We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel. Sensational views!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chau Long Sapa Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Chau Long Sapa Hotel to your Saves list
Chau Long Sapa Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   24 Dong Loi, Lao Cai Province, Sapa 21000, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 44 Hotels in Sapa
Byron Bay, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel. Sensational views!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights (4 days) in mid January. After a tiring overnight train / bus trip that gets you to Sapa at around 7am, we arrived at our pre booked Chau Long hotel. Walking into the foyer we were greeted by Neil, an Australian staff member at the hotel. With the hotel being booked out the night before, there were no rooms available for early check in but Neil and the staff made sure our room was ready well before the normal 2pm check in time. Bathroom, log fire and restaurant facilities were all available pre check in.
Usually at this time of year Sapa is very foggy and this proved to be true for our first 2 days, but when the fog cleared on the 3rd & 4th days...WOW, what a view from our balcony valley / mountain view room! Stunning!
On our last day we got caught out by the bank closing unexpectedly, leaving us short of local currency. Neil at the Chau Long went to great lengths to resolve this for us for which we were very grateful for. He was a wealth of local knowledge and had great travel stories and experiences of his own.
All in all, the staff, restaurant and facilities here were very good indeed.

Room Tip: For the mountain views, you can't beat the 6th floor balcony rooms in the new wing. (see pics)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nguyen H, Public Relations Manager at Chau Long Sapa Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear AL T,

On be half of Chau Long Sapa Hotel, I would like to express our sincere thanks for your choosing Chau Long Sapa during your stay in Sapa

We are very happy to know that you satisfied with our hotel, services, staffs

Once again, thanks for your nice experiences on Chau Long Sapa Hotel and we look forward to welcomes you back to Chau Long Sapa Hotel

Last but not least, we highly appreciate your recommendation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    187
    81
    28
    13
See reviews for
78
153
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

While the rooms are large and acceptable, we were provided with only a small heater to warm the room up. Not acceptable for an established hotel. Great views from the balcony, if there is no mist. Breakfast is okay but nothing special.
This hotel is geared for short stays and certainly not lengthy stays. The location of the hotel is its major attraction.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoi An, Vietnam
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

This hotel has a great location. Sadly, this is let down by poor cleaning, no hot water, really hard beds and lack of conveniences such as a heater. The staff were friendly but not really interested. The hotel has a great transit room but the showers were again cold and the room freezing. We loved the open fire but it was a bit of a bum fight to get a seat. Look elsewhere.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savion
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Hidden in a narrow street, with breath-taking view to the valley from the room's balcony. The hotel offers nice facilities, the team is friendly and efficient and if you stay there during winter time, as we did, you can enjoy the heat of the nice fire place in the lobby. The rooster with an earing in his crest might welcome you when you enter and the colorful local market is just five minutes walk up the road.
Sapa offers opportunities to low-cost massage and spectacular hiking. Don't miss it…

Room Tip: we had rooms in the 6th floor. try to get ones in the 7th, so "busy couples" will not crea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Old from the outside but nice on the inside. We had a beautiful room with a nice balcony and only get to see the valley for 2 seconds due to the mist. Rooms are spacious and beautiful and its very close to the town centre. Probably one of the best hotel in SAPA to see the views. Breakfast is average and staff are helpful.

Room Tip: Room with the balcony to see the views of the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights at this hotel are were very impressed with the service and quality of the room. It was quite cold during our stay, thankfully the room was warm and showers hot! Two staff in particular were wonderful, Thj Kim Lan & Truong Thi Hao. Their warm greetings each day and attention to our needs was excellent, they couldn't do enough to help us!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nguyen H, Public Relations Manager at Chau Long Sapa Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Jayne H,

On be half of Chau Long Sapa Hotel, I would like to express our sincere thanks for your choosing Chau Long Sapa during your stay in Sapa

We are very happy to know that you satisfied with our hotel, services, staffs

Once again, thanks for your nice experiences on Chau Long Sapa Hotel and we look forward to welcomes you back to Chau Long Sapa Hotel

Last but not least, we highly appreciate your recommendation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

14 of us stayed at Chau Long Sapa in Dec. We enjoyed every moment of our stay. The staff are extremely courteous & friendly. The rooms are clean & well maintained. The balcony is lovely with great views (very similar to ones I stayed in Austria). Hotel is well located - away from traffic but close to the main street. Breakfast is well presented & served.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nguyen H, Public Relations Manager at Chau Long Sapa Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear JVHeng,

On behalf of Chau Long Sapa Hotel, I would like to express our gratitude to your valuable experiences during your stay at our hotel

We are very happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay and our staffs, services, facilities... were up your expectation.

Once more time, thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back Chau Long Sapa Hotel. Your recommendations are highly appreciated
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chau Long Sapa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chau Long Sapa Hotel

Address: 24 Dong Loi, Lao Cai Province, Sapa 21000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Lao Cai Province > Sapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Sapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chau Long Sapa Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chau Long Sapa Hotel 2 is still the best location in Sapa, thus all the rooms freshly renovated (new floor + beds + flat TV) you will have a breathtaking view to the mountains and Muong Hoa Valley on your private balcony. The hotel offers free Internet facilities for its guests and also have the best tours and trekkings in Sapa area with local guides. Come see by yourself and experience the difference. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Chau Long Sapa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chau Long Hotel Sapa
Chau Long Sapa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chau Long Sapa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.