotel
Sapa Panorama Hotel
#11 of 47 in Sapa
4.0 of 5 stars 261 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sapa Lodge
Sapa Lodge
#8 of 47 in Sapa
4.0 of 5 stars 337 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sapa Paradise View Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Sapa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sapa Hotel

Address: 054B Cau May Street | Sapa Town, Sapa 330000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Lao Cai Province > Sapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Sapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Sapa Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Royal Sapa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Sapa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Sapa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.