We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chau Long Sapa Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Chau Long Sapa Hotel to your Saves list
Chau Long Sapa Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   24 Dong Loi, Lao Cai Province, Sapa 21000, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 44 Hotels in Sapa
Saigon
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Breathtaking views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Very comfortable and clean hotel in a peculiar shape. Views from the room just amazing. Quite a big disappointment at check-out when the clerk refused to use my Vietnamese credit card and charge in local currency. I was forced to use a foreign card and be charged in US Dollars

Room Tip: Chose a room at 4 or 6 floor to avoid the use of the always busy elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    186
    81
    28
    12
See reviews for
78
153
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

The place is good, like alot in Sapa. I only stayed here but can only feel that they charge a little more for their view. It is amazing. Ask for a floor above 5 ( this is receptions floor) we had a room on the 6th floor and when it was clear the views were awesome. The waiting room is purely for people arriving early and leaving late. Really helps out as you can shower before and after, relax and play pool. The hotel is very close to shops and restaurants, go to the markets and eat the street food, it's soo cheap and cool to eat with the locals.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nguyen H, Public Relations Manager at Chau Long Sapa Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear Jash2115,

On behalf of Chau Long Sapa Hotel, I would like to thanks for your valuable comments on our hotel during your stay.

We appreciate it and your comments will encourage us to maintain and improve the services and facilities to meet customers' needs

We do hope you will give us a chance to welcome you back and thanks for your recommendation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This hotel is in a good location,very easy to walk anywhere in town.The breakfast was okay but nothing special.Our room had nice views out to the hillside. A little noisey because of a road and motorbikes running behind our room but it did quieten down at night.
We tried to have a manicure/pedicure at the hotel-we were directed to a waiting area and told someone would be there in about 15 mins.We waited 30mins using the computers to kill time but nobody ever come to give us our manicure/pedicure. We left and went to the massage place on the corner which had friendly staff and was cheaperand more efficent than the hotel .

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ha Noi, Ha Noi, Vietnam
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed at Chau Long for 2 nights in October. The hotel is huge and has a great location. If you are lucky to get a room on the 5th or 6th floor, you will have a wonderful mountain view from your window. But we weren't. There are lots of facilities available. For instance, a waiting room where early arrivers can take a shower and relax while waiting. However the 'free shower' in the waiting room smells of urine badly.

Our room was on the 2nd floor next to the laundry. It was rather damp (thus smelly), dusty, there was no Internet connection and no aircon (only a ceiling fan). Moreover, there was almost no cellular signal there. Our showers have never been so excitng: with water unexpectedly switching from warm to boiling hot or freezing cold you have to be ready to jump out of it for fear of being frozen or, worse, burnt to death.

Although fairly clean, the towels had weird yellow stains on them. Some toiletries were missing from the boxes (the shower cap for instance).

The hotel itself looks slightly rundown and is generally not cosy. It is objectively too expensive for the quality and service you get. The restaurant is overpriced. The breakfast buffet was OK though.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 5-6th floor with Internet connection and aircon - in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nguyen H, Guest Relations Manager at Chau Long Sapa Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Anna_K1986

On behalf of Chau Long Sapa Hotel, I would like to thanks for your experience during your stay at Chau Long Sapa Hotel, and we are very sorry to learn that your stay was not convenience as expected

We were sorry that your room was on the second floor since your room category is Superior, and during your stay the hotel was fully booked and no upgrade was available. All hotels in Sapa have no air-con, only heater available during the winter

Anyway, we are very sorry for your inconvenience that caused during your stay and we will pay more attention to the tiny issue to make your/ clients stay more comfortable

We hope you will give us a chance to welcome you back in the near future that you experience our improve mentioned circumstance

Once more time thank you for your valuable comment on Chau Long Sapa Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

The Chau Long Sapa Hotel New Wing totally captivated me. Even though my stay was marred somewhat by the failure of staff to check my room before I was given a key, the setting, the view and the locale were so stupendous that the glitches were minor in comparison to the overall experience. Every room (including mine) had a view of the Fansipan Mountain Range and glamour-style furnishings and furniture. Still, upon arrival in my room, I found water on the floor from the leaking mini-fridge, one of two lamps not working and the other lamp with a frayed electrical wire which caused it to go on and off without being touched and no in-room internet. Internet and wifi were available in a large lounge room with lots of computers for guests' use. There were also 3 separate electrical outages. These inconveniences just did not matter much when taken in context of the awe inspiring layout of the hotel, the nearby mountains, the clouds parting, the ambience. So, even though not up to modern day hotelery, I do recommend this hotel which inspires that once-in-a-lifetime feeling while you are a guest. Breakfast buffet has lots of variety. Glad I did not get electrocuted, though. The staff was gracious.

Room Tip: All rooms have views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nguyen H, Public Relations Manager at Chau Long Sapa Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Dear probate1,

On behalf of Chau Long Sapa Hotel, I would like to express our sincere thanks for your valuable experience during your stay at Chau Long Sapa Hotel

We were sorry to aware that your stay was not totally smoothly due to the unexpected incident concerning the facilities. By the way, we would like to assure that listed incident will be fixed to make sure that your next stay or our next coming guests' stay will be the most convenience

Once more time, we would like to thanks for your comment and look forward to welcoming you back to Chau Long Sapa Hotel at the soonest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

I stayed in Chau Long Sapa in December 2011. During that time the weather is rather cold with fresh air. The hotel is in the good location, in the small district from the main road so it is quiet. We can walk about 100 metres from the hotel to the main road to shop around and see the way of lives of the local people and hilltribes. There are also the massage and bakery shops near the hotel too. The scenery around the hotel is so beautiful. It is well decorated, nice and comfortable. It looks like Europe. The room is clean, with nice furniture and amenities. The breakfast is OK. I didn' t use other facilities because I liked to walk through the road in Sapa to see the Church, the market and the various shops. However, I didn't know the room price because I paid for the package tour. Please see the photos.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nguyen H, Public Relations Manager at Chau Long Sapa Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Sutasikar,

On behalf of Chau Long Sapa Hotel team, I would like to say a big thank you for your experiences on Chau Long Sapa Hotel. We are more than happy to know that you really enjoyed your stay at our hotel, and we do hope you will give us a chance to welcoming you back to Chau Long Sapa Hotel in the near future

Once more time, thanks for your comment on Chau Long Sapa Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Good location as it is in the centre of Sapa town. Hotel is old (Old wing of the Chau Long Sapa Hotel). Renovation is absolutely needed. Room is clean but with no A/C, fan inside only. Feel uncomfortable. There are no lift inside. Too noisy because just on the main road to Cat Cat Village. Too many motorbikes and vans passed through the road. Not highly recommend this hotel to you.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chau Long Sapa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chau Long Sapa Hotel

Address: 24 Dong Loi, Lao Cai Province, Sapa 21000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Lao Cai Province > Sapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Sapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chau Long Sapa Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chau Long Sapa Hotel 2 is still the best location in Sapa, thus all the rooms freshly renovated (new floor + beds + flat TV) you will have a breathtaking view to the mountains and Muong Hoa Valley on your private balcony. The hotel offers free Internet facilities for its guests and also have the best tours and trekkings in Sapa area with local guides. Come see by yourself and experience the difference. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Chau Long Sapa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chau Long Hotel Sapa
Chau Long Sapa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chau Long Sapa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.