We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable no frills hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Chau Long Sapa Hotel

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travelocity Agoda.com
and 3 more sites!
Chau Long Sapa Hotel
24 Dong Loi, Lao Cai Province, Sapa 21000, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 40 hotels in Sapa
sydney
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Comfortable no frills hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This hotel is in a good location,very easy to walk anywhere in town.The breakfast was okay but nothing special.Our room had nice views out to the hillside. A little noisey because of a road and motorbikes running behind our room but it did quieten down at night.
We tried to have a manicure/pedicure at the hotel-we were directed to a waiting area and told someone would be there in about 15 mins.We waited 30mins using the computers to kill time but nobody ever come to give us our manicure/pedicure. We left and went to the massage place on the corner which had friendly staff and was cheaperand more efficent than the hotel .

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    99
    156
    73
    25
    12
See reviews for
73
139
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ha Noi, Ha Noi, Vietnam
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed at Chau Long for 2 nights in October. The hotel is huge and has a great location. If you are lucky to get a room on the 5th or 6th floor, you will have a wonderful mountain view from your window. But we weren't. There are lots of facilities available. For instance, a waiting room where early arrivers can take a shower and relax while waiting. However the 'free shower' in the waiting room smells of urine badly.

Our room was on the 2nd floor next to the laundry. It was rather damp (thus smelly), dusty, there was no Internet connection and no aircon (only a ceiling fan). Moreover, there was almost no cellular signal there. Our showers have never been so excitng: with water unexpectedly switching from warm to boiling hot or freezing cold you have to be ready to jump out of it for fear of being frozen or, worse, burnt to death.

Although fairly clean, the towels had weird yellow stains on them. Some toiletries were missing from the boxes (the shower cap for instance).

The hotel itself looks slightly rundown and is generally not cosy. It is objectively too expensive for the quality and service you get. The restaurant is overpriced. The breakfast buffet was OK though.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 5-6th floor with Internet connection and aircon - in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nguyen H, Guest Relations Manager at Chau Long Sapa Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Anna_K1986

On behalf of Chau Long Sapa Hotel, I would like to thanks for your experience during your stay at Chau Long Sapa Hotel, and we are very sorry to learn that your stay was not convenience as expected

We were sorry that your room was on the second floor since your room category is Superior, and during your stay the hotel was fully booked and no upgrade was available. All hotels in Sapa have no air-con, only heater available during the winter

Anyway, we are very sorry for your inconvenience that caused during your stay and we will pay more attention to the tiny issue to make your/ clients stay more comfortable

We hope you will give us a chance to welcome you back in the near future that you experience our improve mentioned circumstance

Once more time thank you for your valuable comment on Chau Long Sapa Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

The Chau Long Sapa Hotel New Wing totally captivated me. Even though my stay was marred somewhat by the failure of staff to check my room before I was given a key, the setting, the view and the locale were so stupendous that the glitches were minor in comparison to the overall experience. Every room (including mine) had a view of the Fansipan Mountain Range and glamour-style furnishings and furniture. Still, upon arrival in my room, I found water on the floor from the leaking mini-fridge, one of two lamps not working and the other lamp with a frayed electrical wire which caused it to go on and off without being touched and no in-room internet. Internet and wifi were available in a large lounge room with lots of computers for guests' use. There were also 3 separate electrical outages. These inconveniences just did not matter much when taken in context of the awe inspiring layout of the hotel, the nearby mountains, the clouds parting, the ambience. So, even though not up to modern day hotelery, I do recommend this hotel which inspires that once-in-a-lifetime feeling while you are a guest. Breakfast buffet has lots of variety. Glad I did not get electrocuted, though. The staff was gracious.

