We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Acceptable - but nothing special.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chau Long Sapa Hotel

Save Saved
You added Chau Long Sapa Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chau Long Sapa Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   24 Dong Loi, Lao Cai Province, Sapa 21000, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 39 Hotels in Sapa
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Acceptable - but nothing special.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

While the rooms are large and acceptable, we were provided with only a small heater to warm the room up. Not acceptable for an established hotel. Great views from the balcony, if there is no mist. Breakfast is okay but nothing special.
This hotel is geared for short stays and certainly not lengthy stays. The location of the hotel is its major attraction.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    177
    75
    26
    12
See reviews for
75
147
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hoi An, Vietnam
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

This hotel has a great location. Sadly, this is let down by poor cleaning, no hot water, really hard beds and lack of conveniences such as a heater. The staff were friendly but not really interested. The hotel has a great transit room but the showers were again cold and the room freezing. We loved the open fire but it was a bit of a bum fight to get a seat. Look elsewhere.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savion
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Hidden in a narrow street, with breath-taking view to the valley from the room's balcony. The hotel offers nice facilities, the team is friendly and efficient and if you stay there during winter time, as we did, you can enjoy the heat of the nice fire place in the lobby. The rooster with an earing in his crest might welcome you when you enter and the colorful local market is just five minutes walk up the road.
Sapa offers opportunities to low-cost massage and spectacular hiking. Don't miss it…

Room Tip: we had rooms in the 6th floor. try to get ones in the 7th, so "busy couples" will not crea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Old from the outside but nice on the inside. We had a beautiful room with a nice balcony and only get to see the valley for 2 seconds due to the mist. Rooms are spacious and beautiful and its very close to the town centre. Probably one of the best hotel in SAPA to see the views. Breakfast is average and staff are helpful.

Room Tip: Room with the balcony to see the views of the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights at this hotel are were very impressed with the service and quality of the room. It was quite cold during our stay, thankfully the room was warm and showers hot! Two staff in particular were wonderful, Thj Kim Lan & Truong Thi Hao. Their warm greetings each day and attention to our needs was excellent, they couldn't do enough to help us!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nguyen H, Public Relations Manager at Chau Long Sapa Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Jayne H,

On be half of Chau Long Sapa Hotel, I would like to express our sincere thanks for your choosing Chau Long Sapa during your stay in Sapa

We are very happy to know that you satisfied with our hotel, services, staffs

Once again, thanks for your nice experiences on Chau Long Sapa Hotel and we look forward to welcomes you back to Chau Long Sapa Hotel

Last but not least, we highly appreciate your recommendation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

14 of us stayed at Chau Long Sapa in Dec. We enjoyed every moment of our stay. The staff are extremely courteous & friendly. The rooms are clean & well maintained. The balcony is lovely with great views (very similar to ones I stayed in Austria). Hotel is well located - away from traffic but close to the main street. Breakfast is well presented & served.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nguyen H, Public Relations Manager at Chau Long Sapa Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear JVHeng,

On behalf of Chau Long Sapa Hotel, I would like to express our gratitude to your valuable experiences during your stay at our hotel

We are very happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay and our staffs, services, facilities... were up your expectation.

Once more time, thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back Chau Long Sapa Hotel. Your recommendations are highly appreciated
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We arrived on a cold morning at 5am from the train and were greeted with hot tea, a fire place (burning scraps of old lumber), and a waiting room to settle in to while we waited for our hiking tour. The desk attendant set us up with an excellent guide who took us for a 14km hike without any other guests, which allowed her to give us the "Black Diamond" trail route. We returned to the hotel, checked in to our room, and after a walk through the nearby market and dinner, we hit the spa. I'm not sure if its meant to be a private spa, but we each paid about $7 and had the dry sauna, steam room, and jacuzzi tub to ourselves for about an hour! What a way to unwind!

Our only nag is that the beds are hard as plywood and the shower is only kinda warm, not hot. But overall, this place is the highlight of our trip so far.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chau Long Sapa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chau Long Sapa Hotel

Address: 24 Dong Loi, Lao Cai Province, Sapa 21000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Lao Cai Province > Sapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Sapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chau Long Sapa Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chau Long Sapa Hotel 2 is still the best location in Sapa, thus all the rooms freshly renovated (new floor + beds + flat TV) you will have a breathtaking view to the mountains and Muong Hoa Valley on your private balcony. The hotel offers free Internet facilities for its guests and also have the best tours and trekkings in Sapa area with local guides. Come see by yourself and experience the difference. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your Chau Long Sapa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chau Long Hotel Sapa
Chau Long Sapa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chau Long Sapa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.