We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Cosiana Hotel Sapa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Cosiana Hotel Sapa to your Saves list
Cosiana Hotel Sapa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   57 Fansipan Street, Sapa 8420, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 39 Hotels in Sapa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Never again”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012 via mobile

Pros: nice view over the Mountains.
Well located. More or less friendly staff.

Cons: rooms in horrible shape, mouldy, wet, and loud because of renovation.
Never ate such disgusting food before.
Bathrooms were a mess, dirty is Understatement.

AVOID THIS HOTEL!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    6
    4
    5
    9
See reviews for
3
12
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hanoi, Ha Noi, Vietnam
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

I was there on April 2011. (Cannot choose this date from the box bellow.)
Pros: Near Cat cat village (a tourist attraction). Quite good view from the window. There's a valley near this hotel.
Cons: Dirty old room. They dinn't clean my room everyday. Furnitures are old. Dirty toilet as well.
We booked this room as suggestion from the bus driver. As we reached sapa in very early morning, we decided to choose this.
Will not return.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011 via mobile

We used this hotel as a base for trekking. They gave us a room to shower, it was the most horrible room ever, with towels strewn on the floor, old toothbrushes etc. When we asked for it to be cleaned after a lot of arguments they picked up the towels but left the dead cockroach on the window sill.

They told us we would be collected at 18.50 to go on train sp6 from Lao cai. After checking myself the train left at 18.45 and he lied and said he told us 5 even though the piece of paper said 18.50!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

the hotel staff first refused to eccept our booking and forced us to sleep in a dirty room in another hotel next to them becaus they sold our room to a higher bidder.
the reception workers yelld at us for refusing to move to a different room and seid they will "never" refund us if we leave.

they also lied to us about the shuttle bus to the train station while it was infrunt of the hotel becaus they had vietnameas turists who wanted to bord it.
thoes turists borded their train wich was the 3rd one out of sapa while we were suppos to leave on the first one so we could catch our flight.
when we asked the receptionist why he lied to us he seid he has meny guests and he doesent care about our flight ticket.
we ended up missing our flight and calling them to complain about it leads in the phone being hung up on us.

Room Tip: do NOT visit this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cecina, Italy
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2011

we didn't book this hotel by ourselves, but it was part of an organized tour that we arranged via the Sinh Cafe. They offered an upgrade for a better hotel, but we thought that it couldn't be too bad (as we had had very good experiences with the Sinh Cafe before). I would actually recommend anyone to upgrade for the couple of Euros more. The Emotion hotel was very disappointing. The only good thing about the hotel is its location. when we arrived at the hotel in morning, the rooms were immediately ready. We were of course quite tired from the ride on the train. The room was very simple, very cold and the bathroom was quite....can't find a word for it. The bed sheets were dirty. Breakfast was not included in the package and we had no intention at all to have it there, after what we have seen in the room...
I booked all the other hotels during our stay in Cambodia/Vietnam with the help of ta and was very very satisfied with all of them. This was the only hotel I didn't book directly and I probably wouldn't have booked it if I had read the reviews here before.
One more thing about Sapa: if you need a nice The North Face jacket - Sapa is where you should buy it. We bought a total of 4 jackets and are very happy with them!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2011

We were lucky to not be booked here overnight, it was just a room provided after our trek to clean up in. I was grateful to have packed a pair of sandals becuse there was no way I was going to shower barefoot in there. The tub is wooden, with a drain on the side to drain into the floor. That's fine, except the tub in our room was full. All you have to do is pull the plug and it would drain. There was no heat in the room either, which is a problem when its only 45 outside. Also, the room smelled funny and there were bugs, and yes, the phone is for decoration only. It does have cable, so that's a plus I guess.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2011

We were booked into this hotel for 1 night with a tour through Vietnam VIP Tours which I think is part of Sinh Cafe. The hotel was disgusting - there was no heat so we had to sleep fully clothed - the hotel was dirty - I actually watched the cleaner sweep the dirt under the foyer carpet and the staff were not in the slightest bit interested in their guests. Rennovations were being done and the noise was incessant from early in the morning till late afternoon. I could not in all conscience advise anyone to stay here or to use Vietnam VIP Tours or Sinh Cafe in Hang Thiec Street in Hanoi

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cosiana Hotel Sapa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cosiana Hotel Sapa

Address: 57 Fansipan Street, Sapa 8420, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Lao Cai Province > Sapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 39 Hotels in Sapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cosiana Hotel Sapa 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently renovated in 2014, Cosiana Hotel Sapa is now one of leading 3 star boutique hotels in Sapa. Ideally located in Sapa (Lao Cai), Cosiana Hotel Sapa is a great base from which to explore this vibrant city. From here, guests can enjoy easy access to all that the lively city has to offer. For those of you who want to venture out, Muong Hoa Valley, Ham Rong Mountain, Love Market. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Venere, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Cosiana Hotel Sapa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cosiana Hotel Sapa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.