Room Tip: All rooms have views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nguyen H, Public Relations Manager at Chau Long Sapa Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Dear probate1,

On behalf of Chau Long Sapa Hotel, I would like to express our sincere thanks for your valuable experience during your stay at Chau Long Sapa Hotel

We were sorry to aware that your stay was not totally smoothly due to the unexpected incident concerning the facilities. By the way, we would like to assure that listed incident will be fixed to make sure that your next stay or our next coming guests' stay will be the most convenience

Once more time, we would like to thanks for your comment and look forward to welcoming you back to Chau Long Sapa Hotel at the soonest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

I stayed in Chau Long Sapa in December 2011. During that time the weather is rather cold with fresh air. The hotel is in the good location, in the small district from the main road so it is quiet. We can walk about 100 metres from the hotel to the main road to shop around and see the way of lives of the local people and hilltribes. There are also the massage and bakery shops near the hotel too. The scenery around the hotel is so beautiful. It is well decorated, nice and comfortable. It looks like Europe. The room is clean, with nice furniture and amenities. The breakfast is OK. I didn' t use other facilities because I liked to walk through the road in Sapa to see the Church, the market and the various shops. However, I didn't know the room price because I paid for the package tour. Please see the photos.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nguyen H, Public Relations Manager at Chau Long Sapa Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Sutasikar,

On behalf of Chau Long Sapa Hotel team, I would like to say a big thank you for your experiences on Chau Long Sapa Hotel. We are more than happy to know that you really enjoyed your stay at our hotel, and we do hope you will give us a chance to welcoming you back to Chau Long Sapa Hotel in the near future

Once more time, thanks for your comment on Chau Long Sapa Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Good location as it is in the centre of Sapa town. Hotel is old (Old wing of the Chau Long Sapa Hotel). Renovation is absolutely needed. Room is clean but with no A/C, fan inside only. Feel uncomfortable. There are no lift inside. Too noisy because just on the main road to Cat Cat Village. Too many motorbikes and vans passed through the road. Not highly recommend this hotel to you.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

My short getaway was spoiled by a bunch of unprofessional people working at the front desk.

I’ve been to lot of places within Vietnam and it is a regular practice for the reception to ask you for your passport to make a copy to submit to the police. Unfortunately upon arrival an arrogant male receptionist wanted to lecture that due to the proximity to China the hotel follows Chinese law so, I should surrender my passport to the reception (I mean really!!!) – I basically refused and asked him that he can make a copy of it. The ignorance of this fellow didn’t know any boundaries as at the time of check-out I was late by 35 minutes precisely therefore he wanted to charge my account for a late check-out. I asked to speak to the GM or the manager on duty, this was brushed away by saying no manager – then I asked for his email address or contact details this was refused as well.

I gave them another opportunity to redeem their selves by asking them to organise a pick-up from the hotel to the train station but they again failed to by trying to overcharge me three times the normal price. Despite the efforts from management to perhaps add nice touches while you are staying in the hotel, I am afraid it is basically pointless if the staff somehow would like to take advantage/exploit their visitors.

I complained to the tour operator about the way this hotel treats their customer and to report to management…just in case if that’s not the case here’s my complaint Mr. and/or Ms. Manager.

Room Tip: Any room wtih view to the gorgeous landscape
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

Can't speak to value as it was packaged in a tour but this was very nice. Quirky layout designed to maximize views, which were lovely when the fog lifted for 5 minutes. Nice waiting room with showers to accommodate travelers at the nervy of train scheduled. Great location that's very central but a block off the main road so very quiet.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nguyen H, Public Relations Manager at Chau Long Sapa Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Colomonica,

On behalf of Chau Long Sapa Hotel, we would like to express our sincere thanks for your nice experience on Chau Long Sapa Hotel. And we do hope you will give us a chance to welcome you back to Chau Long Sapa Hotel in the near future

Once more time, thanks for your comment and look forward to welcoming you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chau Long Sapa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chau Long Sapa Hotel

Also Known As:
Chau Long Hotel Sapa
Chau Long Sapa
Address: 24 Dong Loi, Lao Cai Province, Sapa 21000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Lao Cai Province > Sapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 40 hotels in Sapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chau Long Sapa Hotel 2 is still the best location in Sapa, thus all the rooms freshly renovated (new floor + beds + flat TV) you will have a breathtaking view to the mountains and Muong Hoa Valley on your private balcony. The hotel offers free Internet facilities for its guests and also have the best tours and trekkings in Sapa area with local guides. Come see by yourself and experience the difference. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com and Otel so you can book your Chau Long Sapa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chau Long Sapa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Chau Long Sapa Hotel to your Saves list