We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peacefully tranquil” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chau Long Sapa Hotel

Save Saved
You added Chau Long Sapa Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Chau Long Sapa Hotel
24 Dong Loi, Lao Cai Province, Sapa 21000, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 40 hotels in Sapa
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Peacefully tranquil”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Sapa was an absolute different kind of holiday for us and we totally enjoyed the natural beauty of the place.

Chau long sapa hotel is centrally located and looks the most established in the whole stretch of accommodations. In the mornings, we woke up to the mist/ fog outside the room. It adds a touch of mystic to the place.

Service at the hotel was with quiet politeness which was rather charming n befitting to the place.


  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    96
    164
    74
    26
    12
See reviews for
72
141
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012 via mobile

When searching for a hotel in Sapa I went in here. I was told $80US for 3 people with breakfast,so I went to get the rest of my party. When we got back they immediately got our passports, then the receptionist said it would be extra for the 3rd person for breakfast which we stupidly agreed to then came the line "oh that room is meant for 2 so it will be another $15 for the 3rd person". When I questioned this she started with the usual "you miss understood me". As this is not my first time in Vietnam, I did not miss understand her. So we left and found a hotel where the staff did not lie to us.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Thank goodness for the views and breakfasts! The rooms were not particularly clean, linen very worn and we had several problems with the bathroom, no hot water and toilet not functioning intermittently. The problem with the toilet was attended to promptly, but had no long lasting effect, and we had to call the maintenance crew back repeatedly!
I would certainly look at other hotels before I stayed here again.
Absolutely loved Sapa though, well worth the train ride there and back to Hanoi

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

I have rated this hotel as average even though the view from our room on the 6th floor was amazing and and more than compensated for the the other shortcomings. Firstly, we were unable to get in our room (as expected) when we arrived at 6am from the o/n train, but we were not told that there is an area where you can freshen up or relax before heading out - that would have been helpful!!! Instead we headed out of the hotel, closely followed by 3 local tribes women who were relentless in trying to make an early morning sale - to the very weary tourist. I had a feeling that we were in Bali where the "what is your name", "where are you from" questions are the same and can be annoying. I relented and bought 3 little bags one from each of the girls, but felt somewhat ripped off when I saw they were cheaper in the local market. Oh well, guess they have to make a living and I didn't mind too much. Sapa is lovely and so picturesque and cooler than Hanoi that we felt very comfortable just hanging out in the town with a few walks we arranged ourselves.

The hotel needs some renovating and after waiting until midday to get into our room I would have expected it to be cleaner. The floors needed a wash, rather than brush up and the bedding was pretty worn out. Still, that view puts you in a more relaxed and forgiving state of mind. My other concern was that some clothing went missing from the room and was not in my case when we arrived back in Hanoi. We meticulously check the room before leaving, so I know for sure they were not still hanging up in the wardrobe or dropped behind the bed somewhere. I have been told they were not there and that the staff have to be checked by security before leaving the hotel - well, maybe that says it all. It would be worth really checking that you have everything with you before you leave the hotel.
We loved Sapa, but we wouldn't necessarily go back - the train journey isn't very comfortable and 2 nights lack of sleep is hard to cope with when you are on a busy schedule. Glad we saw the place and I do hope that the local tribes people become less aggressive in their selling as this will definitely spoil the experience for a lot of people.

Room Tip: The higher up you are seems there is less noise and better views, although the rooms are older and i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

A friend and I stayed here either side of a trek. We arrived before sunrise for breakfast. It was unbelievably beautiful. There are different wings some are a little strange. Ours felt like an older lodge. But we still loved it. We had a massage too which was great!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in room 610 for one night as part of our 2 day tour of Sapa. The lobby was very inviting and the service was great. The view from our balcony was just magnificent. Breakfast was good too. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beer Sheva
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012 via mobile

I will start with the good:
Hotel is beautiful, view fro the room balcony is amazing with or without the cloud cover.
Room is comfortable and large enough. Dining room is very pleasant with good choice to western and Asia food. Very nice bar with comfortable chairs and couches. Service is good and problems of which I had a few are attended to swiftly, while not always solved.

Now to the not so perfect:
Room safe is ridiculous, huge in size and difficult to operate, my key was stuck in the safe, and I couldnt remove it. After some help from the stuff it was still sticky and I decided not to use the safe.
The shower tap, looks new and nice, but water temperature control is bad. It gos from ice cold to scorching hot in a fraction of a second.
Do not take a room under the dinning room (there are a few) if you like to take a nap in the afternoon, or wake up after 6 am. The wooden floor make every step above your head sound like a drum bit.
If you use wifi, you would probably need to sit in the lobby, reception in my room was insufficient for any connection.
In general it looks like some maintenance would do good. We stayed in the off season, and I really hope the will make some effort to improve for the comming season.
All in all it's ok to stay here, but don't expect a degree of perfection you get in modern hotels in the area.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chau Long Sapa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chau Long Sapa Hotel

Address: 24 Dong Loi, Lao Cai Province, Sapa 21000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Lao Cai Province > Sapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 40 hotels in Sapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chau Long Sapa Hotel 2 is still the best location in Sapa, thus all the rooms freshly renovated (new floor + beds + flat TV) you will have a breathtaking view to the mountains and Muong Hoa Valley on your private balcony. The hotel offers free Internet facilities for its guests and also have the best tours and trekkings in Sapa area with local guides. Come see by yourself and experience the difference. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Chau Long Sapa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chau Long Hotel Sapa
Chau Long Sapa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chau Long Sapa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.