We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful views and quiet location.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chau Long Sapa Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Chau Long Sapa Hotel to your Saves list
Chau Long Sapa Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   24 Dong Loi, Lao Cai Province, Sapa 21000, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 44 Hotels in Sapa
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful views and quiet location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We stayed four nights at this hotel and it was an absolute joy. Being situated on the side of a mountain the views from our room, and also the excellent restaurant reminded us of locations in Austria and Bavaria - minus the snow. They do occasionally get snow here in winter , so take warm clothes if you are visiting at that time of year. The staff and service was without fault, and if it look looks rain, umbrellas can be collected at reception. It is a short walk uphill through a shopping precinct to the beautiful lake and cathedral, which is floodlit at night. A large indoor - outdoor market is located at the end of the street near to the hotel so there is no need to arrange transport withing the town area. A hike down to Cat Cat village and waterfall is well worthwhile. A short walk further on, to the remote village of Sin Chai will reveal how these ethnic minority people live their day to day lives. We can recommend this hotel and would stay there again anytime.

Room Tip: Most rooms have an excellent view but a higher one will avoid looking over the roof tops of houses b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nguyen H, Public Relations Manager at Chau Long Sapa Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear neville g,

We are more than happy to know that you satisfied with Chau Long Sapa Hotel and services during your stay. And we thank for choosing Chau Long Sapa Hotel for your stay

We do hope that your stay in Sapa will be the highlight of your trip to Vietnam, and we do hope to welcome you back in the near future

Once more time, thank you for staying with us and we appreciate for any recommendation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    186
    81
    28
    12
See reviews for
78
153
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barrie, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Sapa was a true highlight of our month in Vietnam. This hotel is in an excellent location for restaurants and the market and it is for that reason it rates high. It seems a lot of bus tours stay here but the staff is helpful and the views are terrific. Beware however as they have just started construction right next door. Not sure what they are building or how long it will take but if it is more than a few stories high the view could be partially compromised. Still one of the better options in town.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nguyen H, Public Relations Manager at Chau Long Sapa Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear McD1959_13,

On behalf of Chau Long Sapa Hotel, I would like to express our sincerely thanks for staying with us

We are very pleased to know that in general you are happy with our services during the stay. I am pleased to inform that the owner of construction site committed that any complaint concerning the noise will be stopped immediately

Once more time, thank you for choosing Chau Long Sapa Hotel and we would appreciate any recommendation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

This was our base before our trek and homestay in Sapa.

At the end of a small alley it is nicely tucked away and feels safe and quite.

The room was large and clean although aging! The view from the balcony was breathtaking.

Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nguyen H, Public Relations Manager at Chau Long Sapa Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear Brilea,

On behalf of Chau Long Sapa Hotel, I would like to express our sincerely thanks for staying with us and your sharing experience

We are more than happy to know that you really enjoyed your stay with our services, and do hope to welcome you back at the soonest

Once more time, thank you for choosing Chau Long Sapa Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie, Australia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We were booked here as part of a tour so have no idea what we actually paid for this hotel. I assume it was not expensive! We also had only one night here so did not get to experience the full range of facilities.

However.....what we liked was...

- our group had 4 rooms. We were all put adjacent to one another which is actually quite rare.
- we were allocated the 7th floor, and our 4 rooms were together by themselves which gave us a shared balcony with the most amazing views.
- the beds were really comfortable.
- we stayed in April. It was quite cold but we did not need any heating on in the room (although the Heater was available).
- the breakfast was very good with a large variety.
- the location was very good with many restaurants and massage places a very easy walk, and most of all...
- this hotel has a huge lounge area. Tours to Sapa arrive early in the morning with a late departure on the overnight trains. This huge lounge area has shower facilities (and clean towels), a bar, comfortable lounges, wifi access, and computers if you need to wait and freshen up for your train departure.

It's not a 5 star hotel by any means and the hotel is a little dated. The stairs have seen better days. But...I would have been more than happy to spend another day (and another night) in this hotel in beautiful Sapa.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nguyen H, Public Relations Manager at Chau Long Sapa Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear beachykeen700,

On behalf of Chau Long Sapa Hotel, I would like to express our sincerely thanks for staying with us and shared experience

We are happy to know that in general, you are happy to stay with us and we do hope that your stay at Chau Long Sapa Hotel would be a highly of your trip to Vietnam

Once more time, thank you for choosing Chau Long Sapa Hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back

Last but not least, we highly appreciate your recommendation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Sapa is a town that is built on steep hills so access to local restaurants and shops after a day of trekking is important. The Chau Long hotel is truly in the heart of the action. When you exit the hotel there is a walk up a short hill and you are on the main street. Restaurants, shops, even a small bakery around the corner. Our room was on the 5th floor which is in an excellent location for the hotel. We were steps from both the stairs and the elevator. The staff was amazingly helpful and the large lounge/internet area was a great place to relax at the end of our last day prior to leaving to catch the train back to Hanoi.. The room was large and spacious and had a balcony that provided a wonderful views of the surrounding landscape. Breakfast was good but average and was certainly plentiful. The spa provided some much needed relaxation after some reasonably strenuous days and the staff went out of their way to make sure we were pleased with the services....the spa is definitely value for money.

