We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable hotel in Sapa” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chau Long Sapa Hotel

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Agoda.com Travelocity
and 3 more sites!
Chau Long Sapa Hotel
24 Dong Loi, Lao Cai Province, Sapa 21000, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 40 hotels in Sapa
New York City, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Comfortable hotel in Sapa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We stayed at the hotel one night as part of a two day tour from Hanoi to Sapa. The hotel facility is beautiful, with free, good wifi service in the room and a reception area with 4 free internet computer stations. The excellent breakfast buffet had many selections; the homemade jams were wonderful. The view from the restaurant of the surrounding mountains is breathtaking. My only minor quibble is that shower/bathtub fixtures in the bathroom are quite complicated and took awhile to figure out how to use. Otherwise, the room was very comfortable. The hotel is convenient to the street markets. All in all, a nice experience.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the 5th or 6th floors, not lower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nguyen H, Public Relations Manager at Chau Long Sapa Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear 2011NewYorkTraveler,

On behalf of Chau Long Sapa Hotel, I would like to express our sincere thanks for your staying with us and your valuable experiences on Chau Long Sapa Hotel as well

We are more than happy to know that you enjoyed your stay, our service, facilities, the food and beverage....

However, we will make the utmost effort to maintain and improve our services and facilities to up our guests' expectation

We do hope you will give us a chance to welcome you back to Chau Long Sapa in the near future and thanks for your recommendation

Once more time, thank you for choosing Chau Long Sapa Hotel and staying with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    98
    154
    72
    25
    12
See reviews for
70
138
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Hotel is overrated, full of bus load of tourists. Bathrooms are old, mouldy. Water pressure is very low, shower curtain was old and dirty. A lot of broken tiles. The bed was comfortable, though. Do not attempt to take hotel slippers with you, the staff will catch you in The lobby and ask for them back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nguyen H, Public Relations Manager at Chau Long Sapa Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Flyinghigh2000

On behalf of Chau Long Sapa Hotel, I would like to express our sincere thanks for your comment and we apology for the inconvenience that caused during your stay

We noted down and informed the concerned departments to follow up your listed unexpected issues and problems to make sure that the guests stay will be comfortable and convenience

Once more time, thank you for staying with us and your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back Chau Long Sapa Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights and couldn't have been happier. The room was huge, clean, great view and the location was Central to the restaurants and shopping. The hotel service was great with the staff speaking English, breakfast was great also.

Room Tip: Ask for one that has a view of the mountains, great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nguyen H, Public Relations Manager at Chau Long Sapa Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear gypsee2

On behalf of Chau Long Sapa Hotel, I would like to express our sincere thanks for staying with us and your shared experience on our hotel and service as well

We are quite happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay at Chau Long Sapa Hotel and our services are up your expectation.

Once more time, thanks for your nice comment and recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back to Chau Long Sapa Hotel and
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We stayed one night during our two visit in Sa pa. The hotel is very well located in the heart of sa pa town and the building is beautiful. There are two buildings, one with stunning views on the valley. We stayed in the other and our window faced a wall. However the room was nice, clean, hot water was available ( just leave it run a few minutes) and very comfortable. The hotel has showers available after check out which is very convenient after a day of trekking. They served us tea while waiting for check-in and check-out. Breakfast was not included and was around 11$, which is quite expensive for local prices. In most places you get it for 4/6$. Generally speaking it is a nice hotel. free internet.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nguyen H, Public Relations Manager at Chau Long Sapa Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Urbanworker,

On behalf of Chau Long Sapa Hotel, I would like to express our sincere thanks for staying with us and your experience on our hotel and service as well

We are quite happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay at Chau Long Sapa Hotel and our services are up your expectation. However, we will do our utmost to improve our services are beyond your and our guests' expectation

Once more time, thanks for your nice comment and recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back to Chau Long Sapa Hotel and
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saigon
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Very comfortable and clean hotel in a peculiar shape. Views from the room just amazing. Quite a big disappointment at check-out when the clerk refused to use my Vietnamese credit card and charge in local currency. I was forced to use a foreign card and be charged in US Dollars

Room Tip: Chose a room at 4 or 6 floor to avoid the use of the always busy elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

The place is good, like alot in Sapa. I only stayed here but can only feel that they charge a little more for their view. It is amazing. Ask for a floor above 5 ( this is receptions floor) we had a room on the 6th floor and when it was clear the views were awesome. The waiting room is purely for people arriving early and leaving late. Really helps out as you can shower before and after, relax and play pool. The hotel is very close to shops and restaurants, go to the markets and eat the street food, it's soo cheap and cool to eat with the locals.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nguyen H, Public Relations Manager at Chau Long Sapa Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear Jash2115,

On behalf of Chau Long Sapa Hotel, I would like to thanks for your valuable comments on our hotel during your stay.

We appreciate it and your comments will encourage us to maintain and improve the services and facilities to meet customers' needs

We do hope you will give us a chance to welcome you back and thanks for your recommendation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This hotel is in a good location,very easy to walk anywhere in town.The breakfast was okay but nothing special.Our room had nice views out to the hillside. A little noisey because of a road and motorbikes running behind our room but it did quieten down at night.
We tried to have a manicure/pedicure at the hotel-we were directed to a waiting area and told someone would be there in about 15 mins.We waited 30mins using the computers to kill time but nobody ever come to give us our manicure/pedicure. We left and went to the massage place on the corner which had friendly staff and was cheaperand more efficent than the hotel .

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chau Long Sapa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chau Long Sapa Hotel

Also Known As:
Chau Long Hotel Sapa
Chau Long Sapa
Address: 24 Dong Loi, Lao Cai Province, Sapa 21000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Lao Cai Province > Sapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 40 hotels in Sapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chau Long Sapa Hotel 2 is still the best location in Sapa, thus all the rooms freshly renovated (new floor + beds + flat TV) you will have a breathtaking view to the mountains and Muong Hoa Valley on your private balcony. The hotel offers free Internet facilities for its guests and also have the best tours and trekkings in Sapa area with local guides. Come see by yourself and experience the difference. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com and Otel so you can book your Chau Long Sapa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chau Long Sapa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Chau Long Sapa Hotel to your Saves list