We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room with a View” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chau Long Sapa Hotel

Save Saved
You added Chau Long Sapa Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chau Long Sapa Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   24 Dong Loi, Lao Cai Province, Sapa 21000, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 38 hotels in Sapa
melbourne
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Room with a View”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Thiscwas a great place to stay in the highlands of North Vietnam. The view of the mountains and the valley below were quite spectacular from both our balcony and the resturaunt. Room was large and included a king sized bed. Breakfast was ok and the resteraunt was reasonable if a little pricey others in the main street. Staff service was varied likewise language skills
. A big plus is the large well appointed waiting for those arrivining early and leaving late . Incledes shower rooms, bar free internet, pool table and comfy chairs.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nguyen H, Public Relations Manager at Chau Long Sapa Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Part0,

On be half of Chau Long Sapa Hotel, I would like to express our sincere thanks for your choosing Chau Long Sapa during your stay in Sapa

We are very happy to know that you satisfied with our hotel, services, staffs

Once again, thanks for your nice experiences on Chau Long Sapa Hotel and we look forward to welcomes you back to Chau Long Sapa Hotel

Last but not least, we highly appreciate your recommendation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    97
    173
    75
    26
    12
See reviews for
74
145
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toms River, New Jersey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Although the hotel may be beautiful to stay in with it's views and Austrian type hotel feel, be warned the entire hotel has NO HEAT, and the hot water did not make it through my husbands shower which left me out in the cold ( no pun intended ). After a cold and drizzly day we expected to go into a warm room ( we went straight to our daily activities because room was not ready as we arrived 7:00 am from train. ). Boy were we surprised I did my research but did see anywhere that it said no heat I must have missed that. To be fair there is a space heater that is not turned on or left on for you so by the time it warms the room you are checking out 2 days later. The hotel is also open air so the rooms open up to outside which lets the cold air come under the door and balcony door. Now if you go in the warmer weather it would be a great hotel to stay in, but if in the winter months when it is cold and you can see your breath in your room, don't go. I also was asked to pay for a face cloth that I wiped my shoe with after it was already used, I guess you can't get them dirty. The location is terrific a pretty hotel. But just be warmed I am told only one hotel in town has heat.

Room Tip: Go in warmer months.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nguyen H, Public Relations Manager at Chau Long Sapa Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Matt H,

On be half of Chau Long Sapa Hotel, I would like to express our sincere thanks for your choosing Chau Long Sapa during your stay in Sapa

We will try the best to improve the services and facilities to up your expectation

Once again, thanks for your nice experiences on Chau Long Sapa Hotel and we look forward to welcomes you back to Chau Long Sapa Hotel

Last but not least, we highly appreciate your recommendation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights (4 days) in mid January. After a tiring overnight train / bus trip that gets you to Sapa at around 7am, we arrived at our pre booked Chau Long hotel. Walking into the foyer we were greeted by Neil, an Australian staff member at the hotel. With the hotel being booked out the night before, there were no rooms available for early check in but Neil and the staff made sure our room was ready well before the normal 2pm check in time. Bathroom, log fire and restaurant facilities were all available pre check in.
Usually at this time of year Sapa is very foggy and this proved to be true for our first 2 days, but when the fog cleared on the 3rd & 4th days...WOW, what a view from our balcony valley / mountain view room! Stunning!
On our last day we got caught out by the bank closing unexpectedly, leaving us short of local currency. Neil at the Chau Long went to great lengths to resolve this for us for which we were very grateful for. He was a wealth of local knowledge and had great travel stories and experiences of his own.
All in all, the staff, restaurant and facilities here were very good indeed.

Room Tip: For the mountain views, you can't beat the 6th floor balcony rooms in the new wing. (see pics)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nguyen H, Public Relations Manager at Chau Long Sapa Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear AL T,

On be half of Chau Long Sapa Hotel, I would like to express our sincere thanks for your choosing Chau Long Sapa during your stay in Sapa

We are very happy to know that you satisfied with our hotel, services, staffs

Once again, thanks for your nice experiences on Chau Long Sapa Hotel and we look forward to welcomes you back to Chau Long Sapa Hotel

Last but not least, we highly appreciate your recommendation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

While the rooms are large and acceptable, we were provided with only a small heater to warm the room up. Not acceptable for an established hotel. Great views from the balcony, if there is no mist. Breakfast is okay but nothing special.
This hotel is geared for short stays and certainly not lengthy stays. The location of the hotel is its major attraction.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoi An, Vietnam
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

This hotel has a great location. Sadly, this is let down by poor cleaning, no hot water, really hard beds and lack of conveniences such as a heater. The staff were friendly but not really interested. The hotel has a great transit room but the showers were again cold and the room freezing. We loved the open fire but it was a bit of a bum fight to get a seat. Look elsewhere.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savion
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Hidden in a narrow street, with breath-taking view to the valley from the room's balcony. The hotel offers nice facilities, the team is friendly and efficient and if you stay there during winter time, as we did, you can enjoy the heat of the nice fire place in the lobby. The rooster with an earing in his crest might welcome you when you enter and the colorful local market is just five minutes walk up the road.
Sapa offers opportunities to low-cost massage and spectacular hiking. Don't miss it…

Room Tip: we had rooms in the 6th floor. try to get ones in the 7th, so "busy couples" will not crea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Old from the outside but nice on the inside. We had a beautiful room with a nice balcony and only get to see the valley for 2 seconds due to the mist. Rooms are spacious and beautiful and its very close to the town centre. Probably one of the best hotel in SAPA to see the views. Breakfast is average and staff are helpful.

Room Tip: Room with the balcony to see the views of the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chau Long Sapa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chau Long Sapa Hotel

Address: 24 Dong Loi, Lao Cai Province, Sapa 21000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Lao Cai Province > Sapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Sapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chau Long Sapa Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chau Long Sapa Hotel 2 is still the best location in Sapa, thus all the rooms freshly renovated (new floor + beds + flat TV) you will have a breathtaking view to the mountains and Muong Hoa Valley on your private balcony. The hotel offers free Internet facilities for its guests and also have the best tours and trekkings in Sapa area with local guides. Come see by yourself and experience the difference. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Chau Long Sapa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chau Long Hotel Sapa
Chau Long Sapa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chau Long Sapa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.