Room Tip: Would definitely recommend a room on the 5th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nguyen H, Public Relations Manager at Chau Long Sapa Hotel, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Dear Rita0001,

On behalf of Chau Long Sapa hotel I would like to express our sincerely thanks for staying with us and your nice experience during your stay as well

We are very happy that you really enjoyed your stay and happy will our services: room, staffs, foods, spa.. especially the view from balcony.

Once more time, thank you for choosing Chau Long Sapa Hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back at the soonest

Your recommendation is highly appreciated
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

We had one nights stay at the Chau Long hotel in Sapa, which would have to be in the best location in the town. Stunning views of the mountains, huge beds and nice facilities. Good breakfast buffet and close to everything. Good security at the front kept the hawkers out of your face so you could get off your bus and check in easily without being hassled by the Hmong ladies until you are ready for them. Once you've checked in you can go for a walk and they'll meet you at the corner. Very friendly and just say "no shopping today" firmly, until you are ready to buy. No need to be rude to them. When you get back from your trekking the next day you can use the guest waiting room and have a hot shower and get changed - no charge. I really liked this hotel and would definitely stay there again.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nguyen H, Public Relations Manager at Chau Long Sapa Hotel, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Dear Jenny W,

On behalf of Chau Long Sapa hotel I would like to express our sincerely thanks for staying with us and your nice experience during your stay as well

We are more than happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay and happy with our services: hotel location, room, food, staffs, free shower service... And we do hope that your trip to Sapa will be the highlight of your trip to Vietnam

Once more time, thank you for choosing Chau Long Sapa Hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back at the soonest

Your recommendation is highly appreciated
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seal Beach, California, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I enjoyed the Chay Long hotel in Sapa, Vietnam. The view from my room of the mountains was superb. My room was clean, comfortable and a rose on my pillow was a nice touch. This hotel is centrally located and its an easy walk to the square and the market place. Breakfast was a great buffet with many choices both western (eggs, bacon, sausage, pastries, toast) and eastern (Pho, rice, noodles, dumplings, fruit). For those arriving to Sapa from Hanoi via the overnight train, you arrive about 6am. In the event that your room is not ready at 6am, the hotel offers a ‘waiting’ room. This room has showers, a bar, computers, comfortable chairs, and a pool table. Nice touch. The Chay Long also has an indoor pool, small but very nice. I can recommend the Chay Long hotel in Sapa!
Sapa Review
Sapa is famous for trekking, and the town had every trekking supply you might want. Boots, jackets, walking stick, bags, etc.. I bought a collapsible walking stick for about $4usd and it really made my trekking more enjoyable. Yes, there will be Hmong girls that will trek with you and they will offer help as needed, but it was nice to have my stick so I could just chat with the girls. A great massage place is on the corner down from the Chay Long Hotel and a great 60 minute foot massage (feet, legs, head, arms, back) can be had for very little $s. The girls there are great and very friendly. Many have posted about the Hmong women selling in Sapa and their aggressiveness. I found them to be persistence but not aggressive. Yes, they all say ‘buy from me’ ‘but from me’ but they do it with laughter and I had a great time chatting and laughing with them all. I read a tip about not buy anything the first hour in Sapa, just walk around and get acclimated. This was a good tip. The workmanship on the embroidered pieces is amazing and its easy to get overwhelmed. So it’s a good idea to just absorb everything before negotiating on items. Great Pumpkin soup can be found in most Sapa restaurants along with fire baked pizzas!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nguyen H, Public Relations Manager at Chau Long Sapa Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Catherine_Seal_Beach,

On behalf of Chau Long Sapa Hotel, I would like to express our sincere thanks for staying with us and your comment on our hotel/ services as well

we are - Chau Long Sapa Hotel - very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay: room, food, facilities, and amenities.. And we do hope the trip to Sapa would be a highlight of your trip to Vietnam

Once more time, thank you for sharing experience on Chau Long Sapa Hotel and thanks for your recommendation

We look forward to welcome you back Chau Long Sapa Hotel in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chau Long Sapa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chau Long Sapa Hotel

Address: 24 Dong Loi, Lao Cai Province, Sapa 21000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Lao Cai Province > Sapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Sapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chau Long Sapa Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chau Long Sapa Hotel 2 is still the best location in Sapa, thus all the rooms freshly renovated (new floor + beds + flat TV) you will have a breathtaking view to the mountains and Muong Hoa Valley on your private balcony. The hotel offers free Internet facilities for its guests and also have the best tours and trekkings in Sapa area with local guides. Come see by yourself and experience the difference. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Chau Long Sapa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chau Long Hotel Sapa
Chau Long Sapa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chau Long Sapa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.