We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Xuan Vien Street, Sapa 84, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 46 Hotels in Sapa
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
349 reviews 349 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 123 cities Reviews in 123 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
“A great place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

After walking in the villages and rice fields, what a treat to come back to this hotel.
The store has very good selection. The massage was excellent.
Dinner was fantastic with a lamb shank.
Breakfast is not so great. Lots of food but bread not good, eggs tasteless.
Outside plants are marvelous.
The whole experience is really great.

Room Tip: Massage was great with lUyan. In the store I found great silk jackets In a very reasonable prices.D...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

729 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    308
    93
    27
    5
See reviews for
128
381
26
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We were glad to arrive in Sapa after a night on the Victoria Express train from Hanoi (super great way to get to Lao Cai province). The Victoria hotel was very welcoming over trains just in from the train and we were able to get our room right away. Breakfast was very good with a variety of choices. Our room was comfortable; hot shower, warm bed. We ate dinner in the restaurant one evening and found that it was not worth the high prices. The menu is complex, but the food did not deliver. We also had a massage at the spa, which is up the hill from the hotel. The staff there was pleasant and the massage was just okay. The location of the hotel is great and the other guests in the hotel were quite a variety of people.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Located above Sa Pa city, 5 min. work to the city center. Shuttle service to SPA area which is 400 up the hill. Only some gym machines. Super breakfast. Free WIFI very slow. Nice rooms, only 12 TV channels.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed at the Victoria Hotel in mid November 2012 for two nights and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. I thought the breakfasts and other food was very good and the staff were lovely. We went up to Sapa on the Livitran train was fine. We had a cabin to ourselves which was good and apparently the train got held up somewhere on the line for about an hour or so so we actually had quite a good sleep as it was not moving!

Anyway the room we stayed in was lovely and I really enjoyed the pool - with only one other person using it at the time I was there.

I would recommend staying there if your budget allows for it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
motril
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

The major problem with this hotel is that it was designed with summer in mind. It is very open in all areas with only a few wall heaters and a couple of very small open fires to warm it. It seems strange that all guests felt it necessary to appear in the restaurant dressed in warm outdoor clothing. In all other aspects the hotel was really very nice. Very friendly staff, good food, small but comfortable room, but cold, however we were given an additional heater immediately upon request. Despite all this, a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramat Hasharon, Israel
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We stayed 1 night in Victoria when visited Sapa. We did not take the Victoria Express train because it does not run on Saturdays. The Room was warm and beautiful and breakfast was rich and tasty.The hotel is in a good location, close to the center of Sapa yet quiet enough. On departure day they let us use the Spa to take a shower before commencing the trip to Hanoi.
We took the shuttle from the hotel to Loc Hai station, which turned to be a 4-seater SUV only for us. We enjoyed an easy ride with good service in converting the voucher to train tickets and getting on the train in Loc Hai.
Drinks at the bar are more expensive than you would expect. Lobby is a bit cold if you do not sit close to the fire. Tip: get your gum boots for tribe village trekking early in the morning before they run out.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We arrived in SaPa after a perilous overnight train ride. The hotel was like a dream come through. We check-in early in the morning, had to wait no more than 10 min. to get our rooms...being so early. The room was spacious, beautiful modern bathroom and very comfortable although a little hard to keep warm. Staff service was very good. We were disapointed with the dining room as the food was just ok and the fireplace created excessive smoke. Don't miss the spa.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa

Address: Xuan Vien Street, Sapa 84, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Lao Cai Province > Sapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sapa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sapa
#5 Spa Hotel in Sapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa is unique 4 star with international standard, is located in one of the most beautiful and unspoiled locations of Northern Vietnam, (1,600 m), 380 km Northwest of Hanoi, among the highest peak Fan Si Pan (3,143 m), 38 km from Chinese border and 34 km from Lao Cai railway station. The Victoria Sapa Hotel is reachable by Victoria Express Train, which departs 6 times a week from Hanoi to Lao Cai and Laocai to Hanoi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Sapa Hotel Sapa
Victoria Hotel Sapa
Sapa Victoria Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.